Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Minotaur

by BeamKirby - Compo Entry

In ancient Greek legends, there lived a horrible being known as the Minotaur.
The Minotaur was the pet of King Minos and lived in a labyrinth on the island of Crete. In order to stop the Minoans from attacking, the Athenians had to sacrifice their children in order to keep King Minos' army at bay.

You play as the Minotaur, and your goal is to kill all the sacrifices given by the Athenians. But be careful, as they can fight back!

Can you survive against the rage of the sacrificed humans?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#243Theme3.73
#274Fun3.31
#336Overall3.27
#440Mood3.03
#523Graphics2.97
#691Innovation2.64

Comments

Wontonz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Slaying those kids was incredibly satisfying and the hunt was pretty cool. I kinda feel like it would be nice to have a "scent" so you can see the general direction of the nearest kid as it was a bit frustrating trying to figure out which part of the map they were with the slow movement speed.

Realize2D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:59pm

it was well executed, and fairly polished for 48 hours.

JamesTanm says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:03am

Great job on the game! A couple points of criticism:
- The walking sound was a bit loud for how repetitive it is
- There should be a way to find the kids without haveing to resort to wandering through the maze, especially considering
- You move a bit too slowly. Going down a dead end is super frusterating when it takes you a minute to backtrack

Gil4 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:04am

Solid entry, really pleasant gameplay.

granut100 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:22am

Nice game! Using my axe to kill those humans was fun.

Eingya says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:42am

The game is simple but fun. Well done! :D

Only thing is probably the "start screen" which doesn't look great and can be a bit of a turn off from downloading the game. But I understand that in 48 hours there's not really lot of time to polish the start screen :p

peecestudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:47am

Pros:
WORKING
Fun
Satisfying

Cons:
Semi-Difficult to find people

Overall:
I liked it, but being able to smell/hear people would be fun. For example: have footprints following each person that fade over time. Kinda like Gmod-Murder

lowercaserho says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:02am

Cool idea, but I never felt like I was the minotaur. It was just ike I was some other sucker in a maze. I'd have loved this if I'd been able to know the full layout, use secret passages that were off-limits to the humans, hunt by scent, etc. Good concept, good fit to the theme, and smoothly executed, though.

daveh says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:21am

I made it to wave 9. It had a good difficulty ramp. The axe felt powerful as I lopped off their heads. ;-)

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:27pm

I got lost in my own labyrinth! :-) After a few waves I could navigate through the maze fairly easily though. I like the difficulty curve - as soon as I got to know the labyrinth new, tougher enemies came... Good job on balancing!

LastLeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:16am

Fun. Simple and great gameplay with increasing difficulty and different enemies.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:38am

Simple, but good use of light/darkness (must have been fun to map that out). Very cat and mousey. Good to see another GIMP user - it's solid program once you get used to it!

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:45am

I think this is nice but it needs random generation and @Wontonz's scent idea.

AlexSet says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Very good! Neat idea and goes well with the theme, the head chopping feels good too :D though its pacing, especially at the first few waves where enemies where few, I found it a bit slow, navigating the darkness and all.

reiknight says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Nice shadows. Nice gore game :P good work

Louspirit says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:55pm

The controls and light effects were pleasant. But I was annoyed searching for pray walking for minutes in the labyrinth.

Nurbs says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:00pm

The gameplay is pretty slow, so it's not too satisfying to play.
Gore is well *executed* B3

Jan Tuts says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:26pm

I couldn't play the game, as I don't have Windows.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]