Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Pit

by Fatal. - Jam Entry

Z - Jump
X - Shoot
Arrow Keys - Move

A super basic platformer in which you are the enemy. A lot of the things I wanted to add I ended up not having time to add/debug in programming(sounds,score, items, etc.). I'm pretty happy with it as my first real game and the first time I've used code.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#760Fun(Jam)2.73
#797Graphics(Jam)2.79
#863Humor(Jam)2.08
#945Theme(Jam)2.73
#997Mood(Jam)2.28
#1021Overall(Jam)2.56
#1036Innovation(Jam)1.97

Comments

evandaley says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:27pm

I clicked on the windows link and it says error 404. I left you a 5 start rating out of empathy :D:D:D Best of luck to you good sir!

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Same problem-- you've got the wrong link there, bud.

Fatal. says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Should be working now. Not sure what the issue is(maybe because it was private?). Just tried with being signed out and it worked.

NineBears says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Great job on your first game, I love the animation of the legs on the main character. I also like that the enemy spawns are random. Perhaps diversify your tileset next time though.

Cosine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Nice game. It worked and it was bug-free. I found it brutally hard, but not in a satisfying way, just like, "that shouldn't have been possible." For example enemies spawned into me, and I couldn't shoot people in the boxes below me because my lazers were too high.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:35pm

The graphics were nice and the mechanics were surprisingly solid for such a small game.

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Nice animations for first game. I tried to get to the top but the "good guys" get smashing on my head all the time.

Maybe add some score counter next time?

Koba0100 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Charming, albeit simple. It's a good start, especially considering it's your first real game! Keep making games!

teknic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:52pm

congrats on your first game. next time, do something more with a standard platformer template :)

Fatal. says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Ya, I ran out of time and I had the score implemented, but for some reason it didn't show up and I couldn't figure out what was wrong. Also wanted to change spawns of some of the enemies, but again, I didn't have time. Thanks so much for the feedback guys!

cxsquared says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:57pm

The game play felt a little floaty but it was pretty fun. It sucked when an enemy spawned on top of you though. I really liked the art of the main guy. Nice work.

cameronpenner says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:14pm

This reminds me of one of my first games! pretty good for your first game in just one weekend.

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Cool little game, very hard to keep up. The art style was really nice and smooth.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Nice start, I'd recommend adding sound effects and music next time - really doesn't take much time if you use sfxr for sound effects and maybe some simple random music generator, just for that extra bit of atmosphere. Good work though, very solid controls, I've really played worse Ludum Dare platformers. :)

orange08 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:02pm

seems like all you've got is a basic platforming engine
it's not much as a game... it really needs some sort of goal... but there's not even scorekeeping in this ._.
also the enemies spawn right next to me and kill me(which is not really fair at all)

Gil4 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Pretty fun, but I was wondering - was it intended for enemies to sometimes randomly appear that close to you?

Fatal. says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:19pm

No, I was having trouble reprogramming their spawn points, every time I did, other things started not working.

Halleflux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:29pm

There are a few issues, but for a first game, this is great. I would recommend making it possible to kill the enemies without having to get in the pits they spawn in; e.g. put platforms outside of them that are positioned so you can shoot into the areas they are.
Well done!

crazya02 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:31pm

The fact that enemies like to spawn right next to you would have been annoying, if it weren't for the fact that there isn't any sort of goal anyway. Graphics are decent, at least.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Firstly, well done! My first jam game was a horrible buggy unfinished mess, but this is very smooth. You might want to make it a little easier next time though. ;)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:11am

very solid for a first game. For me it was hard to play because I use a German keyboard the Z is far away from the X so jumping was tough.
Pretty good level design. May be you should consider spawning less enemies in the beginning so the player can figure everything out before dieing.

reiknight says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Nice for being the first. Some "spawn points" would be nice for knowing where not to go

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]