Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Mutant Snakopede

by TLansdale - Compo Entry

You are a giant mutant snake... centipede... thing which breaks out of containment and wreaks terrible havoc. The goal is to sate your hunger on hapless humans before moving on to the next area. You can burrow in grass to hide, reposition or ambush your enemies.

You can play with WASD/JK on keyboard, or use a joypad.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#33Theme4.24
#73Innovation3.80
#73Fun3.78
#78Overall3.81
#235Humor3.25
#235Mood3.33
#250Graphics3.52
#462Audio2.73

Comments

walaber says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 10:15pm

this is really fun! nice idea and great execution. the story is a nice touch!

Cryptix says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 10:19pm

This is really fun! :) I like the snakopede's movement a lot!

Krillzz94 says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Nice story

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:57am

I loved the smooth transition to burrowing. I wanted to move faster when burrowed. And how some kind of "emerge" attack.

I WANTED MORE. But basically excellent.

vegapomme27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:17am

Great game, man. Really cool. The monster is responding really well. I assume it could have been a total fail but it is very responsive.

The digging mechanic is a good idea too.

good job

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:21am

Really fun, great physics. Humourous premise (too bad it I can't vote for humour :( )

tayl1r says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:24am

You were the monster all along.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:30am

Impressive visuals given everything's primitives :D Nice tutorial introduces the concepts, good selection of enemies too. Found the city level to be pretty easy just avoiding all the tanks. Nicely done!

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:32am

Thanks for the nice comments everyone - I turned on humour and audio as voting categories as I can't really think of a good reason why I turned them off in the first place.

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:48am

10/10 snakopede

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:09am

Loved it, 5 stars overall, great job!

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:11am

nice.

JayWoody says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:19am

Very nice! Best game I've played so far. The burrowing mechanic is really cool! Also nice AI on the people.

Very solid game! Nicely done!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:03pm

I love the gameplay, borrowing made it very very cool. The graphics are great. Nice gameplay and also great story. The movements of the 'little guy' is great!

cgriff says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:19pm

This game was worthy of a better name! But a fine job nonetheless.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Great work and super fun! also, best name I have seen for a game ever.

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:18pm

I have loads of great things to say about this game. You really nailed the look and feel of the game. I really enjoyed just moving around and bursting out of the ground.

Grhyll says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Too bad it's only on wasd and not on arrows keys, Unity won't hear anything about switching keyboard layout, it always stays on this unplayable setting for my azerty keyboard...

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Sorry to hear that Grhyll. An Xbox controller should work too, if you have one of them?

Aiursrage2k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Good concept that should be fleshed out.

uvwar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Very cool worm mechanic!

ronsap123 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:15pm

HaHa, One of the best! Liked a lot!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:18pm

4/5 ign, no 5/5 because of the K and L buttons,why not Q and E

but overall nice

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Tunneling was easily the most surprising mechanic of the game. controls are a bit tight but overall didn't interfere with the enjoyment to the game. great job!

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Nice game, fun to burrow under people, did seem to get a bit repetitive.

TooMuchPete says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Awesome! The controls were nice although a little soft -- I wanted to move a little faster. It'd also be pretty neat if tricking tanks into shooting each other caused them to blow up.

Excellent submission!

scriptorum says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Nicely done! Very fun to play as the monster especially when you get to attack right after unburrowing.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Cool ! Gameplay and realisation are very nice, and they are tons of ways you could expand on that basis :)

Ixeno says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:00am

Really innovative, one of the best "Monster Simulator"! (:
Maybe with better graphics?

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:07am

Really nice submission and liked the use of the theme. The burrow was also a really nice stealth move which was fun to play around with.

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:27pm

The monster is very cute. The movement is also great and beautiful. Good!

KPapaGeorge says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:49pm

I love the burrow animation.
The game was really fun to play.
The story was great too.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:04am

Fun game, and nice hidding mechanic. Although another kind of camera would had been much better.

glimaleite says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:35pm

I really liked the burrowing mechanic. I think you could've used it more, it opens a lot of possibilities. Good job!

Cloudeyes says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:35pm

good mechanics ,nice graphics too

EwChap says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:20am

Great fun. I loved the burrow mechanic. the look and feel of it both were very spot on. I agree with another post here that an attack out of burrow would be really fun and rewarding. Awesome job

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:57pm

I really liked this little game! The snakepede's design and movement were really good, and it's still fun destroying a city, even if the game was never that difficult.

One suggestion though, it might be more fun if you could hold down the attack button to attack. It was a little annoying when your attack ends right before you can eat the last human in a little clump.

Halleflux says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:57pm

A fun game, but the battles are long and... well, dull. While an interesting mechanic, burrow in a of itself doesn't hold up the game enough. It's a great start, but adding in something else is needed in order to really make the game engaging.
(Don't get me wrong, it's fun, it just gets a bit boring after level 2, as there isn't really anything new at that point; any new enemies are still one hits, shoot at you, etc, to my knowledge.)
Also, it was tedious to restart from the beginning, rather than the level you were on. It just takes a long time.
Apart from that, the graphics were good, the animations were good, I really did like the burrow mechanic, overall it's good.
Well done!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:46am

Really good project. I like how move this creature. The digging possibility is a great idea which I have never seen in another project. Well done. Thank you ++

Manoloko says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:52am

Nice looking and entertaining game. I find amusing the story we're told.

AndyBrown says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Great entry! The primitives based art was charming and effective. It was challenging, but not too difficult. The burrowing mechanic was fun. The one thing I think was a little off was the pacing- which is something I totally flopped on my own entry. Some more sound effects and some music would have really added to the overall quality as well.

handkor says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:47am

Very well done, the creature controls quite well.

Catmoo says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Really enjoyed it Tom, great first LD! Loved burrowing under ground and completing it :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]