Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Daylight Blobbery

by Mark Smith - Compo Entry

You're a small blob in a big city. The only thing that can satisfy your endless hunger is the taste of human... and pizza, everybody likes pizza.

Consume humans to increase in size in order to break through to the next level. Different humans give different upgrades (and affect the music) and don't forget to hunt down those pizza slices!

Use W, S, A and D or the arrow keys to move around.

Use the Mouse to look.

Use the Space Bar or Left Mouse Button to Jump.

Art - 3DSMax, Photoshop & xNormal
Programming - MonoDevelop
Music - FLStudio
Game Engine - Unity 3D
Sound Effects & Voices - My Mouth

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#94Humor3.65
#171Audio3.38
#187Graphics3.71
#198Theme3.81
#216Fun3.40
#250Overall3.42
#254Mood3.31
#480Innovation2.97

Comments

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:53am

Good fun and the 2D/3D still has a nice coherent art style! Well done

mickanio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:19am

I laughed a lot at the sounds

Croze says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:21am

This honestly might be the best game in the whole universe. 11/10 -ign (but srsly 5 stars all around I was dying at this, shared it with my friends too!)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:23am

some of the best graphics i have seen so far

Teekeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:23am

*chnom*

Suese says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:23am

I beat it! Thanks for participating. Nice complete.

SudoDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:23am

very fun, I did have a bug where a lady learned how to fly, but not game breaking. The UI was a bit annoying being in the middle though.

donaldm says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:25am

I really enjoyed this game! It was quite fun to run around and eating all of the humans.

Things I liked:

1. The graphics were very well done for such a short time period.

2. The controls were easy to use.

3. I like how you grow in size.

Things I didn't like:

1. I think the camera should automatically follow where you are going, like a third person camera. It was a bit annoying to have to move the camera around manually.

2. The sprites sometimes turned away from the camera. It seems like they should always face the camera (sometimes they turned "invisible" because only their edge was showing.

3. I didn't much care for the audio. The moan got annoying after a while, and are they zombies?

Don_Martinez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:27am

Really fun. Loving the 2D/3D mix and the leveldesign (for example some parts are not always accessable). Good stuff.

fuzzalicious says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:29am

Wow, best game so far, 5 stars on all accounts!
With some nice music this game would be a MONSTER!

tinykidtoo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:32am

I love it The graphics are great and the gameplay brought a smile to my face. Just wish there was a story and more level because it was truly that much fun.

zanenga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:32am

Hahahha. Love the 2.5d style. Looks cool.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:39am

Ha ha, well done! Jumping ads a lot to the gameplay. Also, the hidden pizza slices are a nice touch, but I didn't have the patience to collect them all :(

Thanks!

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:40am

Ups, forgot to vote :)

adamwoolridge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:06am

Pretty interesting art style! Nice mouth made sounds ;) Good job!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:14am

I love how people get stuck in the blob. Maybe add a slime trail?

Wontonz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:51pm

The mix between graphics was great and the gobbling sound never got old. I love the evil more human obsessed take on katamari damacy and it was great when i saw limbs sticking out of my blob

Realize2D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Very well done for a compo game!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Reminded me of 90s computer games (probably the pizza). I found myself getting stuck/thrown off course by the curbs a lot, but otherwise, it was fun to attack the city.

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:33am

Hello fellow Blob-that-eats-city dev! Really cool style, reminds me a bit of carmageddon with the 2-d people.

zuurr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:36am

dat katamari

couple nits: the html file for the web version locks it at 1080p even if you dont have that resolution, controls are a little wonky, and one of the best parts of katamari was the object persistence you get when seeing the katamari build up (e.g. things dont disappear, they just pile on top of eachother)

that said its still overall quite enjoyable to play.

airfrog says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:05am

I liked the art, and it felt like you got a lot done in the time. The screams were a nice touch too

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:49am

BWahahahahaa! that was hilarious, but some bugs :) Overall I liked it!

Sicilica says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:35am

The sounds pretty much made the game. A goofy way to spend a few minutes.

walaber says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:26am

pretty fun, nice job. a bit tedious at first, but gets more fun as you grow larger.

juaxix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:54am

Overall : I liked, maybe if you add some Katamari logic and make the planes to look at the camera (Billboards), and, idk, perhaps add some features like fat attacks :D

reheated says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Great fun, great style and I like the physics. Anyone know where the last slice is?

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:50pm

That was super fun, haha. I love the mix of 2D and 3D, realistic effects and super crunchy pixel art. The sound adds to the grossness a lot. The camera felt confusing but the controls made sense, and the length of the game was nice. I love the graffiti-like text, which I assume is hand-drawn? Between that and the pizza, it reminds me of so many 90s arcade games. Awesome work.

terop says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:30am

nice fun

guoboism says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:16am

Great game. Very polished. I like how consumed human still stick on the ball! Very funny! Picked By GB!

Mase says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Amusing scenario.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:12am

Anything even slightly katamari is a solid game for me, add in the dark element and sweet artwork of people fleeing, I enjoyed playing this. Felt a little stupid for not realizing I could a) jump and b) needed to to finish.

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:41am

Really good job. Fun to play, looked and sounded great. My one suggestion is that it would be nice if there was someway to lock the mouse inside the window. I also noticed the movement worked with a gamepad but there was no way to control the camera like that. (Also I think you left a debug feature in. Pressing the 'M' key makes you grow in size)

el-pepi says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:39am

Cool katamari like game!
Very good graphics and solid gameplay.
The screaming dudes where a bit annoying, they sound like zombies.
The resolution was set too high, I had to zoom out to see the whole thing.
The 2D sprites where facing the blob instead of the camera, I don't know if it was intended. If you want to make billboards just do: transform.rotation = Camera.main.transform.rotation.
Good job!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:24am

Not a whole lot too it, but I enjoyed it, and it certainly kept me entertained. Impressive 3D visuals for a compo game. High marks in fun and humor!

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:28am

Your game is just amazing, we made a katamarish game too, please check it out!

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:17am

loved the graphics style

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:47am

A mix between Katamari damacy and the movie the blob. Waow so horrific!
Graphics are greats, and this game is very funny (especially sfx). There are secrets item also and that's cool.

philomory says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:35am

Huh. I'm gonna go ahead and not rate this, treat it as 'couldn't play'. The web player behaved... very strangely.

jk5000 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 2:56pm

It is strange, but more important it is pretty fun to play.

Teesquared says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 3:26am

The unique art style works great and gives the game a comic book horror story feel. Sound is great and it's a very funny game. The blob is the perfect monster for this game mechanic. Blobbery robbery has never been more slobbery.

Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:37am

Seems quite amusing. It was way too big for my tiny laptopscreen, you should offer a smaller size for people with smaller screens. I didn't really find out what was suppossed to happen when I achieve the required mass? I just played until the monster was so big that it hid everything else on the screen. lol.

axoona says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 9:11pm

it's a quite fun game! although I didn't manage to get all parts of pizza...

adsilcott says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 3:07am

Really fun!

Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Neat game! I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/UzsNzPlW29s

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]