Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Pirate Snail

by Sir Spiderlot - Compo Entry

Yar har! Welcome to my Ludum Dare 33 compo entry! You are a pirate snail and you must plunder a colony for a treasure chest. This is my first Ludum Dare, and I'm pretty happy on how it turned out. There are a few problems though that I don't what is causing them. On certain resolutions in full screen, raycasting will not work properly.

Visit web player link to play on browser. WILL NOT WORK ON CHROME.

MAKE SURE YOU USE WINDOWED MODE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2092Coolness22%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:15am

Frustrating! The controls are quite difficult - especially when moving horizontally. It's also incredibly difficult - I wasn't able to get the treasure.

Sir Spiderlot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:33am

@highlyinteractive
Sorry about that! Although thank you for pointing that out, I will try to make the controls work better next time.

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:45am

One interstitial ad, two popups, one pop-under, all for sleazy crapware. Next.

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:30pm

A fun little idea. I liked the character and the art style was also quite good. The movement felt more like I was controlling a race car rather than a snail (ironic as that may sound). The combat could have benefited from some sound effects and maybe some animation. The take on the theme, despite being creative, was a little unfitting. Overall, and okay entry that lacked some polish.

Sir Spiderlot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:07pm

@rogual I don't know why you are experiencing that. No one else seems to be. Are you sure your computer is free of ad-ware?

Sir Spiderlot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:08pm

@pirate_shell
Thanks! I like you user name by the way. Yeah the movement is weird and it was intended to be slower, but it seems to get super fast in standalone and web player builds.

Sir Spiderlot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:10pm

@rogual Okay I see what you mean by that occasionally happening. I use 000webhost and they put ads on free websites. Nothing I can do sorry.

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:48am

I didn't get the game, it is really frustrating, you could do better. :(

Sir Spiderlot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:20pm

@Ninja Garage
Thank you for your feedback. I will certainly try to make a better experience next time.

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Controls were frustrating. I almost didn't play because of the ads...

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:04pm

I like the graphics and audio and the idea of being a pirate snail is pretty hilarious!

As the combat mechanics were so underdeveloped, I would consider just cutting them and focusing the game around what works - the traversal. Just moving around and seeing the slime trail was pretty fun, so I would focus on making that awesome. One example, just standing still and rotating on the spot felt very awkward, as you wouldn't actually rotate on the spot, it felt like the character mesh was offset from the invisible entity that was actually being controlled. If that issue would've been fixed instead of spending time on combat, I think you could've done a pretty solid platformer style game out of this.

Again, nice job on the graphics and audio!

Sir Spiderlot says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:44am

@jstclair13
I do apologize for the ads, but they aren't under my control. 000webhost puts them there.

Sir Spiderlot says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:45am

@inbetweengames
Thank you very much! I will take your suggestions into account next time.

Resonious says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Controls felt weird, had an odd time re-centering myself after being pushed aside. Also just clicking until the enemies die is not the most engaging. I'm sure you're aware of all that though.

Plus side: graphics and music are excellent.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]