Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Brutal Caroline

by totallybueno - Jam Entry

Brutal Caroline

You don´t want to be like the other girls, just destroy everything and have fun not having fun in an usual way.

Use the right/left arrows to move. Up arrow to fly and spacebar to attack (to launch cats).

Developed by @totallybueno for Ludum Dare #33
Thanks to @verz_edu and @Meridart for some of the graphics, irmirx (deviantart) for the background and to @Voltergueist for the music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#234Humor(Jam)3.38
#563Fun(Jam)3.00
#663Overall(Jam)3.05
#757Mood(Jam)2.80
#938Theme(Jam)2.76
#957Innovation(Jam)2.33

Comments

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Great game! It's quite frustrating to not move with the screen though.

t4u says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:53pm

I liked the talking flowers and throwing cats but I feel like gameplay could be more interesting.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Uh, the controls were pretty smooth, I'm a bit fearful revealing I don't know anything about the meme fueling this game. D:

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Now that, was a fun game. It reminds me of the older days of XBLA, when indie games started going.

totallybueno says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Thanks for the feedback guys.

bombjack says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:28pm

I never thought throwing cats would have been that fun :)

Cawrtz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Brutal for sure!
Very catchy, dynamic game with pretty graphics.
Thank you for this entry!

Yamzho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Pretty cool ! ;)

totallybueno says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:58pm

I do love cats too bombjack, this is just a (funny) game :)

Thanks Cawrtz and Yamzho, appreciate that.

kingpirux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:51pm

yep, i was expecting to do more in the game :P the randomness don't allows me to think pretty much, some times is impossible.

fistmaker says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Great art! Fun little game. Not sure where the idea came from. But it looks great!

muit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Nice game! That was funny

sergicollado says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:17am

It's a fun and so crazy game jajaja

totallybueno says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Thanks guys :D

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:22am

I would love to throw cats at guys, but I love cats too much to waste them like that.

totallybueno says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Well, you can do it here, no cat is gonna hurt, trust me :)

lemer says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:53pm

This game is brutally awesome. Throwing cats is the best thing ever!

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:33am

Funny game!

Ibai Aizpurua says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:49am

Zorionak Jorge!! Brutala! Rapido, divertido, va muy bien y te descojonas. Lo tiene TODO! :D

Ibai Aizpurua says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:52am

Iñaki esta segundo en el ranking "Yako The Dog"!! Yo soy un pakete XD

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:46am

Caroline broke my heart. Take some stars and leave me alone :(

totallybueno says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Gracias Ibai. Estaba todo rayado con quien habría puesto ese nombre por que justo el perro de los vecinos de enfrente se llama "Jacko", he preguntado a todos los conocidos y todos decián no haber sido :D

Thanks Ninja Garage, Caroline does love you :*

ChrisFagan says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:03pm

The UI was beautiful and the gameplay was fun. The jumping was a little bit frustrating at first, I kept bouncing into hearts. Great entry!

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Well finished game. But pretty hard too!

totallybueno says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 8:00am

Thanks for your feedback guys.

ChrisFagan, that was the idea, a fun game, that´s all. I made it a little bit complicated because otherwise the game was pretty easy, just try a few times and you´ll see that´s is not so complicated ;)

Dr.Zanuff, thanks dude, but you guys need to play more, it´s not so complicated... come on, let´s play!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:22am

Launch cats is pleasurable :p
This game is very funny: I think one of the most funny. I like the comment-joke when you destroy an enemy

totallybueno says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:16am

Thanks crucknuk :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]