Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Piff: Luncheon of Revenge

by VanDerGroot - Jam Entry

After too long of being bullied over your bulbous, fantabulous self by the Castle Mage of Cuteland and his army of Fluffbird guardians, you, Piff the Dragon, must now take revenge! And what better way of getting back at those wretched little miscrits but to corrupt their silly little land and barbecue them all into a scrumptous meal?

Try to keep your heavy figure in air.
Be careful of the guardians' fluffy kamikaze attitude towards life! Avoid them or burn them down, and get to the castle in time to munch the Mage.

It's time for barbecue.


CONTROLS

W = Up
A = Back
S = Down
D = Forward

Space = Shoot

Graphics: Annie Groth
Programming: Jim Groth
Sound and Music: Vyxxyn

Note: Mac and Linux versions included but have not been tested.

Attributions
Splat sound: FreeSFX.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#221Audio(Jam)3.48
#242Graphics(Jam)3.96
#551Humor(Jam)2.73
#584Theme(Jam)3.38
#677Overall(Jam)3.04
#895Fun(Jam)2.54
#904Mood(Jam)2.55
#1362Coolness46%

Comments

increpare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:21pm

pretty-ish!
unwieldy controls amuse :)

goet says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:43pm

I'm huge fan of cryptocontrols that take years to understand, so this was right in my alley.

Also take control away from the player after he was defeated, I can keep spamming the attack sound even when Piff disappears.

SkullPixel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:43pm

I like your art a lot! I think it's better than mine by a little bit, mostly in the way of resolution. :)
Idea is good and with some better controls it could do very well!

Ferret says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Very well made, loved the sounds and animations of everything. The controls were a bit frustrating though.

Gigaraptor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Nice. Could be a little easier to control.

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Looks very pretty, but the gameplay is unfortunately rather basic. Wish there was more to it. The sound effects are great, and the music is well done.

plusultra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:12am

Great art!

when I tried to run it fullscreen I couldn't get the start menu play button to work. Works fine windowed though, for some reason. I'm on windows 7.

HACKhalo2 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:15am

The controls are really weird and feel really laggy. I loved the art and the direction, but the controls just broke it for me.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:34am

The music is absolutely excellent. The controls are a bit difficult, but as you stated this was on purpose. Unfortunately I was not able to finish the game after about 10 attempts. I got to the point where there were 5 birds or so on screen at once and couldn't find a safe way through. In any case beautiful job on the art and sound work.

VanDerGroot says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Oh wow. More feedback than I could imagine. Thanks guys. :)

Seems the clunky controls weren't as funny as they were intended to be. Sorry about that. It's our first game so we're still learning.

Infininete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:38pm

I can still shoot after death. The controls are a nightmare but I think that was the point (for example, I can't move left and up at the same time). You move the just barely faster than the screen, so if you don't constantly push right, you will eventually hit the edge of the screen and bounce off, a pretty much guarantee that you will collide with a bird and die? You also can't touch the top of the screen without dying.

The owl turning into a vulture was a very nice touch though, along with all the other environmental changes. However I wish I could set the houses on fire. It's a very good game given that the difficulty itself just comes with learning the controls, which is something I love :). Also, how does this dragon die to a bird? I guess it turns out, Piff the Dragon is just a massive pussy.

VanDerGroot says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:56pm

If we update this game we will definitely update the controls.

One of the things we wanted to put in initially was burning houses and trees.

The reason you die from hitting birds is that they are Magical Defending Birdies from Cuteland. ;) We also intended there to be some kind of angelic creatures killing you from above if you get too close to heaven.

Thanks again for all the feedback. It's super useful to us. :)

Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:50pm

It's a nice game, but I think there's too much visual information, sometimes i get lost on it, although the pixel art is really well done. I notice that the feedbacks' controls are a little bit slow but that's not a huge problem.

Mouriso says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:18pm

the controls.. aah ..awful. But I liked the music

Kai20 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:14pm

i hate the controls they are so wacky

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]