Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Soul Hunter

by Vaiaphraim - Jam Entry

Soul Hunter - a text-based survival RPG!


You are Tae Rusole, a girl living a rather ordinary life... until it happened.

Explore dark buildings, and dangerous terrain as you home in to your destiny.

Notes:
I didn't have the time to make the WASD work properly. You can go to each location, BUT, it's not like "W" is always "up" and "S" is always "down"
Look at the map, please :)

Many of the internal mechanics (HP, ...) are hidden from the player on purpose. It's part of the fun to learn how the game *works*, which items are good, and which are rather avoided. Should you loot the corpses right away? Or save the inventory space and return later?

A few hints for starters:
-] If there's more than one enemy at a certain location, chances are that you will be overpowered quickly.

-] You can retreat at any time - but it will increase your craving by a LOT.

-] When you lost all Craving points, your attacks will be restricted to only one: Soul suck. This attack causes insta-kill for weak enemies - which cure your craving (but at a low success rate). Bosses (including but not limited to) will not be affected, and the logs will tell you that. Same counts for mechanical enemies or zombies.

-] You can sacrifice items for extra XP and to lessen your craving. Be careful not to eat your equipped weapon by accident. [X] toggles consumption and equip mode.

-] Don't try to challenge the boss at level 1. You can go there, of course, but...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#428Theme(Jam)3.58
#499Innovation(Jam)3.04
#550Mood(Jam)3.08
#622Fun(Jam)2.93
#716Overall(Jam)3.00
#755Humor(Jam)2.32

Comments

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:31am

For a text-based-type entry, it was kind of neat and looked quite good!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:38am

Wow, amazing to such a deep text adventure in the jam!
I was really surprised how much you put in there.
Also it seems I am a really bad fighter, I even had problems with the tiny worm xD

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:50am

There's a lot of luck involved, whether or not you hit your opponent - and how much you are hit. It's loosely based on a d20 system... If you have difficulties to fight, check, if the dagger you recieved at the start is equipped. (+2 for to-hit, and - most notably - +2 to damage)

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:59am

This had a dungeons and dragons feel to it, especially the d20 hitting randomness.

zuurr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:14am

wow, thats a lot of content.

i was a little disappointed at first that it was not a traditional roguelike (you know, @ and all that), but still found it interesting nonetheless.

if i'm being honest i feel like this has too much exposition, and not enough gameplay for a ld. there also isnt enough explanation of what i'm doing and how to play.

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:16pm

I included a text document for an explanation of the game mechanics... Actually, it should have been there since yesterday. In any case - thank you all for your feedback, you guys are awesome!

Flaid says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Amazing how much story there is in this game! I imagine a lot of planning and coordination had to go into it to be successful.

I tried to be diligent and read everything, but it seemed like I went from "a girl with a bright future who suddenly has a strange hunger" to "well, I guess this soul will do." I ran around for a long time before finally fighting something, but I wasn't sure where the motivation for fighting was coming from.

Overall, I was impressed a what you got done! I think a little bit of creepy ambiance music would've gone a long way.

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:53pm

I loved this game, it was really innovative way to take on a text game, the gameplay was fun especially soul suckin' 'N lootin', it suited the theme perfectly and in an interesting way, the graphics had more too be desired (pictures illustrating the story even?) and the mood was set well through story telling. Well done, terrific entry!

togie says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:28pm

LOVED IT! Didnt really feel like i was a monster though...

Ludonaut says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Found the Buffy fan. :)

bradur says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Very well made text adventure! Quite deep with lots of options.

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

pnkthrepwood says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Nice text adventure!!

Fenreliania says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:08pm

It seemed like a good idea, but my cravings got a bit too low in combat and I could do nothing but try and devour souls, which made me unable to kill anything to devour its soul. I couldn't eat the chocolate or drink a potion or soul essence, so that wouldn't fix it either.

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Thank you all for sharing your thoughts :)

@Flaid: I really did plan to create music / ambient noise for the game, maybe some binaural/white noise stuff for the intro, a bit of filtering to mimic wind... in the end, I had nothing but a boss encounter track prepared... and didn't even have the time to include that one properly, so I just skipped the audio for good for this submission.
As for the fighting motivation... I played with the thought to deduct HP, once your craving meter was depleted.. however, I didn't want to make the game even harder than it already was. Decisions... decisions...^^

@Fenreliania: You need to press "X" while the inventory screen is opened - this will switch between wearing/wielding stuff and consuming items. You can even consume your weapon or armor for a small boost to your craving meter :)

alyphen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Well written and enjoyable to play. It lacks music but the depth of the environments makes up for that. The combat is interesting, but I couldn't seem to find any weak enemies to attack. The soul sucking never seemed to work. Overall, pretty well executed and will look forward to other games of the same style you come up with in the future.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]