Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Clean House

by nwdg - Jam Entry

In this short adventure you'd better follow your wife's orders while you wait for your guests.

Commands:
WASD movement
Left Click to interact.

The game is still rough and there might be some minor bugs around. I hope you like my interpretation of the theme, as I've been working alone I'm kinda happy with the current state of the software. The code is pretty ugly tho :P
Please comment hard! Tell me what's wrong, what you don't understand and why! Please do it! Harsh feedback is the best feedback to learn when needed!

==================================================
NOTE: Linux and OS/X builds are UNTESTED.
==================================================

==================================================
EDIT: Bugfix!
- The drawer won't disappear anymore when you click it.
- Added a crosshair for better aiming.
==================================================

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#315Humor(Jam)3.19
#429Mood(Jam)3.27
#520Innovation(Jam)3.00
#572Graphics(Jam)3.30
#622Overall(Jam)3.10
#681Fun(Jam)2.86
#821Theme(Jam)3.03

Comments

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:48am

Great environment. I had some trouble with the mouse controls with the pointer leaving the screen and centring on the objects.

nwdg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:08am

I see, colliders might be too small, thanks for the feedback!

Gaga says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:22am

Loved it.
Really could have used a crosshair and I missed what 'she' said half of the time.

DoggyDog says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:07am

Really cool game. Simple but nic graphics.

Mossy Frog says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:34am

Cool little house, its been said but I think a crosshair wouldhave helped as its hard to tell exactly where your pointing when trying to pick stuff up. Also the end scared me XD The laugh made me jump. Nice entry :D

nwdg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Hey all, yes I see your point XD A crosshair would help A LOT, me myself have problems aiming too but totally slipped out of my mind. Sorry about that ^^

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:54pm

I couldn't understand my wife's requests... :D Cool concept though, enjoyed playing around with the dishes.

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:41am

Cool idea and twist. It could have used a few more steps with increasingly odd requests, but of course I understand the time constraints. Also, good pick with Saint-Saëns for the music.

Good work!

Chronodrax says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:55am

-> Web link does not work (allows to download the web player but not play it directly... what's the point then)
-> I like the idea of tidying open drawers by making them entirely disappear, it sure becomes less messy :>
-> Teacups in bedroom aren't considered as mess ? Couldn't pick'em'up
-> Does the character have back pain and can't pick up things on the ground ? (that hammer's telling me "pick me up pplllleeeaaaassseeee", but I can't aim it or click it)
-> No, since ther people did I'm not gonna mention the lack of crosshai... oh wait.
-> Also the mouse is not locked so when playing in windowed mode of with extended display on a 2nd screen it keeps losing focus
-> At the moment I saw that floating hammer near the cupboard I knew something was fishy.
-> Saw the stickmen-type instructions, did the opposite of what was requested. Best instructions ever! (really I thought that stickman standing up meant "turn this one" not "this one must point up")
-> GODDAMIT that ending! ...and I'm supposed to go to sleep now :c I'll keep the lights on, the voice I hear tells me it will be ok anyway.

Great idea and nice 3D graphics + voice acting for a 72h project :)

nwdg says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:37am

Thanks all! Wow Chronodrax that's a nice review, thank you! The drawer thing is actually a bug that I did't notice! Gonna fix it ASAP. THANK YOU ALL.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:59am

Don't understand what this had to do with the theme, but it was a nice fun game that reminded me of N64 games. The voice of the woman was very creepy.

I think I found a glitch, when I was in the dining room there was an open drawer with a hammer in it. When I closed it, the draw disappeared and the hammer stayed floating in the air. Weird.

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Scary stuff, especially that classical music juxtaposed with cleaning up the house... And that ending...

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:08am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

glerikud says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Great concept! It's one of my favourites on LD. For the future: The voice acting could use a better quality.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Fun game, what to improve: movement is twerky and the end sound is to loud

Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Very nice graphics. I like it.

Demy says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Jump scares are bad =(
Well, I got into the atmosphere of the game but I would really like to get more plot here to get the more solid story.

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Cool and creepy game! Loved to be a part of the murder! Nice entry!

TackoramaLtd says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Weird in a good way, but over a little too quick.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Nice, simple, relaxing game. Good job!

Daukan says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:55pm

The storyline is a bit short in my opinion. The door in the hallway that looks like a childs drawing I don't get. Why isn't it the same design as the other doors? However the mood is good. It all feels creepy.

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Remenbers me playing Elder Scrolls! Good game!

gabrielesani says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Great game and with a good twist! Keep on going!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]