Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Doodle Battle!

by superjai - Jam Entry

MONSTER DOODLE BATTLE!

You can make a better monster than your friend. Settle it in your notebook to see who is victorious. Customize the head, body, and arms and witness your monster come-to-life for battle. 125 possible monster combinations in total!

1-2 player support. 360 and PS4 controller support for PC. PS4 controller support for Mac.

Tips: Double jump available for all monsters (some monster parts can do more!). Charge (Hold) Melee and Shoot for more attacks.

Player 1 Controls:
WASD - Movement
Space - Jump
G - Shoot
H - Melee


Player 2 Controls:
Arrows - Movement
\ - Jump
[ - Shoot
] - Melee


Gamepad Controls:
DPad/Left Analog Stick - Movement
A/Cross - Jump
X/Square - Shoot
Y/Triangle - Melee


Made by Jeremy Weeks (@jeremyrweeks) and Gian Cruz (@gianorama) in 72 hours for Ludlum Dare 33.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme(Jam)4.54
#8Innovation(Jam)4.29
#15Fun(Jam)4.17
#15Humor(Jam)4.35
#21Overall(Jam)4.17
#41Mood(Jam)4.13
#46Graphics(Jam)4.50
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

LazyPenguin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Fantastic music! I had a ton of fun playing this! Online multiplayer would be awesome!

fafastudio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Really good ! I spent time with my friends playing it ! Love it ! =)

dacharya64 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Didn't run in Win/Chrome (just a white box) and in Firefox I've just got the infinite loading bars screen? Might be me doing something horrendously wrong. Oh well--game looks great from the screenshots and I love the audio!

lanestp says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Fun, game. A little bit floaty but a really nice idea and well executed!

Manoloko says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Worked for me in Firefox. It's a MUST TRY for everyone rating games. The artwork is amazing, creative and fun, specially children will love it. Music is cool, and gameplay very adequate.

Quij says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Love the art style! And the AI had just the right amount of challenge without being overwhelming.

HThomson says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:48pm

The customisation element was my favorite part of this game, it would have been great if you'd taken it further and let people design their own body parts through the use of an in game sketch pad or something. That would have been really cool, overall great entry though.

30dogs says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Super creative idea, and great art. I had fun getting ruined by the AI. Would probably be a lot more fun vs a friend.

geckojsc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Awesome entry! I liked the aesthetic, and the concept of a charades-style fighting game is really cool.

I found it quite difficult to control the characters due to the key layout (using both sets of fingers and a thumb at the same time was awkward), and it felt like the combat needed a little adjustment (sometimes it's possible to beat him just by standing in the corner and mashing G/H)

That said, the bot has very accurate and believable AI and was usually quite a challenge to beat :)

collaboration says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:28pm

I like evrything about that except one thing - I can't beat my enemy, besides that - it's super cool!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:54am

This game is awesome. Simply put. It feels like a play with a childish fantasy. It is extremely well executed. It has customization, support to joysticks, a great mood and scenario, different aspects for your fighter depending on your selected part. Multiplayer. Definitely you guys should be proud, it feels indeed like a childish fantasy coming true. One of my personal favorites of the Ludum so far.

dcolgan says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:37am

Perfect! This is fantastic. The computer was pretty unbeatable for me without a gamepad not being used to a keyboard but it hardly mattered. The drawings worked so well and looked so good as combinations. I thought it was really cool.

Aaranos says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:50am

Amazing work, it was pretty fun to play and looks great.

Keon says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:00am

Tons of fun. I love the doodles and the monster design is great!

Derek Rumpler says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:13am

I like the general idea and I'm glad to see that there seem to be actual differences between the parts. It reminds me of an old Super Nintendo RPG called E.V.O. except that it is a fighting game. If this were a final game, I think it'd be cool to earn and unlock parts.

philomory says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:34am

A lot of creativity went into this! Though, maybe my monster just sucked but I found myself getting absolutely creamed by the AI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]