Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Alchemist

by SKT - Jam Entry

The Alchemist is a classic platformer where you are a little boy who had to live with his uncle, who is as crazy as he seems. You find yourself locked in his castle... How will you manage to go out ? Do you have to become a monster ? You have five levels to escape this strange castle...

-Use the arrow keys to move, Up or space to jump, Ctrl or X to punch (when available) and maj or W to run (when available)

-Notes from developers : there is a bug in the fifth level. If you die, the enemies do not respawn where they should.
Little tip : this bug makes the level easier.

-We were three to work on this :
*Antoine : Pixel art/Music/JavaScript/Level design/Cofee provider
*Marjorie : Art/Character design/Scenario/Playtesting
*Thomas : JavaScript/Game design/Scenario/Playtesting

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#403Humor(Jam)3.00
#419Audio(Jam)3.04
#511Theme(Jam)3.47
#544Mood(Jam)3.09
#646Graphics(Jam)3.11
#709Overall(Jam)3.02
#785Fun(Jam)2.70
#1003Innovation(Jam)2.20

Comments

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:32am

nice idea and great story good job :D

blahgyn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:26pm

nice graphics and gameplay :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:32pm

pretty cool, i like the art, would like to i like that you added the mechanic of punching in level 2,

Darkflint says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:37pm

I am not suited for jump&run games, i am really not...but still, very good!

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:38pm

A checkpoint or few would've been nice.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Hahaha good idea! I liked the story, and died a lot in some levels. I'm not very good at this kind of games. Good job!

ghostlyguru says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Challenging and fun. Enjoyed it!

Cloudeyes says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:59pm

nice,but the game has some annoying hit box

lemer says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:59pm

I have no idea how many times I died, hahaha. Great gameplay!

mungoman1 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Yay! A platformer! Pretty cool, had me wondering what my next upgrade would be. The controls are a little stiff though, and the music gets repetitive quickly.

Macecraft says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:43pm

The player moves a bit slow, and not being able to stop mid-jump makes the jumps behave a bit oddly. Attacking also has a somewhat short range, which makes fighting enemies a bit awkward. The upgrades spice up the game well, and it's visually appealing.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Interesting take on theme. Graphics are cool.

OFF says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:00am

I didn't finish the game because it became too hard for me at a ecrtain point but that's some of the best cut scene i have scen so far, not perfect but nice and funny.
The game is sadly not as nice and and maybe not perfect in animation of the jump, but the level design is nice, and the monsters well add (+1 for the "same time moving" monsters).
And the idea of "becoming a monster" is a great variation of the main theme where in many game we just start as monster.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:59pm

I like this game, it remembers me old style platforms and action game like megaman. Nice intro, art and gameplay. Good job.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:41am

I really liked the comic book approach, that said if the controls were a little more fluid, I think this would be steallar! Nice entry!

Blobo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:47am

Amazing! i Really love the art style! the game was flawless. really well done.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Amazing ! This game is an epic game !
Good job to the Team !
Kiss !

jk5000 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Super storytelling.

bradur says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Funny story and great combination of story & gameplay features :). The platforming seems little clunky at times since it is a bit slow. I liked the atmosphere!

Eldan_Knight says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Nice entry. Also good job giving the game a background.

justinooncx says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Cool game with a nice steady pace. A little wonky on the platforming and punching. Also, it must've been a bitch to do so many different sprites for one character!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:48pm

"...and then, he became the best Pokemon-trainer in the world!"
(also, I managed to complete it on pacifist run; the level 5 bug made it all the easier)

The yay:
- story (panels, while it's not the best art I have seen, have some charm to them)
- each new brings new abilities

The nay:
- movement feels a little clunky
- consists mostly of platforming challenges
- animation looked weird sometimes (I particularly noticed it for rats)
- bats were appearing right in the middle of game view sometimes

Could use some polish, but the story is nice.

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:20am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

GraciCebola says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Nice art! Cool story, just some problems with input, specially on run&jump

mantis says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Really liked it :)

Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Found out in level 5 that the potions replenish health... Previously I only tried to collect them with full health, and expected them to do something else. Using the convention of a heart for health would be more clear.

The controls are a bit primitive, especially the jumping would be better if you made it dependent on how long you held the up-arrow.
Also, while jumping it would be nice if the player could stop the character. Now you have to alternate going left and right to emulate this. It may be intended as a feature to make the game more challenging, but it feels frustrating.

There is a bug that causes some sprites to change on reload (for me on Firefox). Perhaps you forgot to reset some indices? In particular the player and the enemies get different sprites.

Now for the positive: ;-)
I loved the art style between the levels, quite rare for Ludum Dare. The story was also nice, very creepy. I'm glad there was a respawn-bug, otherwise it would have been very hard to finish, I think. It took me two tries, but it still felt quite hard.

General says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Ha-ha, this is fun, I expect after several levels the nephew will turn into a real beast and eat the Alchemist.

Although, the controls sometimes worked not very precise (or it's just my bad reaction)

Please, check my video review: https://youtu.be/Ey3lKehbPVI
Your game is at 9:20

psychonull says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 2:26am

Nice story and art style. Liked the idea behind the enemy that moves as you move.

Quij says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:33pm

I liked it! Nice art, good progression with new abilities. I liked how the last level was the previous level, but with a new route open. That helped give a sense that the player has changed.

While there were few enemies (rats, bats, crying hearts?), their different movement patterns along with the platforming elements gave it a good challenging variety.

The player's movement could have been quicker, more responsive, or less floaty. And the keybindings were unusual - specifically, having Run as "W" felt weird.

Overall, it's a nice homage to old-school platformers. Good job all!

Oct 19, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/sWM7EbBXpJg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]