Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Storm the Castle

by MasterZenith - Jam Entry

8 - 27 - 2015 UPDATE - Game has been hosted properly. Now, enjoy this piece of crap we made :P


I KNOW THIS WILL SOUND ODD, BUT WHEN YOU GIVE CRITICISM, COULD YOU PLEASE BE TRUTHFUL? I UNDERSTAND WE ALL LIKE TO BE TOUCHY / FEELY HERE WITH OUR WORDS BECAUSE NO ONE WANTS TO SEEM LIKE A DICK, BUT, WE WANT TO IMPROVE THIS CRAPPY DEMO INTO SOMETHING YOU'LL ENJOY, AND WE CAN ONLY DO THAT IF YOU ARE HONEST. WE NEED TO KNOW THE FAULTS SO WE CAN IMPROVE ON IT FOR A BETTER GAME! DON'T HOLD BACK!!!!





We couldn't get most of the features we wanted in it, but we will continue to work on this game over the following weeks or two :)




HOW TO PLAY

USING A MOUSE - Left click one of the seven dirt paths, then, left click on a unit to spawn that unit. Spawning a unit costs Monster Points.

USING A KEYBOARD - Use numbers 1,2,3,4,5,6 or 7 to highlight one of the seven dirt paths, then use the the left click on your mouse to pick a unit to spawn it into that lane.




OBJECTIVE

For each unit you get across the map, you score 1 point.

If the enemy gets 5 units past your tents, you lose.

For each enemy you kill, you gain Monster Points. Use Monster Points to summon your Units.

FIGURE OUT WHICH UNITS COUNTER WHICH UNITS FOR MAXIMUM EFFICIENCY!!




Issues we didn't get to fix / Future fixes / Skipped content / Make time

- Many animations aren't working
- A few ranged units aren't attacking at range
- One unit was cut
- Sound effects were cut
- Multiple maps were cut
- Unit upgrades were cut
- Destructible walls were cut
- Proper use of portraits and stats were cut
- Not all unit portraits are working



KNOWN BUGS

-Game ends for no apparent reason.
-The Blazit_Mage (Red fire guy with top hat) is currently Over Powered. The best way to kill it is to summon a Rock Quarry Ludum(The big fat orange rock monster).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#759Graphics(Jam)2.87
#830Theme(Jam)3.00
#904Innovation(Jam)2.47
#953Overall(Jam)2.69
#1051Fun(Jam)2.20
#1942Coolness30%

Comments

tigerrenko says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:54pm

404

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Unable to play your game on the Ludum Dare page or through the link.

MasterZenith says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:51am

Sorry guys, we are aware of this issue.

The game was created in such a way that it needs a host to play, but we don't have a way of hosting the game.

We messed up, and as such, you should all find our programmer and flog him repeatedly.

We do plan on finishing this game in the coming weeks.

:(

dosmaen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:23am

This game looks interesting, too bad I cannot play it.

MasterZenith says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:01am

UPDATE _

Game is now hosted properly and works. Well, works meaning what we had done in time for LD33... not works in the sense, well, that its close to finished ha.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:37am

Unfinished and a bit lacking in all departments. I see you worked on the mechanics much and it's sad you didn't have enough time to polish this up :/

MasterZenith says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:54am

@fan

We are working on finishing the game right now. When it is done, we'll update this post, and I'll send you a PM with the update.

Team Myopia says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:07am

I'm not sure how to actually play, I can select the rows but that doesn't seem to change anything...

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:19am

Really annoying bug where you get a massive black square that draws on top of everything, when that's not in the way its pretty cool trying to work out which units to fight with

MasterZenith says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:28am

@Team Myopia

Thank you for that feedback. I'll make the instructions easier to follow in the description above.

@QuestionableQuality

Thank you for pointing that out. I'm sorry that bug made out shitty game even shittier for you! :( We'll look into that!

neoVictrix says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:03am

Seems like it has potential, once issues are sorted out. Could probably do with a shrimp-like monster, but that's my opinion on it. Looking forward to seeing what happens when it's updated.

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:03am

The only thing i can say about this game is i like the graphics. I'm a sucker for 8 bit gfx, what can i say. I also love tug-of-war strategy games. I wish i could play it, but there is a massive black rectangle where the units are supposed to be. Also i get some random huge black rectangles coming from the left side (possibly missing sprites).
As such, the game is unplayable. I did give u good ratings for gfx and theme tho :)
If you want a good reference on how a decent tug of war strategy feels like try "Warlords: Call to Arms" on Kongregate (flash game).
I wish you best of luck.

DC
Los Pixelados

dcolgan says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:05am

I may not really be the best for this because I do not have a lot of patience for this kind of thing. Instructions were pretty vague but it is fairly easy to figure out. There is not really a lot of fun to be had because things move pretty fast. My advice, slow things down A LOT. You need to be given time to learn what enemies are capable of as well as what your own guys can do. You are just thrown into it. That does not work well. Games like these for a competition I have found don't end up working.

MasterZenith says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:11am

@NeoVictrix - No one here wants to hear your fucking opinions. Go back to Tumblr you idiot.

@Los.oixelados - I am sorry for the bugs. I am only the art guy for this game, so I'll take your +1 compliments and pass the -1 Criticisms over to the coders :) Also, thank you for the game to reference for a tug of war kind of game play. Much appreciated!

@Dcolgan - You are 100% correct. The game moves way to fast. Information is too complex. You said exactly what I feared. In our new version of the game, there will be a tutorial level with less units so you can get a feel for the game before throwing you feet first into the fire.

Thank you two for your opinions! Not you, neoVictrix. Why you haven't died of HIV yet is beyond me.

neoVictrix says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:14am

@MasterZenith Kappa
But seriously, that black box thing is something that needs to be looked at, as well as being able to mostly zerg-spam a lane without worry (outside of running out of points to spend).

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Not holding back, so here goes :)

First off - way too many things happening way too fast. Your first order of business should be to work with the pacing and slowly introduce the player to the mechanics of the game, one by one and ideally explain how things work through a in game tutorial.

Second thing is readability in general is pretty bad. You have lots of units and options but it's really hard as a player to realize the difference between these units and why to use one over the other. Yes there is text there to explain but its hard to read it and especially when you have so much of it, you don't have time to figure out what all the UI elements are before you're dead.

Those are the two biggest issues.

My suggestion: scope down. A lot. try just having 1 or 2 units available, and 1 enemy type. Make them work really well. Create a proper UI where you can see, ideally with symbols or something that makes it obvious with a quick glance how much health, damage, cost etc. the unit has, the status of the game overall, where enemies are coming to attack etc. Work on introducing the player to how the game works slowly, give the player time to experiment and familiarize himself with the mechanics.

When you have a really strong, readable, playable and fun foundation, THEN you can think about adding more content. Now you have so much stuff in there, but the foundation isn't there - so it's all for nothing.

E.g. I had no idea about the whole monster points and summoning mechanics or even that I needed to get my units over to the other side. Yes you had a manual written down below the game but this isn't the 90s - noone reads that.

MasterZenith says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:02pm

@inbetweengames

You are 100% correct on all points. I couldn't agree with you more. Thank you for being honest with us. That is what we wanted, and you show us respect by giving what we asked.

This will be all taken into account for the next LD!

:)

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:15pm

It's quite fun /and rather difficult, or I'm just a pathetic monster. Or monsters/ I liked the idea and the art. I'd rather have the description box somewhere else, it was difficult to compare the cost and monster points I had available, but otherwise good job!

MasterZenith says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:52pm

@CtrlAltTea

Thank you for the kind words. We are working on how the player gets information about the units better in the next iteration of the game.

Take care :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]