Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

AlienScare

by Eleneas - Jam Entry

You are an Alien from outerspace. During an otherwise regular travel you happen to accidental press some wrong controllbuttons causing your spaceship to have operational errors. So you are forced to emergency land on an nearby planet. There you see that the malfunction caused the consumption of all the energy that was stored in your ship. As you look around for help you find some humans but they cant understand you and get scared if they see you. You notice that their fear is a powerful enegry resource. That may be your only way out from this planet ... So you decide to collect as much fear-energy as you can to power up your engines and hopefully escape from that planet. But be aware, you heard some rumors that it is "Alienbusters" Hunting season ...
__________________________
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:
Your goal is to scare people, the nearer you get the more the will get scared (look at your fear points). After a while the villagers will call the "Alienbusters" for assisstence. They will start planting traps on the ground to stun you. After they arrived they will continuely hunt you down, you can recognize them through the masks they wear (the one wears a gas mask and the other one a medical mask). If you can scare all villagers before they got you you have won :)
__________________________
Note: we are planning to further develope the game. Currently there are some Bugs in e.g. the UI and we know about that and are working to solve them ...
It will take some time to do the updates but you will eventually find notes about them on our webiste.
Website: www.creatorscurse.com
contact e-mail: support@creatorscurse.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#582Humor(Jam)2.68
#607Audio(Jam)2.52
#628Theme(Jam)3.31
#692Graphics(Jam)3.03
#856Mood(Jam)2.65
#973Innovation(Jam)2.31
#986Fun(Jam)2.38
#1001Overall(Jam)2.61

Comments

cxsquared says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:45pm

The graphics all look really good but the intro cutscene doesn't fit well with the rest of the game. I think you would have went in a more cartoony route with the game it would have fit better and made the mood a little better. Overall nice work.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:47pm

The intro to the game was pretty funny. I ran in front of people for a while, and then I suddenly ended with a game over - so I don't really think I got it. Good effort, well done.

Joror says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:54pm

The intro was fabulous! But then we switched to 3d, with prefab models.
If you had kept your intro style up it would have suited the game better. :)

glerikud says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:55pm

I think I started flying at some point :D I liked the graphics though.

Eleneas says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Thank you for your comments :)
I added some additional Information (see in the Entry "ADDITIONAL INFORMATION"). I hope its all a bit clearer now :)

DruhinM says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Intro was pretty epic

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Great intro!
Gameplay works really well too!
Did you make the 3d art? If not please opt out Graphics category ;-)

Keep up the good work!

Eleneas says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:02pm

@Team Klappermann: Everything is made from scratch :-)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Hey, not bad - would have loved if the in-game art style could have matched that of the cut scene though!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:17pm

The web version just returns an error.

This is a cool game, but there isn't any explanation in game, which is confusing.

I love the intro!

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:40pm

I really liked the game, I found the concept and style of gameplay really innovative and I really enjoyed scaring of the villagers. It suited the theme perfectly and in an interesting way. I really liked the graphics but the cutscene (as good as it was) didn't really suit the rest of the game also the game overscreen was just like an image layered over the screen (you can still move around and at the edges of the screen you can see the game and that you can move it)I loved the playful music but the game could have down with some sound effects (footsteps, maybe villager's screaming? etc, the cutscene and the concept was really funny and the music was so good it set a good mood, overall very good job so well done!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:25pm

I really loved the intro movie and the 3d part is also very visually pleasing. However, they don't really work together well (i think you should have stuck with one or the other). Anyway, i had quite some fun playing the game ;)

Ramiel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:41pm

The graphics were cool. Especially the intro was awesome. During gameplay sound effects would really have improved the feeling. Some screams from the villagers or something like that. Also I think the soundtrack did not perfectly fit the mood of the game. It was a great tune, but in my opinion something more comic-style like could have captured the mood of the intro.
Apart from that great entry.

LastLeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:46am

Nice graphics, especially the intro.
Not easy to control. Mouse is over sensitive.

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Excellent intro and I was hoping the rest of the game would follow that style. I liked the alien but the mouse control was super super sensitive. Where was the in-game sound?

GraciCebola says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Cool intro, mouse is really sensitive

superfreak says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:31pm

The switch to 3D was a bit jarring - I LOVED the 2D style :) As others have mentioned the mouse sensitivity was a little high still but overall an impressive entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]