Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Zombie Rush

by facelesstheone - Compo Entry

In Zombie Rush you're playing as a lonely zombie who's trying to make new friends. Well, you know, how zombies are doing it. Two minutes of gameplay and no more loneliness - zombies everywhere.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#45Fun3.92
#160Innovation3.53
#167Overall3.58
#171Theme3.86
#287Mood3.25
#344Graphics3.32
#427Humor2.80
#607Audio2.31

Comments

Connors says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:27am

There isn't that much to learn in this one but the resulting mechanics are pretty interesting, mostly because a lot of it happens without you. Stray zombies can still convert people, so there is a tactical advantage in not making every single zombie follow you. There are plenty of other games about zombies, but this one still manages to be somewhat unique and entertaining.

The down side? The sound effects tend to pile up on top of each other enough to drown out the music and they're really annoying.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:37am

Charming style ad interesting idea. I like the horde mechanic, it's quite interesting. Find myself trying to prey on a bunch of civilians to try and build up my army.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Wow! ) Thank you guys.
Connors, I'm pretty noobish at gamedev stuff, I'll do better next time )

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:04am

The 2D on 3D graphics are fantastic and the gameplay is a fresh new take on the zombie formula. High scores all round for this one. Well done.

lambomang says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:07am

That's a pretty cool idea, having your converts as your extra lives :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:09am

Guys, you are the best ) It's my first LD and your feedback is a perfect motivation to continue =) I'll add a gamejolt score tables a little bit later. Thank you all! )

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:12am

Fun gameplay but the sound makes it a little annoying. Also it is nice to see your horde grow without you.

Lane says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:39am

I AM THE HORDE.

Actually pretty awesome. Despite the super simple graphics it plays with some polish and is pretty fun.

sylvainAB says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:45am

243 zombies! Very fun game !

parDal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:16pm

gamedev noobish my ass, this is pretty solid and fun!

The visual aspects are amazing, I really liked the 8bit 3D thing, maybe there's a tons of game like that out there but I've never seen one, it's a nice twist in the top-down perspective. The 3d models are simple but accomplishes their mission in situating me in-game, I know that I'm a town and there's people to kill, also dat cat.

The game works great, the controls are simple and the mechanic is interesting. I liked how my horde are at same time my allies and my lives, it's an interesting twist to this "infestation" mechanic, believe me, you are not the first gamedev to use this idea in this compo, but by far you gave it the best execution.

When the horde gets bigger, the game gets a little of sound pollution but that's completely forgivable for a compo entry.

You really should consider making a full version of this with a more challenging level design and enemy variation.

P.S.: "You are the zombie, you know what to do", I laughed reading this.

blubberquark says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:40pm

I liked it. The audio was so unbearable, it made me take off my headphones after a few seconds and the graphics could be better, but a solid entry nonetheless.

It's a great idea, like everyone said.
It focuses on one interesting game mechanic, and it feels really cool. You are playing the entire zombie horde at once.
Also, you managed to make it just hard enough so it's interesting for a few minutes. Although on my first try I died right away to a soldier. :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:37am

There is safety in the horde! Great virus game! Good job.

guoboism says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:50am

Grow a zombie army is really fun! I love the simple graphics´╝ü

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:52am

Great concept, great flow, great gameplay, well deserved lot of stars!

kowalski says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:36am

Addicting gameplay!

tanjent says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:29am

Really like the hoarding of zombies. Would be fun if the environment could unlock some bonus things to kill/slow down the shooting guys + other missions (find something on the map or similar)

StrideWide says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Pretty fun game. I like the cat and wish I could zombify it. The soldiers murdered me pretty fast every time.

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:21am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Fun game! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ypxK5QAWPFI

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Very fun game! Could do with a less difficult enemy that appears before the army so you have more of a chance to build up before they appear.

LewisChaplin says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:31pm

That was great fun, Brilliant looking game and good controls on all 3 mainly because they were simple. Well done!

SkullPixel says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Nice job. You got the mechanics down before adding in too much new stuff, resulting in the game being solid. The cats are very accurate too ;)

Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Thank you guys for the kind words and for all the criticism - it will help me do better next time! =) And for all the video streams/reviews of course - it's so cool to watch someone playing your game.

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:21pm

I love the mechanics here. The idea of having an ai for the zombie so the can move by theirself and spread was the very thing of this game. Also good job for the art as you did it by yourself. Combining 2d with 3d has been a good idea. Don t like tha audio since whenthere are too many cops it becomes a little bit annoying. Also I would suggest to rethink about the level difficulty, it s seem impossible to be defeated.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Love the use of 2d sprites in a 3d environment. The AI for the military is insanely relentless though.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Sweet mechanics, fun to play and quite challenging! One army guy can take down an entire hoard, that's what I like to see! Sound pollution did end up making me turn off the volume, but that's excusable. Overall a pretty solid entry - would buy this if it was taken further and released as a full game!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Pretty good and challenging game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]