Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Sly Slime - Revenge On All Players

by reckhou - Jam Entry

"I am Slime.
"And this is my revenge."

=== Post Jam Update ===

Hello community, I've read all of your feedbacks and made a difficulty tuned post-jam version, including lots of minor improvements. Thanks for your kind review and help. I think it should be much better than the jam version, please test it! - Reckhou

# Introduction
- Play as Sly Slime, sneak into the night and hunt down those so called video game “heroes” that have slaughtered your species thousands of times!
- Use the surrounding to cover your movement, eliminate as many enemy "heroes" as possible!

# Controls & Instructions
- Move: WSAD
- Slimy Fireball: Left Mouse Button

- Hidden: Whole screen goes black & white. You will be exposed if getting too close to an enemy.
- Exposed: Enemy will see & chase you from further distance, run!
- When exposed, if no enemy has seen you for a while, you will go hidden.

# Features
- Opening intro movie!! "Dark Humor" style!
- EXTREME 10800p GRAPHICS*! GeForce® GTX TITAN is highly recommend to run this game.
- 3D Sound support, put on your headphone to notice enemy's position**!
- You will be killed easily & frequently. To help keep your spirit up, your WORST SCORE will be recorded. Think positive bro!
- Up to 1,245*** kinds of item will be spawned during gameplay to help you.
- Both Rambo & Metal Gear styles of play supported.

* Surely I'm joking, take it easy.
** I'm not joking this time, TRY it!
*** 3 kinds of item already implemented in Jam version, maybe we will implement rest of them in the future.

Feel free to tell us what you think of our game! And don't hesitate to rate!! :)

# Credits
reckhou - Game design, Programming, Writing
Dwhisper - Art Design, Animation
Jiajun Liu - Game Design, UI Design
Waigo - Programming
F - Music, Sound Effect
XTY - Animation, 3D Effect

Typeface Silkscreen by Jason Aleksandr Kottke.

*** For Low-Spec computers, please use lower graphic settings or try web version! ***

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#169Graphics(Jam)4.12
#236Overall(Jam)3.58
#246Audio(Jam)3.42
#285Fun(Jam)3.40
#298Theme(Jam)3.74
#336Mood(Jam)3.37
#386Humor(Jam)3.04
#614Innovation(Jam)2.89

Comments

Ciaran Lyne says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:16am

This is literally my new favorite game.
My only complaint is the cross hair... an option to be able to have a circle would be nicer (Sorry just my OCD)

Apart from that I love it!

neroyow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:37am

Nice game!!! Same idea as mine hehe....take a look on mine

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:38am

It's obvious that a lot of work went into this one. There's a level of visual polish here you don't usually see in an LDJAM entry. However, I felt like the the crazy amount of bloom and other odd lighting tricks made it hard to play, partially because I couldn't see what was happening, and partially because it was so distracting from what I was doing. A good entry overall, but maybe tone down the effects a bit.

randoman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:44am

I'm stunned by those light effects. Nice entry!

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:32am

Cool game ! I loved the style art and audio , but the gameplay is a few repetitive :/ whatever great job overall !

reckhou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:38am

@Bloodyaugus thanks for your review! The bloom effect caused some trouble I think. Will have a optimized version later. :)

ninjacajun says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:40am

@Ciaran Lyne Thanks! We really had little time to tweak these details. You will see the changes in future versions.

NenD0410 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:53am

Wow this game is so much fum! Great work but maybe some kind of exit button would be useful :)

randomhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:27am

Very pretty and fun. Bit hard to attack because of the projectile arc, but the fun power ups make up for it!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:36am

wow it's so hard. I die faster than i expected. Great light effect too.

chuckeles says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:03am

Awesome intro, awesome humor! Great gameplay, graphics, sound... I can't find anything bad about the game :P.

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Great game. Great team with so many talented creators.
The intro is very nice. The voxel visual styles. The thunder effects. Great! Picked by GB

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:55pm

We love the light effects a lot! It's hard game but gameplay makes you want to replay. Well done guys!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Very nice aesthetic, enjoyed it :)

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:12pm

I like it, the gameplay is a little simple but it is fun and enjoyable. The graphics are great, and the intro is pretty damn funny!

s_jmp says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:46pm

so great, so hard. :D

Dejvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:55pm

wow! did not expect 18+ warnings and stuff :D a fun game

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:47pm

nicely done, the view range is a little small, hope could look from a higher position.

sararyCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:55pm

There is a nice work on the technical side as well as on the script one (that intro :O). I find gameplay a little slow, this game could be played a more fast pace.

Anyway, great entry.

reckhou says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:57am

@sararyCow it was a hard choice between "Rambo" & "MGS" play style during game design stage. We don't want players play like Rambo all the time, so the final decision is what you've seen. More fine tuning on game mechanic is needed.

Thanks for your review!

reckhou says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:01am

@tmpxyz good point! I have a new idea of camera movement....

Shackhal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:14am

The slime wants his revenge. Nice idea. In RPG games, the slime is considered the weakest of the enemies. Really maybe that's not the case.

I like the option to play as a stealth or as a berserk player. The graphics are nice: voxel style including the color effect. Looks awesome with the monotone palette. And the music is good enough.

One thing I notice is the attack. It was make to prefer the stealth style. Also, the intro was super great!... until the title screen appears. It kills the mood a lot.

Overall, it's a very good game. Well done guys.

Cloudeyes says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:19am

one of the coolest games

handkor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:34am

Nice voxel graphics.

JakeL168 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:34am

Not bad. On problem is that the crosshair became almost invisible when monster explodes.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:48am

Not bad! Perfect visuals and addcitive gameplay =) Story is pretty fun yeah :^)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:12am

Man was an awesome game! Loved the whole feel and gameplay, was very good indeed. Great stuff!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:28am

I want rockman to be stronger :P

reckhou says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:32am

@Lancelot Gao HAHAHA we've tested a stronger rockman version but I promise you won't last longer than 30 seconds when a strong rockman chasing you :)

peterthehe says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:41am

The effects are stunning, though perhaps to the detriment of performance.

dregamr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:20am

Hey! It's a pretty cool game!!
Good job!! And very good camera movement while shooting.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:27am

Amazing effects and visuals, by far the best of any jam entry I'd say. love the music that plays during the game. Game play was a bit basic but still fun to play.

PEBKAC says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:45am

Very nice game. Well done!

komjaur says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:46am

Dat F name tho :D
MR.F&¤#

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Pretty nice game, very similar to ours. A lot of polish and juice for a jam game, though the difficulty could use some better build up.

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Indeed, impressive game. I like the minecraft style.
And funny intro :)
Hmmm ... nice that you took time to make one.
A small tutorial scene would have been great. At least to explain the elements of the game.
GG guys!


Cheers,
Morco (Los Pixelados team)

wallmasterr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:22pm

cool style and nice effects

madalaski says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Hilarious concept. Could have used some more of your own artwork at the beginning but felt nice to control and to take revenge for all the slimes that have been mindless slaughtered over the years.

cyrixd says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Really liked the intro cut scene, very impressive to get that done in addition to the entire game. Visually very nice as well. I felt the shooting mechanics were a bit hard to use and understand, and wish there was more feedback from dealing/taking damage. And even though the power ups were a bit unclear on their use, they added a lot of depth and fun to the game.

reckhou says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:40pm

@cyrixd thanks a lot! Sadly we didn't have enough time to optimize feedbacks/audio/visual effect of power ups and damage :(

superpatch says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Nice game, very good light effects and solid graphic. Also the idea about theme was really good, imao it could be a great narrative premise for a full game. Good job!

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Really cool game!

architect404 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:18pm

very fun entry! great graphics, audio and mood. I have to admit though I did avoid the powerups for a while until I realised they weren't just part of the scenery. nice work!

adsilcott says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Love the revenge of the weak blob concept. Really fun game. I had a chuckle in the intro.

cgmorton says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:42pm

'Fireball' is a bit misleading when it uses grenade-like mechanics - took me like 5 rounds to figure out why I wasn't hitting anyone.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Very solid entry. Well done. :)

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Nice, could have had a clearer crosshair, but it's got great viduals and a really nice soundscape!

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Wow, this is a good game. Very challenging though. I like the concept and use of the theme. Well done!

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Great graphics, but I can't survive more than a few seconds. I feel so out gunned and can never get away once spotted.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Cool use of the theme, and awesome atmosphere! I really liked the voxel graphics.

Well done!

aeai says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:43pm

This is really cool, i really like the art style. It's a little hard to hit the enemy because the projectile arc, but overall great game:)

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Fun game, nice lighting and great sound effects!

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:05am

Really good game. I had lag the first 20 seconds I played the game. Overall, amazing experience. Keep up the good work!

Dizzly says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:05am

There is truly a very good work with the light effects here. Gameplay is good not the best. Overall is very complete entry.

bouletmarc says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:38am

this is my favorite game tested for now, 5/5 for everything, even if there are "SetDestination" console error that are sometimes annoying I REALLY enjoyed this gameplay, all thoses effects, sound, very very well made

yuigoto says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:53am

Nice nice! A "revenge of the slime" game, huh? ;)

Nice voxelized graphics! The camera angle, play style, some elements and graphics reminded me strongly of Voxatron. :P

Nice work with audio, for pinpointing enemy direction! It helps, but the game is pretty challenging so I always die easily. :P

I'd say controls are a bit slow, but it's a slime! Slimes don't move that fast, do they? ;D So it's perfect!

Congrats! :)

CrownCity says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:36am

The effects make this game look so awesome! So does the story in the intro! Great job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Nice game. I like the graphics and he gameplay.
Can you check mine?
link: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=56119

NikB says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Visual effects are stunning, really. The stealth-based gameplay is also fun and challenging. Such an amazing game!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Visually it's quite amazing, the light effects and the bloom look really nice against the relatively dark map. Controls well, shoots well, difficulty quite high, it looks and feels polished so all seems to be in order here. Good job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Favorite game so far, you did a great, great job on almost every aspect of your game :)

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Voxel !!! We like voxel !!!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Nice work with the lighting!

euske says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:26am

I couldn't figure out why the lighting changed but it's a fun game after all.

PokeyOne says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:21am

I am surprised not many people used voxel graphics in their games. love it!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:55am

Wow. Such a neat game. I wish i could see more of the screen at a time, but that arc on the bullet is soo nice. sounds great, the slimy death was kind of weird. voxels ftw. music rocks. gj

wavertron says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:16am

Wow looks great. Performance wasnt so great on my laptop, made it a little hard to play and the crosshairs moved really slowly. But stellar little game overall. The voxels are great.

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:32am

I've got to say, this is one of my favorite laugh out loud moments this LD so far. I love this idea and its execution; the voxel graphics are charming and well done, audio is excellent, gameplay is solid. Really fun to play. :)

Mark Smith says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:45am

Great artwork and fantastic sound effects. The music and gameplay were really well done too. A very impressive game especially for the amount of time it was made in.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:35am

great game, really cool!!

Sanju says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:52am

Loved the graphics and the lightnin' effects.
The gameplay can be improved though. Too difficult and slow for my taste, but it's a great work.

oakus says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:06am

great graphics, gameplay is a really hard but at the end I manage to slay 14 heroes which I considered success :) would love to say more weapons and/or more stealthy approach, once I unstealthed myself, they were all over me and sice their numbers are many and they have goddamned shotguns I felt helpless in the end anyway. Overall the game is fun though.

bumbu says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:57am

Visually impressive, but on my mac I have to use a really slow resolution to be able to play it at a decent FPS

Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:08am

Wow, a beautiful and fun game. It is very polished, I loved the mood.

careless says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:27am

Really nice voxel game, music and lighting worked well. Killing stuff is quite hard but dying is easy.

Maybe the challenge of the game should gradually increase, and killing improves speed etc.

Would be nice to have an AOE attack and a charge up attack.

Well done.

derr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Very moody game with strong visuals.

lycanpoet says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:17pm

That was pretty epic. Nicely made, well polished and very addictive. well done.

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:15pm

fun game, great atmosphere and unique story.
Shooting mechanic needs improvement. Maybe make shots fire faster but do less damage

Aumni says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:20am

Loved the intro. The art was super amazing and cute too! Awesome work!! :)

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:57am

My computer isn't strong enough to run, but damn I wish it were, I tried hard to fight through the lag, but could only get 2 kills with dumb stupid luck.

Clurect says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:18am

GREAT game! Really hard near the end, but so fun!

JoeProgram says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:47am

I liked it, but I was confused about how some of the rules worked. I'm not sure if the lights were turned on brighter as I fired more, or from the lightning, or from where I was standing, or it was when more people were seeing me. Would have loved some Mark-of-the-Ninja style stealth visualization cues, so I could be as precise in my sneaking as I can be in my dodging.

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:17am

The lighting effects were very cool, though slightly over done. It created a dramatic ambiance for the level making me a bit cautious of my movements. Though, when I was being chased by the "players", I threw caution to the wind and scrambled about through the stormy night putting me into more hazardous situations. Having a few close calls maneuvering among all the on coming fired shots was fun. Nice graphics and animations. Great LD Entry!

Galvesmash says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:28am

This game is amazing! Loved the light efects!

tobbez says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:05am

Pretty solid gameplay, but once you have understood it the game gets boring pretty quickly, since there doesn't seem to be any difficulty progression (I intentionally died after 100+ kills and 600000+ score with 10HP since there was no challenge in continuing).

Score seems kind of pointless, since you lose it all when you die anyway.

Nice audio and graphics.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:20am

Nice Game ... nothing more to say

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:45am

Really cool lighting effects, and a funny premise.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Not bad at all! (And yes Linux build works, even with EXTREME 10800p GRAPHICS)

Also, brofist for the voxel-style graphics.

AdayMC says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Really good lightning effects and good artworks.

I liked it, good job

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Really nice visuals, great entry! Congrats!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:03pm

I've been playing a lot of Dragon Quest lately so I had to give this a try. Nice take on the LD theme, and the graphics are outstanding! The game's quite a bit of fun too. Really nice work!

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Great game, the graphics were amazing. Perhaps it was a bit too much of the goodness because it kind of made me a bit dizzy after a while.

SpringCabal says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Beautiful Graphics, especially considering the simplistic models you used, that's impressive.

zeid says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:49am

Love the graphics

panda says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:11am

Wow that game's amazing! The graphics and sound are great, and the gameplay great.. and then you add powerups? Man. I think this is my new favorite game.

valid4life says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:17am

The camera effects seemed to be over the top sometimes but the game looked fantastic nonetheless!

Jimjam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:44am

Great entry overall! I really like the art style and references back to old games.
Quite tough to succeed at though - I wasn't really sure what effects the powerups had, and I could never really get to a safe space in terms of health and powerups, but I guess as the monster you're pretty much always fated to die!
Good stuff :)

Artefale says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Not enough features, but in my opinion, this is a great mix between "beat them all" and "shout them up" types. It could be a great hack'n'slash.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:58pm

the visuals looked nice, it seems like you guys put alot of effort in it, i would like to see more of it

Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:23am

Great game! I loved the experience all round.

Pomb says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Wow cool night time effects man! really like the feel, was pretty hard felt the enemies were a tad bit to difficult right in the beginning. With a more gradual difficulty curve I think it would be Excellent!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Pssst - you have been featured on todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out here - http://youtube.com/watch?v=Qg4MzGbqQ9I

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:12pm

The scoring system really kills the fun. You're most rewarded for staying hidden and avoiding the heroes, but that's boring. Slaughtering them is much more fun! But then you're vulnerable, and will quickly die. Yes, there's health you can pick up, but each health point you have means one more hit you need to take until game over, and each hit means a HUGE (random?) amount of points lost! When I got my highest score, I had around ~650000 score before taking the last hit, which then reduced it to 286210. That's bullhockey! It's just arbitrary and frustrating.

There's a few problems I've found. In particular, the AI is bonkers. I've scraped past enemies unnoticed, moving right in front of them at times, but then when I'm hidden, doing absolutely nothing, enemies will just notice me for no reason whatsoever. Then, although the fireball explosion will usually kill the heroes, every so often they'll walk through the explosion unharmed.

The graphics are cool, in particular for the lighting effects. Not much to say about it otherwise. The heroes models are pretty funny, but you can barely notice them. The scenery could've been more diverse. I would've enjoyed exploring around if there were more things to be seen, but it was just trees and random walls. Also, I couldn't understand the HP display. Seems to be unusual for the sake of being unusual, it's not particularly clever or interesting.

As for the implementation of the theme, it felt very lacking. The player could very much be a human villain and it wouldn't change the gameplay in the slightest. Despite the slime model I was controlling, in no aspect I felt like I was a monster, and no game mechanics regarded nor evoked the point that the player was a monster.

Great audio, and the 3D sounds really helped in the immersion. Overall a very solid jam entry, great work!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:02am

Pretty cool! I love the effects! Nice variance in powerups too. At first it was really hard, until i realized that i needed to go stealth.

reckhou says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:36am

@LegacyCrono thanks for your review! Actually the whole score system is a joke so don't take it seriously(there is a "low score" system remember?) :)

@ButtonMasherBros thanks for your video review, I'm so glad watching you guys play our game (also died a lot LOL). However you can try our bug fixed & difficulty tuned version now, it will be much better than the jam version!

freaknarf says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:25am

Cool game, and good work with lighting and 3d fx !
The game is a bit hard but has some interesting bonuses and mechanics. Sometimes, i feel like my bullets don't collide with "heroes", so that's a bit frustrating...
Funny introduction btw !

Grhyll says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Woow this is so pretty :D Very nice atmosphere. I just wish there was some way to switch to azerty keyboards >_<

AlexSet says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:12am

Neat effects and atmosphere! Took me a while to understand how the fireball worked, overall very impressive!

KodingNights says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Like the mood.

Yrr says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Was hard to tell when my hits connected, but otherwise beautiful game.

arzi says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Awesome intro! The game was pretty fun although it was a bit easy to get stuck into an obstacle. Love the art style.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Amazing game! Very fun, great graphics/lighting and just great overall. Works well on Linux.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Challenging and fun game. I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/bouSnGLQUcs

Lukbebalduke says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 2:38pm

a really fun game, the mechanics worked very well, and the slime jump was pretty funny.
very solid entry, congrats =)

Techblogogy says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 5:23am

Great game! It was very fun to play, but my notebook did struggle with graphics a little bit, which made it barely playable, but when I switched to my desktop everything became better. Other than that great job!

bombjack says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:11pm

great soundtrack. The web version is not really smooth. nice game.

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:32pm

No too bad, fun and challenging.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Great game. Graphics and lighting looks amazing!

camlang says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Just amazing. Sometimes it's hard to tell humans from background, I guess you need to mark them somehow

superfreak says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Great art style :D super polished entry

andreiichim says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:17am

Cool game. Love the gfx, fx and sfx.
Nothing bad to say about it. It's challenging.

Modoc73 says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 12:14pm

The visual effects are great!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]