Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Supper

by jrhee - Jam Entry

// CONTROLS //
Move: WASD/Arrows | Confirm/Wait in place: Enter/Space | Cancel/Main Menu: Escape

// TIPS //
- The likelihood of charm succeeding goes down with each murder- plan who and when you'll charm accordingly!
- If a guest is getting too suspicious... perhaps it's time for him/her to die!

// ABOUT //
Inspired by the novel "And Then There Were None" and the board game "Clue", The Supper is a murder mystery where you play the role of the killer. Murder your esteemed guests one at a time, then charm and deceive to avoid being outed!

Created by John Rhee (@codagames) at the Babycastles (@babycastles) live jam site.

Giant post-mortem: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/09/04/the-supper-post-mortem/

// UPDATES //
- Added audio, updated limerick text
- Disabled mouse input
- Tweaked charm chance

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#9Innovation(Jam)4.28
#14Overall(Jam)4.28
#22Mood(Jam)4.33
#37Fun(Jam)3.99
#72Theme(Jam)4.12
#122Humor(Jam)3.68
#180Graphics(Jam)4.10

Comments

Zephyr Raine says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:22am

Great game!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:20pm

This is really charming. I really like the visual/audio cuts and the camera zooms. The art is super great. Good show!

Rothens says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Great idea!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Nice style, bit tricky to charm people though. Maybe it should be easy to charm people when they are sperated from the others

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Very good game. Wasn't sure what to expect going in, but only took a short time to get used to it. Would enjoy more games like this.

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Very nice interpretation and implementation of the theme. Atmosphere is great. Only downside is that it is truly completely up to chance if you will win, this feels like it could go more rogue-like where every cycle where you are outed, you slowly gain some kind of experience or stats.
Very nice!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Awesome! Had some problems with the controls at first but then it worked out fine!

I also like the end very much!

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:37pm

What a really good game, I enjoyed this a lot. The visual style and music too were superb.

Chaosmore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:27pm

It seems like using mouse to control will eventually get stucked. Otherwise it's a pretty good game.

jrhee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:50pm

@Chaosmore - you shouldn't be able to use mouse controls, just fixed that. Thanks for the heads up!

fdslk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Great game, nice style, this has a lot of power

wicht says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Great atmossphere!

JayWoody says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:25pm

This was a really top notch entry!

I like the looks and the sound effects. Everything works together!

If I'm being harsh I would've liked to see some more ways to influence the dinner guests, but that's just nitpicking.

All in all a very very nice entry you have here.

Darius says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Really great ! The ambiance is really cool, and the game is pretty addictive !

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:39pm

I can't praise this concept enough! Such a great idea. Well done. I'd love a full length version. Full marks

bombjack says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:48pm

nice original game :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Nice game and very original take on the premise. The presentation was very good and I liked the suspicion meter. My only criticism is that charming them is a roll of the dice and only gets riskier the more you need it. With a little more nuance this could develop into a very unique game.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Wow it's a great idea. I can imagine a full game like this without the grid in 3D. I couldn't manage to win (got to 4 only) but still.. nice!

mitkus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Wow. Amazing style, lovely writing. One of my favourites in this LD.

Ershany says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Great idea mate :)

mitkus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Wow. Amazing style, lovely writing. One of my favourites in this LD.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Really nice work. Image effects and sound improve well the immersion

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Really nice game. Enjoyed it a lot. Great job.

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Amazing game, love it!

KodingNights says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Great mechanics, very original. High replay value! Would also be much fun as a board game!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Very intelligent game! I'm impressed by how deep the strategy is for such a simple game. Would play again

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:59am

Amazing work, your game is so polished and beautiful! The audio, the art style and gameplay feel so good, simply awesome!
Good job, 5/5.

Good job, 5/5.

Manky says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:07am

Very cool style, very cool idea! Gameplay could have a little more depth but what you had worked pretty well.

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:38pm

So much fun! Would be cool if you expanded on it in the future. Maybe more levels or characters, maybe harder? Great job!

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:15pm

A little morbid at the end, but creative and funny throughout. The limericks throughout added so much to the tone of the game - I really liked them.

I loved the old-timey setting and presentation, it made your game feel very unique. I thought it odd that Flanders never ran at the end, though. Overall a polished, creative and fun entry. Great work!

Arskiainen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:35pm

This is just awesome. The movement feels a bit sticky as some of the obstacles are not obvious. I love the idea and the execution!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Great, great entry overall. The mechanics are clever, the presentation is awesome (Graphics, Audio, Atmosphere...). Actually, everything is good in this game. One of my favs !

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Really cool game! I loved the gameplay! It's so complex yet simple at the same time! And now I've got a really awesome novel that I want to read. Great job :D

Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Very cool game with its simple but effective mechanics.
Great post process effects and general feel of watching a silent film. Nice idea with dynamic camera zooming in..
Nice LD entry overall! Thanks :)

ohsqueezy says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:59am

5s across the board, live action the supper 2016, it was

Tselmek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Neat game, the mechanics are great and the ambience is really well done.

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:43am

Overall 5/5!
Great game! Great idea!

tMalicet says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Perfect mood, perfect style and great concept!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:51pm

okay, let's get one complaint out of the way immediately - it's very easy to misunderstand how the "charm" mechanic works. On my first playthrough, I was given a "90%" chance of "something" happening (it was not clear if this was 90% chance of success or failure.) I tried charming several people and failed each time because of the random numbers, which confused my understanding of the system.
Once I actually *did* understand how charming worked, however, I found it to be a little bit underwhelming. There is no real reason not to try charming every guest on each evening because your odds of success will decrease the following night, and there are more nights than suspicion bars, so charming becomes non-optional and doesn't require any kind of interesting decision making.
Although I didn't love the mechanics in this game, I did find the presentation to be exceptional. The limericks used for opening and closing scenes were wonderful, the silent film-noir style had a lot of character, and the subtle changes in facial expressions as guests grew more suspicious was a brilliant touch.
I'd really love to see this presentation style used in a slightly more fleshed out set of mechanics some day!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Nice Cluedo styled game.

LastLeaf says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:45am

Great idea and art!
The strategy is simple to me. This is the only thing I could complain about.
Good job!

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:51am

That was a lot of fun. Love the suspicion mechanic.

Ithildin says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:10pm

I loved the idea! I've seen quite a few whodunnit games on past LD editions, but this is the first I play where you reverse the role and the goal, it adds a very clever twist.

Graphics were very polished, too. Awesome entry!

6DownStudios says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:23am

I really enjoy this one!
An apt homage to a book and board game both well known for their elegant design.

The art and mood are truly outstanding, each character whimsically unique in his or her several expressions, a perfect match for the pantomime-heavy silent-film style you guys have emulated
The visual effects from the lighting and overlays compliment the aesthetic even more, as do the camera control and text transitions; in fact, this is one of the most stylistically cohesive ludum dare games I've ever played! Props!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Wow! Amazing entry. Really liked the old movie theme, graphics and the mechanics. Was a bit annoying that they wouldn't go into a room to die, but I caught them all eventually.

euske says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Great game and a very nice take of the theme.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Fantastic game! Great style, simple and fun mechanic, and nice strategy. Great job!

Serch says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:59pm

I loved this game

walsh9 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:23pm

This is great! Awesome idea and you really nailed the mood with the black-and-white film setting.

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:49pm

The mood was fantastic and the take on the theme was creative. It was quite a fun game as well but much like other LD entries(including mine), I feel a tutorial would have helped~ Other than that, great entry!

wavegunner232 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:03pm

the perfect ludum dare game epic EVERYTHING

randoman says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:13pm

This is a great game! Your choices for the sound effects were spot on. I played first without reading your description so I was a little lost, but my first failure was enough to make me understand the game. Good job!

Sedsibi says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:41pm

That was fantastic! Polished, it felt very complete, and most of all I kept playing and was having a good time.

DragonXVI says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Great presentation and a lovely idea for a Rogue-ish thing. Gameplay's pretty simple and seems to be a lot of luck required, but nicely done!

CodeNMore says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:15pm

The visuals were great, really neat and cool gameplay!

hgcummings says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Brilliant graphics, mood and audio. Really innovative and interesting gameplay too. I felt like the maybe weren't quite enough variables to make the gameplay really compelling (basically seems like you have to successfully charm two people fairly early on and then kill off the rest), but it's a great core to build on.

axoona says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:59pm

very original and fun game. nice art as well. I really enjoyed it.

Larzan says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:24am

Haha, great, nice Zola quote too :)
Very well done.

tmpxyz says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:44am

Very well polished game, great work.

JoJoX says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Wow awesome. I had many similar idea but didn't manage to make it as polished as you. Text and story are just perfect. Congrats !

Tuism says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Great execution, great idea, great presentation, sleek controls. All round great...

EXCEPT! (Mid-review turnaround!)

It's been said somewhere before, a stealth game that relies too heavily on being randomly discovered is bad, because you can have the best laid plans being foiled by a random dice roll... Which feels really crap. Which is what a lot of this feels like.

I haven't really actually figured out what "charm" does, but I assume it means you make people follow you, or something. And if you fail, you instantly lose, that's the impression I had.

So... you've essentially got a stealth game, with no enemy movement patterns to discern (seems completely random to me), and with a random chance to die when you use your one ability that you have to influence anything other than stand in their way so they can pick one fewer random direction to walk to.

I felt like a Rumba trying to murder people by inconveniently standing in their way.

So if you give them some pattern to follow and or the player to figure out and work around, and eliminate randomness from the mechanics, you've got something solid!

jrhee says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Hey Tuism, charming successfully reduces the suspicion of the guest. You'll need to charm at least two guests to make it to the end, otherwise you'll be accused when a guest's suspicion maxes out. If charming fails, you'll need to prioritize killing that guest!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:55am

This game had a really neat idea and nice visuals. The controls were a little weird to get used to, but otherwise pretty simple. Once I got a feel for the game, beating it was pretty easy. It fit the theme really well and had a really nice feel to it.

UekiShurei says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Fun game, despite the dark setting. It really prompts you to plan your moves accordingly. It also feels a little like a board game (though implementing this as a board game probably isn't going to be easy). I don't have any improvement suggestions, because it's just that good!

Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:20am

Lovely graphics, great game! I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/OjNOJwfYtGQ

Patomkin says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:25am

The game got simpler near the end - there were less people that could see you murder others and charm was not really needed. Maybe limit the charm to one use per person per turn? With 70%+ success chance you can easily decrease suspicions to zero and then just murder everyone. A single failed charm would be a much more hardcore experience :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]