Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

JumperStomper

by voidstar33 - Jam Entry

Hello,

Jumperstomper is a 2 player game, where one player needs to stomp the other player to win.
Player1 - controls are - A,S,D,W
A,D - left right navigation
W, - to jump with joy
S, - to stomp with rage.

Player2 - controls are - arrow keys
Left, right arrows - left right navigation
up - jump with joy
down - stomp with rage.

Tools used
Unity 5, Gimp,
Sorry no audio. Will add later.

25-08-2015
EDIT:
Link to the Data folder. Sorry about that.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/3qe5uf3h98e4bw8/JumperStomper_Data.7z?dl=0

Also added Web version.
Please Note: Please play the game in FULLSCREEN. "press return" is not working while in webpage.

27-08-2015
Fixed a few bugs in the Web version.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#764Humor(Jam)2.31
#799Fun(Jam)2.68
#896Innovation(Jam)2.49
#987Graphics(Jam)2.15
#1015Mood(Jam)2.21
#1064Theme(Jam)2.21
#1074Overall(Jam)2.38

Comments

Arskiainen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Windows download is missing the data folder :(

corupta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:54pm

For the windows link, JumperStormer_data is also required.
So I had to build from your source to play.
Funny game, maybe you can add an AI after jam.

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Sorry about that guys. New to unity. Added the link to data folder in description.

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:34pm

@Corupta
sorry for the trouble. I will do that, Thank you very much.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Can not start from "Web" Return does not continue.

FireTwin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:27pm

It works fine for me on the web. I didn't have a 2nd person to play it with but I can see it could be pretty fun!I also appreciate that as simple as the game mechanics are, they are very solid and I don't think I've seen a game that concentrates on multiplayer ground pounding each other. That idea is cool in it's own right so well done.

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:50pm

@UrbanHelsing
Please play the game in fullscreen. "press return" is not working while in webpage.

@FireTwin
Thank you for the feedback. I glad that you liked the game. I thought of putting a lot of other stuff that was on my mind. But time constraints. Will complete the game at leasure. This game is actually inspired by "DiveKick".
Excellent game but only for PlayStation.

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:51pm

@FireTwin
Just checked DiveKick is on steam. :)

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Funny little game.

defacid says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:12pm

It didn't really feel like it fit the monster theme, but the web version was greatly appreciated!

Like someone said before, AI would definitely help with playability since most people are solo-playing most of the LD games.

Crosstales says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:27pm

This is Fun, i enjoined the mechanics well done. Overall a nice entry and a awesome little battle game for an spontaneous duel.

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:38am

@defaced
Thank you very much for the feedback. I have included the monster theme in the winning message. Unfortunately you cannot see the message at the end of each battle, because of the quick, "any key press" event.(the message says to the winner "you are the monster":). Need to wait for a specific key press, will do that. If you don't fight for a minute you can see a funny message too.

aaronsnoswell says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Love the game idea and the gameplay is quite slick. For 1 player you really need an AI though. It would also be nice with some music and non-programmer art :P Great job!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:14pm

The mechanic itself is quite simple but the quick movement of the characters makes this game quite a rampage when both are trying to stomp each other. The graphics need a bit of work and I would've wished a bit more feedback on the stomp to make it seem more powerful but overall I enjoyed this.

fermenter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Fun little thing, but it's a bit empty. The blood/guts explosion is a nice touch!

J3X says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Web player says "An error occured running the Unity content on this page. See your browser's JavaScript console for more info. The error was:
uncaught exception: out of memory"

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:57am

The web version didn't work at all for me but playing the windows version I liked the camera movement.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:44am

I played the web version, and also played with myself. The "rage" face never seems to go back to a joyful one, even after the player respawns. But interesting idea here! I've always enjoyed butt-stomping in Nintendo games, haha. Cool game! :)

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:15am

@J3X
Thank you very much. I was on the creative side. Soon will fix it. Thanks a lot every one for the wonderful feedback.

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:17am

I found a game with a similar concept to mine.
Funny and Crazy.
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=50541

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:08am

I think it's lack theme but it's really fun to play!

parsia says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:17am

cool idea. well done.

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:52pm

This is pretty fun and easy to control. Had to fiddle around pressing random keys (tab) to get it to work though.
This could be developed into an intresting game. Great job ;D

Antokolos says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Funny little game!

bodsey says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:18pm

I don't have any friend nearby to test MP so I prefer not to rate this one :)

Xanjos says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Too bad there's no sound but I like the dynamic camera and the simple yet surprisingly deep gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]