Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

7 Days A Monster King

by JayWoody - Compo Entry

"You are the Monster King of the lands and the subjects aren't feeling too kind towards you these days. You thought you could make them feel more at ease by starting a week long general audience with the King but things backfired. There are scores of knights and mages coming through your castle doors and you will try your best to stop them. Mixed in with these barbaric hordes are friendly mages and some goblins even dropped some chests with money to combat these animals. Unfortunately the town folk put some chests of their own with bombs in them. Better just leave them alone."


This is my first time attending Ludum Dare and boy, what a trip it has been. I tried to learn Unity, Playmaker and try to remember Javascript all in two days. Not to mention I got locked out of my house for 1 hour. :)

All in all this was an awesome experience and I learned a bunch of stuff. Thanks for that!

If you play the game put your high score in the comments so we can have some friendly competition going! :)

INFO ABOUT THE GAME:

Knights - Click and destroy on sight

Mages - There are friendly and non-friendlies about. Wait until you see which one is at your door

Chests - Click many times to force these things open. If there's a bomb inside, don't click it and let it explode after the door closes. If there's a money bag instead, by all means click that to fatten your score! If you don't click on a chest in a timely manner the door will close and you will lose health because the thought of not knowing what's inside that chest gnaws on your monstery brain matter!

Make it through 7 days and you will be victorious.

UPDATE:
-fixed the not resetting health/score and took out not supported aspect ratios
-fixed a thing with the damage tint leaving on for the start of the second game
-fixed some stupid typos with the scoring of the game. Now chest give the same amount of score as enemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#36Audio3.91
#82Graphics4.06
#202Overall3.51
#274Fun3.31
#293Mood3.24
#311Innovation3.25
#436Humor2.79
#637Theme3.12

Comments

Modoc73 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:02am

3230. I couldn't quite figure out what I was doing. closing doors?
Nice art style and well suited music. well done!

keyle says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:03am

Dude well done on the art style! Loved it. Music was fantastic too. Sorry you got locked out of your house and welcome to Ludum Dare!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:35am

I liked it, after first time death, restarting always means instant death(doesn't reset health back up i think)

BtheDestroyer says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:45am

Managed to get about 4500. Fine game you've got!

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:21am

Greate art. And the gameplay, it is an advanced version of WHAC-A-MOLEļ¼Ÿ

loadsofmana says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:38am

this is pretty fantastic, i don't think there were really any areas lacking, good art, good sound, fun and unique. I'm jealous. my score 5422.

thx4nothing says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:26am

5081 score :)
This game was really fun :D
The art and music are well done!

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:16am

Welcome to LD! This is really nice. I liked the mages. Graphics are great. Felt a bit odd that I got hurt for not answering the door to a treasure chest. Music was good.

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Interesting concept, nice music.
I don't have a FullHD monitor. I've player on 1280x1024 and have not seen some stuff. You probably need to set the camera size from target width

Filecreation says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:13pm

I got 1947, but I am generally bad at making judgement calls!
It is nice and charming, good job!

JayWoody says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Yeah I know. This was basically my first two days with Unity so I didn't get a chance to learn how to set my camera that way. Hopefully I can fix it soon. Thanks for the feedback!

Juin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Score: 9525 The art was really cool everything looked really nice. I also liked the gameplay felt really good. Overall a really good entry!

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:05pm

I had the same problem as namrog84. But otherwise, fun game. Great art and pretty music.

JayWoody says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Thanks for the feedback I'll fix it and put up a new version shortly.

VividReality says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:53pm

What I lilke about this game is that you want to keep playing it to get a higher score. It was fun to play! The music was nice and I thought the graphics were fun.
There's just one thing and I'm not sure if it's the same for everyone. But if I replay without closing the game first, my screen has a red haze. just letting you know:).
Good effort!

JayWoody says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:56pm

@VividReality - thanks for the feedback! I'll fix that ASAP!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Awesome little game here, love the graphics and music, if I had had some sleep in the last 3 days I would probably do a lot better. Also thanks playing our game JayWoody.

JayWoody says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Okay Now everything concerning scoring should be fixed. I left some stupid typos in there and now you can really find out who is the master at being monster king. It's all about reactions now.

Chikoness says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Got about 21k, was a little hooked :P I like the graphics, the gameplay was not easy haha.

Couldn't even make it past 1 day though :(

JayWoody says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Thanks Chikoness for your review! The no-changing-day bug should be cleared. I'm sorry for it to happen to you!

randoman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:35am

Solid gameplay and cool art, nice entry overall!

Reccy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Fun little game. Got 10224 points.
Art is cool. :D

LeReveur says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:34pm

10966. Good job, nice little game !

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:49pm

fun.But hard to follow.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Pretty cool game, I loved how I was basically slamming the door in on my enemies. The wizards were also a nice touch as I had to wait to figure out whether he was good or bad. Man they even got me a few times. Overall a really good game. 4/5

RiaDelva says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:36pm

nice idea :) the music felt a little too cheery, but the graphics were sweet :)
I mostly died because I clicked the chests too fast and then there were bombs in it :(

Tselmek says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Very charming little game. The graphics are nice and the gameplay is quite nice yet it gets a bit repetitive after a while, but not that much. Could have a bit more feedbakcs and some visual indications on the timing. Nice game nonetheless!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]