Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

-=SPACE RAM=-

by nicksantan - Jam Entry

The game is sort of Osmos meets Katamari: you play as an aspiring intergalactic devourer of worlds, starting off as a veritable space guppy, feasting on pitiful asteroids and small moons. Eventually you gain size, graduating to massive, gas giant chomping, all-consuming cosmic megabeast–if you can survive the humanoid star cruisers and fighters tasked with hunting you down, that is.

Use your ram head to headbutt smaller planets with the 's' key! Gobble up anything you can with the 'a' key! How big can you get, Space Ram?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#428Graphics(Jam)3.58
#518Mood(Jam)3.13
#529Audio(Jam)2.78
#716Overall(Jam)3.00
#791Fun(Jam)2.69
#805Humor(Jam)2.24
#846Innovation(Jam)2.58
#1027Theme(Jam)2.42
#1897Coolness32%

Comments

nicksantan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:53am

A lot of stuff didn't make the deadline cut... it's our first LDjam, be gentle! Please alert me to any platforms not working. The ports were... hasty.

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:18am

Graphics were nice, parallax looked good and I love the gravity work you guys did, gameplay is OK, keep up the good work!

blahgyn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:32am

Could use some tutorial! hahaha but really nice graphics and physics. Well done

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:33am

Somehow this is hypnotising. Feels unfinished but overall is good.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:34am

Cool control. But I stuck when hit the red big planet.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:46am

I like the concept, but the balance seemed to be missing. Basically I reached a point where I could no longer meaningfully eat asteroids, but was also not yet able to eat small planets. I'm a patient person, so I figured I could just putz about eating dust until I got big enough to eat a planet... but then the game suddenly ended without apparent reason.

Never the less, the slow creeping out of the camera and the core mechanics are nice. I like the addition of the space ships, and of gravity.

walaber says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:06am

ran fine on OS/X for me. a bit difficult to control.

Halleflux says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:17am

The controls were very difficult, it felt like trying to herd a group of elephants that just wanted to stand around doing nothing.
However, the concept is a lot of fun, and I always enjoy a game that lets me eat entire planets =3
Well done!

bitdecaygames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:19am

Those ships are like snipers... They aced me from way off screen more than once. But nice visuals! Looks really clean.

kaype says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:24am

Come on and slam, and welcome to the jam!

No seriously though this is a really nice game

humbleness says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:10am

Very relaxing game to play, I enjoyed it

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:39pm

The game looks nice but the controls are horribly unresponsive and very unintuitive. I don't think a game like this should have inertia. You are an awesome space monster after all, you should be able to maneuver better in space. After missing the 10th asteroid i quit.
Very bad control system. I think a mouse directional control with a cursor would have been much better for this genre.
Try to fix the control sys.

DC
Los Pixelados

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:39pm

It became fun when I finally understood the controls, but gravity of the big red planet (or is it the sun?) always got me in the end.

Riftpoint says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Very cool game! I liked the mood and the ambient

Sina says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:46pm

It looks really good. I'm not sure if the timer add to the game. at the very least it does not give enough time. The gravity seems a bit strange. I hardly felt the gravity of anything other than supper giant planets/stars, and they felt strange to. they would not effect me when i had any speed(even if the speed was towards them) but as soon as I would stop they would pull me in with a constant high speed. but after all all it needs is polishing. good work.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Gorgeous game, though I got caught in the gravity well of an enormous planet and couldn't move :(

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:46am

The giant space ram is so crazy looking!! The game is like Katamari and Osmos, but the ramming part is a nice addition.

wademcgillis says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:43pm

The controls are too difficult.

I played for eight minutes and wasn't able to eat a single rock.

:(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]