Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

P-Type

by SapsGames - Jam Entry

You are a highly advanced parasite designed to destroy the human race! Run into human ships to infest them and take control for yourself.
Controls:

Move: WASD, Arrow Keys or stick

Attack: Spacebar (only when in a ship), A on controller

Eject: Left shift or B on controller

Pause: Escape

The game currently only has three levels and about 7 ships. Some of the known issues:
-You can't pause on a controller
-No pause menu or way to quit out of the game in full screen mode
-The game may behave weirdly when rapidly pausing and exiting pause
-Errors might pop up in development mode when killed. Sorry! We knew about this but couldn't fix it in time.

We wanted to include a boss battle or some more formal ending to the game but ran out of time near the end. Same goes for Music, while we have basic sound effects an actual theme would've been great.

*Linux and Mac version are the least tested. Sorry if you come across any issues!*
**If you do full screen alt-f4 to quit**

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#223Innovation(Jam)3.42
#537Fun(Jam)3.04
#597Theme(Jam)3.37
#633Audio(Jam)2.31
#773Humor(Jam)2.29
#823Graphics(Jam)2.74
#856Mood(Jam)2.65
#870Overall(Jam)2.81

Comments

Ryusui says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:34am

Awesome concept. I just wish there was more of it. XD

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:50pm

This game was really cool. I really enjoyed the gameplay, capturing other ships is a blast. The only thing that I didn't like with this game was that it was very difficult. Also, I found this bug where the life counter goes down into the negative numbers. The graphics in this game was also really cool. Good entry overall 4/5.

Mothdan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Couldn't fire, couldn't occupy a ship, not sure how to, but will check back on this and vote later! Congrats on getting it in.

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:03pm

I like the concept, however there is an issue with the lives, as they go into negative. Graphics were pretty good, reminding me of Galaga.

QKnight says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:29am

I think that lives are supposed to show how many times you die...

Aumni says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:14am

Very challenging game. I liked the concept of the game and the art is really cool. Awesome work!! :)

Sanju says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:07am

Nice fun game. Simple and difficult but not frustrating. Loved that retro style. Good work.

Vladirien says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:02pm

The game is quite hard and you can't really tell which ships you can infect. Cool concept otherwise!

bombjack says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:41pm

wow! amazing idea. it's really fun to be able to 'absorb' the enemy.

bvanschooten says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Doesn't work in Linux. Keyboard controls don't work. This appears to be a problem with Unity as I've encountered it before. Didn't rate.

NoWandStudios says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Hahahaha we laughed a lot! Our game writer doesn't like happy ending either :D. The sound during conversation it's a bit annoying

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]