Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Running From Pitchforks

by puddelipip - Jam Entry

The plan was greater, but I assume that it always is at your first jam. Next time we will prep more, avoid celebrating a birthday with loads of beers. And make sure that artists aren't sick.

Soooo... the game is a bit low on content but it's something, and we learned quite a lot, yay for us!

...but nay for you! We are missing lvl design to some extent, so don't expect any replay value here. When you reach the end of the platform, the idea is to give you a choice between jumping to your death or backtracking, smashing those pesky villagers in the process so you can have a beer in peace. Though then you'd have to kill yourself anyways when you're bored to leave the game.

Oh, there's no quit button in the game, but i'm sure you'll find a way of getting rid of it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#534Audio(Jam)2.75
#624Humor(Jam)2.62
#747Theme(Jam)3.14
#763Innovation(Jam)2.71
#815Graphics(Jam)2.75
#871Mood(Jam)2.62
#946Fun(Jam)2.46
#1029Overall(Jam)2.54

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:17am

There is something interesting into this project, but i assume that you lacked of time so as to release it as you wanted. It's a good start. Thank you ++

tayl1r says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Cool idea, but a bit short ofc!

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:22pm

good start. pretty buggy but i like the monster design.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:26pm

The view from the camera is very awkward.

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:41pm

fun experience. Really nice for start.

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:48pm

I thought it was going to be in first person at first. The camera is confusing. The rest seems promising. But it lacks an ending.

TLansdale says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Nice idea, good use of the theme!

Demy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:02pm

With the big chance swarms just push me away from the road. I liked merged main menu and the game beginning, that you need to strt running instead of play button.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:03pm

The camera angle is this game's worst enemy, I think. I could never line up the jump to the stairs. Also it was tough to tell when then game had actually started on my first few plays. I liked the character art, though!

Quij says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Good idea, looking forward to seeing it more fleshed out!

Maybe consider only allowing left-right movement. Moving in the z-axis doesn't help clear the obstacles, and only causes tears when I accidentally walk off the edge ; ;

kunzbe says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:56pm

I really liked the cam perspective and the music which set a nice mood.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Great, but short. Good job, wery innovative.

madalaski says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Pretty fun and decent, its a good start.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Nice art and audio. Getting pushed by villagers was a bit frustrating. However, I like the feeling of being chased by them. It would be cool as an endless runner, with different obstacles, where the villagers were what killed you when you failed to overcome the obstacles.

jofra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Could be cool if it had more depth to it :) but has a cool concept to it.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:41am

A little short and buggy. But i love the perspective and the flat characters. Need work, but there's something here. Nice!!

Jakob37 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Interesting entry, would be interesting to see it further developed!

Jan Tuts says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:17pm

I can't play, something apears to be broken:
the player character seems to keep running off the cliff right after the start, ignoring all my keyboard input...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]