Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Excremonsters!

by Ninja Garage - Jam Entry

Roll the logs of shit guided by the demonic eye in order to collide the stage objects and turn them into shit.

For two players!


Developed by Ninja Garage studio:
Dinart Filho - Design, Programming, 3d Art, Animation, Music
Rafaella Ryon - Design, 2d Art, Concept Art

http://ninjagarage.com


****************************************************************************


This game was done in 8 hours of the final day, yes, we know the flaws of the game and apreciate the feedback but we don't think it is fair to tweak the game after the jam is over.

We think about:

- More levels
- A single player mode (it's already done, it's just to remove the second player and just work with time).
- Improve the difficult
- change explosions and improve all about feedbacks
- Change the creatures

Etc etc etc

Thank you guys for all your feedback, you are awesome!

****************************************************************************

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#199Humor(Jam)3.49
#477Innovation(Jam)3.06
#490Graphics(Jam)3.47
#503Fun(Jam)3.09
#538Overall(Jam)3.20
#598Mood(Jam)3.01
#637Theme(Jam)3.30

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:23am

This is such a cheery upbeat game. I love that everything is dancing. The music is great. I played alone but I played both player one and two. Super great art all around. Good show!

TsN_RaMPaGE says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:49am

Music and animations were awesome!

4KbShort says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:00am

A fun game. Only had myself to play it so I didn't get the multiplayer experience. Short and to the point. I like the swarm mechanics, but I have to admit the idea of feces as a weapon did turn me off a bit on it.

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:03am

Fun game!

valid4life says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:05am

I love the animations! They add a lot to the general mood!

MattV says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:06am

SHITAMARI !!

omaha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:07am

Unity is crashing when I try to play the web version.

lancemaker says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:09am

Well played

Sicilica says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:21am

Hahaha, me and my friend just had a jolly good time with this. Love the dancing cars.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:01am

This is the first time I've had fun playing a game about feces.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:08am

I played alone and enjoyed this! 5/5 for humor, love those instructions too.

Pusty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:58am

I really like those animations! :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:07am

Wasn't immediately obvious that I needed to keep turning things to stay alive, but pretty cool to roll around as a roaming horde on the rampage.

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:49am

The style art is cool , but i have no friend to play it and rate the gameplay :p

adamwoolridge says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:07am

What a load of shit ;)

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Interesting concept ;) Great music.

TaleEngineer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Very well put together.

Only wish people like me, who have no friends, could find a more fun way to play this.

Very good, very simplistic graphics. The humor is pretty good; my only complaint is that the only real joke is that you are a poop-monster-eyeball-thing.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:42pm

It's funny to play, nice music and nice colors. To shame that i on my own, so i played alone. Anyway, great. I would be great a quit button too ;)

Code Medicine says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:13am

Definitely a unique one thats for sure! The modeling and general vibe of this was really good. This is the strangest one I've seen so far.

RegisFrey says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:21am

My first game went quickly because I was unclear those bars were health bars. It is a bit weird to have both score and health, but then health is really the only one that matters.

The starting state was also a bit weak and doesn't really match the feel of the later game: it is some random poops flying around on obvious physics springs, not the rolling pile of shit we get later.

Still, I'm glad I stuck around. Having two massive piles of shit devouring the whole town was surprisingly fun and funny.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:37am

really love the animations!

Serch says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:35am

Really great job with animation, like a lot that everything is dancing, good music too, congrats

johntheperson says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:40am

Interesting. Nice animations. Nicely executed. I didn't have anyone to play against though.

el-pepi says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:35am

I love how everything is animated and the music. You are just missing some sound efects.

Foxdhalia says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:45am

That was really fun! Love the fact all the scene is dancing with the music! :D

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:54am

this one made me laugh! well done!

Tosic says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:57am

Wow, well done! The game is amazing, although hard to play solo, but you may have put the not for little kids button, coz you say sh!t all over the place ;) (see, I censored it)!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:58am

OMFG a giant eyeball throwing s**t at a lego neighborhood? OH YES, YES INDEED.

paracatgames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:29am

Wow. This is really polished for a ld game. Nice job! I like the animations, and the controls.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:38am

....I'm not sure whether to be disgusted or delighted...Just take my all five rating and be gone with you.

Shaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:00am

Wonderful art and music, gameplay is solid and feels good, the idea is top notch, love the fact that it's two player. Excellent work guys.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:34am

Ewww, doo doo! Remind me of katamari. Great fun!

dregamr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:13am

Shits!! Never better. XD
Dancing shits! Great!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Funky game with awesome animation! It's fun! Everybody dance now!

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:09pm

The music... is the shit! Nice work.

Meta-link says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Tha name of the game is cool. The game is cool. So good job :D

fermenter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:47am

Disgusting fun. Simple improvements would be to make movement faster and give more feedback on collisions. Love the bouncing animations! Well done!

HappyHour says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:50am

That's a lot of poop! Hilarious take on the theme.

P.T.A says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:15am

a co op versus player with a monster eye that turn humans into shit, for my surprise i enjoyed =D good work!

FrederickK says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:22pm

The idea is so gross...I loved! :D
Too bad I don't have any friends to test it. :(
So, playing alone, I thought the gameplay kinda confusing, at some point I start taking damage, making me not sure if the goal is making the biggest pile of shit or throw the shit on the other player (this phrase is so awesome...).
A quit button also would be nice.
Good job!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Absolutelly fantastic. Grat fun - thanks for the game.

uvwar says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:22am

Really great!Very Katamari, cool graphics and music.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:12am

This game changed my life.

Mark Smith says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:33am

I love the animations and the music. Quite a fun game mechanic and I love that it is local multiplayer as those sorts of games are far too few these days. That being said a highscore based single player mode would have been appreciated as well as some sound effects. Great work!

Denis347 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:06am

This is pretty shitty game

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:16am

Art is beautiful and disgusting at the same time xD. The music is fantastic

allinlabs says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:24am

Eating while playing this game was not the best idea, one question popped in my mind: was the poop texture "made" during the jam or did you externalized this process, I'm curious?

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:41pm

It is procedural :D

n8b says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:04pm

unity block the mac, I've to restart!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Super fun. I like that everything is dancing. Good graphics and nice music.
:)

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:16pm

That was fun. Great mood setter. Upbeat and animated.

Although.... I do have a question, are those turds that I am dragging around?

-Loi LeMix

refreshgames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Interesting game, I could only play it one player though as everyone else is asleep over here the graphic design in 2d and 3d is rather nice and the animations on the objects really help to add to the playful atmosphere also.

Jacktheviper says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:28am

The concept art and graphics were really attention grabbing and the competition to see who brings more poop to the neighborhood is fun even if a bit simplistic.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:06am

Funny little game. Reminds me of katamari damaci.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:16am

Shitstorm lvl over 9000 :D

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:47am

Music and animation very cool :)

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:25am

Funny shit ;) Art works really great (except may be the two eyes). And the cow explosion : really nice ! Congrats!

napoleon says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:02pm

wow... bravo !

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:22pm

I can only describe this game as "funny shit!" :D Really great sense of humour, loved how everything was dancing to the beat and the general theme of the game. Felt like katamari, but even more random! Very good job!

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Would have been nice if the things you touch got brown^^ Nice little game idea.

ToloaGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:28pm

You made a shitty katamari! :D

Pomb says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:28pm

haha, this was sooo random but kinda cool!

DarkBoulevard says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Hahahahaha! Great game! I really like it, gameplay is a bit meh, but the game itself is so well made! Good job!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:47pm

I would be completely remiss if I failed to play a game with a title like this! I enjoyed it quite a bit. There is a nice counterpoint between the cheery music and dancing people, and the demonic eyes and logs of shit. Nice work!

xvw says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:51pm

What the... FUNK!

That was fun! :D

Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:00am

Grim, but hilarious. Didn't have the opportunity to play in multiplayer but was fun and upbeat.

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:50am

Had to go on a diet after playing this. Solid entry. Your music, graphics and overall presentation was good. Congrats on submitting your entry!!!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:09am

What did I just play xD I love how everything's dancing and how you could fly, ahaha. Kinda wish there were more levels, and that you could get the enemy's shit turn into your shit somehow since it got pretty empty after a while. Had tons of fun with this! :D

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:32am

Played it with my son, funny animation and cool sound!

hrd_games says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:42am

Massive pile of shit, in the best possible way. I loved it. Like a "shitty" katamari game. Such fun to play. Very good entry.

carle13 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:19am

Very funny

freaknarf says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Special wtf game :) Fun concept, sadly i don't have anybody to play with me...
Why not rating audio ? music was cool and funky...

Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:49pm

There's a cool groove to this game, the art was really good and the music was very fitting.

Sanju says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:05pm

I have no words...

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:32am

it is really genius!!~~
i love this game ~` i will play it again with my nephew
He must be very fond of it!~

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:55am

Very polished, shame to play it alone! It seems to be really fun!

Drunkteam says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:04am

Good job! I would appreciate a little more difficult...

Almax27 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:57am

I don't even, I'm not sure I can even... 5/5

Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:30pm

N o i c e

Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:15am

Great atmosphere, but the game finishes so fast! Not really sure why I win...

CrefossusJam says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:02am

I like the dancing buildings and entities. You can always add a link to the post jam version of your game on here if you wanted. It looks like you already know the feedback I would give :)

Ninja Garage says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:15am

Thanks! Well, we don't have much time to tweak this game but we will improve it soon. Thanks for your vibe!

Ninja Garage says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:15am

CrefossusJam

dollarone says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Who comes up with this shit? (sorry) Great take on the theme, I always wanted to create a shitstorm. Anyway, Cool graphics and excellent music. Well done!

KaiseanGames says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Totally shitty game :) Nicely done.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:34am

..What the hell did I just play? Good job, very shitty game. (pun intended, great job!)

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Disgusting & hilarious! Loved the animations too! :D

Sep 9, 2015 @ 5:13am

Well, it's probably the dirtiest Katamari-style game I've seen in awhile.

ManuSaiz says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:06pm

I Loved the dancing houses :D

Druid says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Lol :D Pretty funny game :D I give you 5 for humor :D

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 5:11pm

I think that your work is awesome, in a few hours you have done a really interesting game for two players, and very fun! :-)

Ninja Garage says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Thank you very much!!

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:08pm

I cannot believe this has been done in 8 hourse. Impressing!!

Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Nice work!

yuigoto says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Nice one! In 8 hours the most I can accomplish is make a sandwich. :P

The game is quite fun, despite being simple. It feels like Katamari (or Shitamari, as someone said) because of the game style, graphics and the upbeat setting.

Nice mood! :)

Cheers!

felipeberquo says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Keep working on it, it have potencial!
Really enjoyed the gfx

Sparrow says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Wow, didn't expect that for a game made in 8 hours. Well done!

Ludipe says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:31pm

What the fuck did I just play? hahaha
Looks pretty cool but, as many others, I had to test it on my own.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]