Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Annoyed Mummy

by Obvious_San - Jam Entry

Hello! This is my entry for Ludum-Dare 33 :)
You're playing an annoyed mummy and you have to fight annoying little girls.
The game is not 100% polished(Surprise^^), but I still hope it is fun for someone.

Controls:
WASD - Movement
Mouse - Camera
Q - Stone Trap
E - Use Traps etc.
Left Mouse Button - Attack

Team:
Obvious_San (Code/Art/Sound)

I highly recommend to download the windows files at the moment. Web Player is okay, but fullscreen is way more fun ; )
I'll propably upload an build for linux soon.
I'm sorry for my terrible english, my brain is pretty dizzy at the moment.

If you want to contact me directly, here is my twitter :P @Obvious_San

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#145Theme(Jam)3.96
#284Audio(Jam)3.34
#297Graphics(Jam)3.86
#334Innovation(Jam)3.27
#388Overall(Jam)3.37
#430Humor(Jam)2.96
#468Mood(Jam)3.20
#537Fun(Jam)3.04

Comments

3CGames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:47am

Lovely game, the theme of it is cool! The controls don't feel very tight but I love the visuals and the sound.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:54am

Loved the artwork! The music was very fitting too, good job! The gameplay was interesting, but I felt like there wasn't a lot of impact to make the traps feel rewarding. I liked the idea of placing stones to slow the girls down in trapped areas, but there's a lot of branching, so it's hard to know where the girls will head next.

mooncalf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:50am

Great job on the sfx! The menu music seemed out of time, maybe on purpose? Though the gameplay tune fit very well (speaking as the audio guy of our team).

The visuals were good. The turning camera perhaps causes the bit of choppiness I experienced, since it's gotta draw it over and over and direct the mummy from each drawn viewpoint.

The biggest drawback is how easy and slow it is. You also might want to check your AI (given more than 72 hours, of course, right? XD) cuz the girl just started running back and forth enough for me to belch her health down all the way.

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:55am

can't run it. Game Jast shows permanent tips screen and all can do is to rotate screen around :(

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:00am

@A_K, press Enter so start the game :)

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:33am

The camera rotation took a bit to get used to.
I sounded weird whenever I stopped moving and my footsteps cut off.
I liked the look of it and the music worked well.

t4u says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:15pm

The idea is cool but running around single girls isn't very fun. I want to see a whole schooltrip... and kill them!

Traps could have been better both in grpahical sense and action. A bear trap would have been better. It's out of ancient Egypt convention but still I think it would work better.

Vomitting on girl is really difficult to control - difficult to hit a girl.

Music is ok and adds mood.

Overall: High on mood, Innovation and Fun (fun only because I know hwo mcuh fun this could could be if all issues were fixed and there were more girls)

Warxen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Liked the artwork, would be cool if the enemy also has means of placing traps that work against you, because it is mostly following the enemy now.

gcrsaldanha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Fun! :)
Just found the camera a bit too sensitive!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Fun. Love the visuals and effects. Great game.

B216 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:36pm

I love the lighting. Great job!

stoarch says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:40pm

How to kill? And minimap?
Good game.

Bocodillo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Great sfx, music and many of the traps were fun. Found the controls a little floaty but overall a good, fun game!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Graphics are rad, and you did an excellent job at making the little girls annoying!
Loved the environment triggers/traps.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Awesome, had a great time. The graphics are lovely.

superpatch says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:20am

Nice entry, liked visual and graphics, had fun killing annoying girls. You could try and made a more complex game out of this project. :)

bouletmarc says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:40am

I like the design, traps, rocks, etc but it miss something over the controls, mouse lock ? sensivity is a little too fast and movement a little too slow

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:51am

Controlling the camera was very touchy and quick. After a few minutes of playing, I had it down. My favorite aspects of the game were the artwork, audio and the concept. Nice job!

derr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Very cool idea. The camera should have been a bit smoother or maybe locked? Dunno. Fun little game, tho!

mantis says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Really nice idea. Would love some more of this!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Sound and music are really good! Looks nice too. :) I think it would have been nice to have lots of girls running around at once rather than just the one. Well done!

Frump says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:10am

Wow, that's the first game where I really did feel like a monster, chasing and killing this helpless girl. I didn't find I needed the camera rotation very much. Could have used more fanfare each time I killed her. Good job.

Kai20 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:42pm

i love it its like you just have to kill lonley crying women i feel great ;). no really great game with nice graphics and i guess its COOOL

xvw says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:57am

Awesome graphics & mood!!
I love this entry! Mouse+S control is pretty cumfortable!
Terrorizing a little girl, what could be better? :D
Good job!

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Great game! "There is no Mute", LOL! The sound is pretty good and I liked the despair sensation that the girl emanates.

Derek Rumpler says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:46am

I like the idea, but I feel using the mouse to control the camera is awkward. You might want to change the perspective. It was frustrating figuring out what to do, but once I did it was satisfying killing the . . . um . . . little girls. ;-)

Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:50am

Nice graphics, fun game play, and a neat idea! Good work!

Jacktheviper says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:40am

The game has a really nice look, kind like you are looking at a toyset, all the lights and little details on the wall made a nice atmosphere.
I thought that the girls had too much health which made the Mummy seem weak, also at the end it didn't show the score correctly, only a blank space.

marudziik says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:38am

I managed to kill 4 girls. :P I can see a lot work put in the game. Maybe it's not polished, but the mood is right where it should be, the music and graphics add to the overall experience. What was a little annoying was that my mouse cursor kept moving out of web player, but I suppose this is Unity's doing. Good entry.

wooltech says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Looks and sounds great (although the 2D picture of the girl is a lot less polished than the rest). Didn't seem to have much luck using the traps, so relied on just chasing them around and attacking myself.

tmpxyz says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:27pm

The traps are some good ideas :)

reiknight says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:22pm

The controls are difficult but nice stetic

General says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:46am

Cool frightening atmosphere, liked multiple traps!

Please, check the video of me playing and commenting: https://youtu.be/CEXUUzwEAa8
Your game is at 42:18

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:25pm

I liked the graphics, the labyrinth, the theme of it! :)
but i really couldn't kill the human, she always sat in a dead spot *sigh*
but anyway i liked the game! :)

Oct 19, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Cool concept! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/HYvDqXC_RQg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]