Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Demon Dash

by radcorps - Jam Entry

Demon Dash is a fast paced run and jumper with a focus on speedrunning and tight platforming physics. Find your bucket of blood to progress and avoid the villagers and their psycho flaming torch attacks.

Browser Compatibility: A few people have reported some slowdown and speeding up which ruins the game experience. This seems to happen for some users in Google Chrome and has nothing to do with the power of your PC hardware, but just a bug in the way chrome is handling WebGL unfortunately. If you do get this problem, please try another browser (Firefox, Safari or IE11).

Controls:
Left/Right Arrows - Move Demon
Up Arrow - Demon Jump

Credits:
Adam Hulbert - Programming
Javier Munoz - Artwork
Gerant Kenneth - Sound Design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#196Fun(Jam)3.53
#521Audio(Jam)2.79
#679Graphics(Jam)3.05
#771Overall(Jam)2.95
#866Mood(Jam)2.63
#950Innovation(Jam)2.35
#975Theme(Jam)2.65
#1713Coolness37%

Comments

Saphyre says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:33am

Dynamic and fun, that's cool ^_^ The enemies do things we don't usually see. Nice game ^_^

Chaosmore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52am

Erm I think you might have made a mistake with the name.

radcorps says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:33am

Thanks Chaosmore. The wonders of sleep deprivation.

Chadivision says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:39pm

I like this game. The graphics are really nice and the physics for the jump has a nice feel.

The only think that I didn't like was the control setup. Having to jump with the same hand felt awkward. I think it would have been more playable if the spacebar doubled as a jump button. But still, a very enjoyable game.

radcorps says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:28am

Thanks for the feedback Chadivision, I was wondering about the input setup when I was coding it. Appreciate the kind words :)

Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:05am

Love the tight controls! all together pretty fun to try to speed run. my only complaint is that it lags occasionally which kind of kills your run.

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:57am

Nice jumper game! A bit hard! Great job!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Really enjoyed this! The movement was spot on and reminded me a lot of super meatboy

Daisuke909 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:16pm

I really liked it. It reminds me of Super Meat Boy, but the idea of having a time par on the levels is really cool.

Sep 9, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Good work guys!

Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Challenging, neat game. I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/UzsNzPlW29s

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]