Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Legend of Monsters

by Eingya - Jam Entry

Have you ever wondered how are the work conditions of the minions you fight in videogames? Well you've guessed it, they're not great. But some of those minions have decided that they've had enough. Join them as they unionize and decide to face the Dark Lord to finally obtain some rights.

The Legend of Monsters is a short NES-styled adventure game, in which the player controls a ragtag team of monsters through a series of dungeons. Each monster has is unique movement pattern, it's up to the player to alternate those pattern to survive the deathly traps that await him in every room.

Music by by Avgvst licensed under Creative Common (CC-BY 3.0)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#99Theme(Jam)4.04
#100Humor(Jam)3.76
#109Innovation(Jam)3.69
#234Mood(Jam)3.52
#284Overall(Jam)3.51
#339Graphics(Jam)3.77
#383Fun(Jam)3.25

Comments

JamesTanm says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:17am

Good job! The tone is spot on, and you really nailed that NES feel. The only real problem is that what I played of it was a little uninteractive, so it didnt hook me

TheRuseman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:20am

Game has great graphics, audio, and plot, but it falls apart at the actual game. Backtracking the same 2 rooms 4-5 times isn't game design, it's just repeating the same stuff over and over. If you didn't make it so full of backtracking then it would be a better game.

madcapacity says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:22am

Clever game, the movement mechanics was a fresh take on moving around a top down dungeon. It played well into the tropes that monsters in a dungeon only move in certain directions.

Well done!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:27am

I loved all of it! The graphics, the story, the theme, all of it.

...except the gameplay. Don't get me wrong, I can see where you were going with it. It's just not my cup of tea. I just found it frustrating trying to get the monsters into the right place, and I've never really liked timing based challenges (which is basically all this is).

Plus more than once I pressed enter trying to advance text and had to do the level again. Oops.

Flaid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:27am

I love the NES-style feel. The graphics, teh sound, teh nostalgia! Big points for that. The plot was good, fit the theme, and was humorous.

But... that control scheme and level design. At first I thought it was innovative. But the amount of backtracking on level 2 was infuriating -- especially when I almost got done with the level, died, and had to start all over.
I saw the additional slots for additional monsters, so I was eager to see how that mechanic would work. After getting the second monster I was like "Ok, cool, now I can move diagonally." However, the speed of the diagonal guy seemed very erratic, and sometimes the speed would translate to the first monster, which just didn't seem to work. I found myself giving up in frustration after level 3.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:31am

Everything is good, the concept is sound, but dammit the backtracking is killing me.

shiroookami says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:11am

Extremely fun and interesting take on the theme. The one button feature really shows the AI of retro enemies. Great work!

jphelps says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:22am

I liked it. There was definately room for improvement but great job overall

DeusOpus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:23am

Really fun game! The dialogue was pretty witty and the mechanics seemed pretty well done. I must say though, my lack of patience caused multiple deaths.

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:36am

Great concept! It is really interesting to think on the perspective of a simple monster!
Bad thing is that level 2 too repetitive and thus make it too hard. Why not add some save point in the middle?
Personally picked!

daveh says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:50am

Excellent. The mechanics are pretty innovative and the writing is funny. It's super impressive for 48h of work too, there's a lot to this game. Well done.

Zenkerdus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:53am

This game had me thinking alot.

The intro hooked me in, great! First level was kinda slow and i though all i would do the entire game would be a Up-Down pattern game (which felt like backtracking, up and down, up and down).

Level 2 though, i could immediately see the point!

I like this game. I might even buy something like this if it were more polished with alot of levels and whatnot. I have only played the first two, so i don't know the others movement yet.

Music is great! Fits the mood of the game and the kinda "slowness" and "be veeery careful" not to hit obstacles.
Something about the intermission screen just fits.

Things that could be improved:
- Shorter intro level to hook the player in. Long passages there.
- Level 2 is kinda hard for just introducing new gameplay. Maybe checkpoints? People get batshit frustrated by "only one life", huge level games (i made one of those LD28). It sure is a good "challenge" game i might try to beat sometime because I'm so damn stubborn!
- Controls are kinda confusing when concentrating on staying alive. Why not set change direction on the same player button? Don't sue me if i hack it.
- How do i quit the game?

Great job and continue making great games!

Wilson says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:56am

Agreed with other people that I loved the concept, liked the graphics/sound/plot, but found much of the level design too difficult with too much backtracking. Maybe a more VVVVV style system with one challenge per room and usually instant restart from the start of that room when you fail would have been cool?

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:46am

Good work

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:56am

That idea of limited moving was hilarrious :D Exactly like NPC's from nes games :D Gameplay was interesting too! Pretty neat entry!

Reccy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:01pm

One of the best games I've played so far! The movement was really interesting with Skulldor, but unfortunately, I wan't good enough to finish the third dungeon. The retro graphics and the chiptune are also awesome.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Great NES aesthetic, good concept! Well done.

Aaranos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Fun game and looks well designed, the only missing thing would probably be an exit menu.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:34pm

I love the story and the gameplay concept :) Sometimes it feels kinda dull to go back and forth through the same obstacles all the time , so i guesse the level design is the most lacking one BUT STILL it acomplishes quite well on it's purpose. Nicely done!

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:19am

Fun game. The sound was great.

Gil4 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:17am

Not a fan of game mechanics like this (gets tedious too fast imo), but that's a matter of taste, otherwise really solid on every front, great job.

reiknight says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:56am

Very nice game. Perfect.

The only thing that I don't like is the ENTER button as the button for reset the level, I had to complete the 2nd level again.

JoJoX says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:57am

Great one. Controls are a bit strange for me and the skull goes too fast. But i may come back to finish the game later.

stoarch says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:16am

Good and innovative game.
One button. If can use mouse for it :)

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:11am

I really like the one-button controls, plus the whole NES-style package! You should really consider developing this further =)

Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Great game, I liked everything about it, the NES style suits it really well.

LukeZaz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:01am

Good, well-polished game. Got very difficult after getting Dave, and getting my direction changed on me when I got hurt made things difficult, but still fun!

freaknarf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:16am

Switching to each mechanic sync to the ony one move key was a bit tricky but interestin mechanic... It was a bit hard, and room switch slow offset sometimes make it a bit harder. Cool gameplay idea!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Really neat game. I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ypxK5QAWPFI

FireTwin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Really unique idea, just love the whole way you implemented it too with the story. It's a bit ironic but the game is about monsters who have lack of control in their movement, and I actually felt like the controls were the worst part. I think in games where there is minimal controls, the characters need to respond to those controls perfectly. So I think you just need to work on getting that right and then you've got a killer game here!

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Nice entry with interesting mechanisms! Just a bit difficult

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 4:05am

Very creative take on the theme. I want to like the limited movement we were given, but unfortunately, it was too difficult to play. A shame, too, because the narrative was really funny. As much as I think this is a really innovative game, it also felt a bit like a failed experiment. Still, it was really daring to recreate what it's like to play as game monsters that can only move in a limited direction!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]