Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Golem

by intXparts - Jam Entry

Golem -- A grumpy rock golem disturbed by the noises from the humans living at the base of its mountain decides to charge down to restore peace & quiet. However, he must get through the ever treacherous and changing mountain landscape without breaking to pieces.

- A simple dodge the obstacles game

[Controls]
<Left Arrow> - Left
<Right Arrow> - Right
<Down Arrow> - Accelerate
<Up Arrow> - Decelerate
<Space> - Continue
<Escape> - Exit

[Features]
+ wall bouncing physics
+ golem breaks to pieces slowly if it hits the wall
+ randomly generated obstacles/terrain
+ two game endings

[Tools]
Graphics Library: pygame 2.7
Language: python 2.7.10
IDE: pycharm
Sound: Audacity
Art: Gimp & Paint

[Sounds]
Boulder Crashing -- Slammed two boxes of ramen noodles together
Boulder Rolling -- Rolled a can of vienna sausages across my table

[Background]
This is the first game that I've written that wasn't a classic board game, but it was a blast creating it. I had several issues that absorbed a good portion of my time so I didn't get to add the polish I would have liked to the audio, visuals and some of the gameplay physics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#647Audio(Jam)2.21
#727Humor(Jam)2.39
#900Innovation(Jam)2.48
#944Graphics(Jam)2.35
#1015Mood(Jam)2.21
#1018Theme(Jam)2.46
#1042Fun(Jam)2.25
#1062Overall(Jam)2.44
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

tigerrenko says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:36pm

i couldnt find files

intXparts says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:10pm

@tigerrenko -- whoops, thank you for letting me know! I used a url shortener and they appear to have disabled the links. I've updated them to just be the direct links. You should be able to access them now. =)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:55pm

I found the collision detection to be a bit off, and the rock would speed up and slow down without me doing anything. But the game was alright :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:42pm

5 for humour, that game is a nice joke. A little bit less painful next time, please

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:51pm

It's cool for a first game ! I like the golem's face :)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:11pm

No mac port. Couldn't play. (sad panda) Looks like fun, though!

DarkBoulevard says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Nice idea! I liked it, but it was very hard! Good job!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Lol funny golem face! :D
I liked it, maybe a little too short, btw nice idea!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:19pm

I like the idea, but I just found it way too hard to play with almost zero friction :(

The rock's face made me chuckle though ^_^

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Cool for a first game :) May be you shouldn't show the gameover screen just at the same moment of the collision.

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:40pm

It is a good game, challenging and entertaining. I just miss music.

bossmojoman says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Fun but short, could be made into an endless runner type game. Godd job

jofra says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:08pm

The hit box seemed a little bit off for me :S
But a simple and cool entertaining mechanic for a first entry.
The golem have an awesome face X) aha

1y1e says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:58pm

First off, congratulations on finishing your first Ludum Dare! This has the potential to be a serviceable endless runner game given a bit more time, so now that you've had the practice your next LD will be even better I'm sure :)

I'm not sure the mechanics match the rest of the game - you're meant to be a big tough stone golem, but you break apart instantly as soon as you graze an obstacle. Having said that, I liked the sound effects and went back to listen to them again when I found out what the sources were.

Keep up the good work!

zeid says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:21am

Fun little endless run, a little more liberal hitboxes would be nice. I managed to get a victory after a number of failed attempts so that was satisfying.

freaknarf says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:28am

Cool idea, it could be nice especially on mobile I think. Game over was a bit radical, and sometimes i think collisions were not really fine, maybe with more precise collision masks (it feels like a square bigger than sprite) and some freeze (not to feel the game cheats with this) before the game over screen could make it more enjoyable and less frustrating :) i only managed to win when the level generated some clear way right until the end ahaha...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]