Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Good as Hell!

by superpatch - Jam Entry

Good as Hell!


Billy Bob McGredy and his wife Annabelle own the “Good as Hell!” diner, famous for the tasty “hellburger”, help them run their weird restaurant.
Get clues about your customers, choose to slaughter them to get the meat you need for your secret recipe and don't get caught.

Instructions

CONTROLS:
Move Camera: arrows
Actions: left click
Escape: quit game

GOAL:
Run your business, take care of costumers, earn money, get meat and don't draw police attention.

GAMEPLAY:
Annabelle will start serving tables by herself, but she'll need you to make her more efficient.
Everytime Annabelle gets to a seaten costumer she'll get some clues about him. Clues can help you to understand if a costumer can be a “good kill” or not, but you always have the final word.
Point on a costumer to read avaiable clues.
Serving a costumer will consume meat and give 3$.
Kill a costumer will give you meat, money but will raise attention level.

CLICK ON A CUSTOMER:
Not already served (you'll see a time bar near him), you can give priority selecting “serve”.
Waiting meal (no more bar near him), you can select “serve” to give priority, you can select “purgative” to give priority and serve a purgative meal.
In the toilet, you can select “slaughter” to kill him.

CLICK ON THE TOILET:
If a costumer has been killed, you can select “clean” to use the toilet's self-cleaning system, if you don't clean before another costumer enters the toilet, he will run and raise police attention.

YOU LOSE WHEN:
Money drop to 0.
3 costumers leave cause you have no meat.
Attention reaches 100%.

CREDITS

Federico Pacini (@superpacioz) - Andrea Fontanini - Emanuele Ricci (@StErMi) - Simone Ferroni - Francesco Camarlinghi

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#72Innovation(Jam)3.85
#143Theme(Jam)3.97
#186Overall(Jam)3.66
#189Humor(Jam)3.50
#196Fun(Jam)3.53
#327Audio(Jam)3.25
#336Mood(Jam)3.37
#465Graphics(Jam)3.53

Comments

mincrmatt12 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Awesome Game!

This was a great adaptation of the theme, and considering I like simulation-style games, this really was good with me.

One thing though, you might want to make a cooldown on the clean function of the toilet, and an ingame menu.

But anyways, great game!

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Good idea for a game and theme!
Hellsburgers coming right up ;)

cxsquared says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Really great job having a unique twist to the theme. I really like the graphics and sound design. Nice work.

uthamon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Great concept, I had ton of fun with. There is potential to expand the game outside of the jam, would love to see that.

madcapacity says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Neat game :) I was a little confused at first but then I got it.

bclikesyou says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Pretty original idea! Graphics are nice and clean and it's definitely a game that will keep you busy and trying to keep up. Liked that you added little info about the patrons as well.

I think a blinking highlight or box over the things you could click would've been helpful. Maybe at least for the first couple of times you do an action.

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:00am

Nice, very clean visuals.
Great take on the theme!

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:00am

Amazing game, it was really funny! And I could fulfill the dream of my life!

MagentaGames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Damn, I loved how you adaptaded the theme, it just fits perfectly!
Great game!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:29pm

LOVE THIS IDEA! I'm not sure I ever figured out the strategy, but I saw that it was there, and still had a lot of fun playing. I think this could be an amazing full game.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:36pm

good graphics and great idea on theme

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Great work!

fdslk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:25pm

You should do a full version of this game!

bouletmarc says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:12am

nice game, very well made, but i'm very not sure it's this reffer to the current theme

superpatch says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:45am

Thanks guys for you comments and rating! :)
@bouletmarc about the theme, slaughtering costumers is quite monstrous. Maybe not aliens, vampires or werevolves, but humans can definitely be monsters. :D

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:27pm

It's a different aproach of the theme, very interesting. It lacks a tutorial, because for me it was complicated to know what to do and the sim part is gorgeous but I was a little lost. Good entry anyways, with good graphics and fx ;-)

randoman says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:51pm

I love you take on the theme! It took me a while to fully understand what I could do, but I really enjoyed the game once I did.

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Great game! Had a lot of fun murdering people then feeding them to others! Killing them just felt so good!

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:39am

I love the idea! It could be really fun to have restaurant that serve human to human!

Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Great concept! I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/isROeWsQRB8

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]