Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

I HATE HALLOWEEN

by Vaida - Jam Entry

Made for the Jam (72h) version of Ludum Dare 33.

It's pretty obvious that I have an obsession with the 80's. Making the synthpop track was lots of fun! This was my first LD, and I have a lot of things to say about it; will make a blog post sometime soon.

The song can be downloaded here: https://soundcloud.com/vaidap/night-drive

Tools used:
Construct 2
Ableton Live 9
Bfxr
Photoshop CS6

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#155Audio(Jam)3.62
#239Humor(Jam)3.37
#248Mood(Jam)3.50
#266Fun(Jam)3.43
#326Overall(Jam)3.46
#327Graphics(Jam)3.79
#537Theme(Jam)3.44
#689Innovation(Jam)2.79

Comments

antonymity says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11pm

This is really cool! I like how vibrant the colors are. The song you wrote goes really well with the pace and feel of the game, too. I think the screen shake is a little too rough for my eyes. When choosing to play again, no monsters spawn - but I found myself using that to my advantage to make my character "dance" to the song :P

antonymity says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Oh also the boss fight was brilliant with needing to change masks to match what the arcade machine displayed!

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Graphics and sound were freaking fantastic! Gameplay was great too, awesome boss fight!

0x0961h says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:11pm

That was pretty good! It gave me a strong Hotline Miami vibe. Nice job!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:41pm

felt a little bit shallow. Outside of the boss fight, there was no noticeable difference between the different masks, and the combat against waves of ghosts wasn't really all that interesting - it really just boiled down to hammering the spacebar and occasionally turning around to cover your back.
I am fairly impressed by the number of art assets in this game, though. The amount of backgrounds, enemy sprites, projectile sprites, etc. was greater than what I would normally expect from a jam game.

MegasDragos1 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:41pm

I like the idea of the boss fight, it's really a great concept for game, so great job, you made great 10/10 game.

cirpig29 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:55pm

I did not get the idea of the game. Change the mask to get a new weapon? "Boss Fight" without a boss, but much more ghosts? Anyway a nice submission to the Theme. And graphics an sound are great too.

matthewd673 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Really fun but was SUPER easy. Also, couldn't figure out the boss fight.

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:19pm

I really enjoyed the graphic style, it had a nice theme to it that ran through the whole game.

I felt like there was a lot of polish like the intro video and the TV style overlay.

I do actually hate Halloween as well so that helped! The game finished too soon, played it through twice and I would have kept going if it were longer.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Nice idea, loved the boss fight!

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Great soundtrack but the gameplay is a little repetitive

Rocketship says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Cool use of the mask mechanic with the boss, would've liked to seen some more use of that, maybe different sort of attacks or something. Overall enjoyable, solid game!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Great mood! I loved the mask switching concept, and it would have been even cooler if projectiles had been different enough in terms of gameplay (or their effects more noticeable in case they were already differences, which I think is the case) to be used strategically . And nice touch on the boss battle, too!

Overall, a pretty solid entry, congratulations!

sadenly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Really liked the graphics!
I recall having a costume like those ghosts on a Halloween when I was a kid =)

cxsquared says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:59pm

The graphics looked really really good. The final boss battle was really fun with the mask switching mechanic. Really nice work.

JustinJ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Awesome graphics, and the boss fight was clever! I had been wondering the point of the masks.

Lady Beardo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:21am

Yeah- that seems like Halloween to me-- killin' ghosts with candy and blowin' up the arcade. I especially like that the shooting noise changes with your mask. Nice!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:17am

That was really fun and cute and actually pretty dark when I think about it. :D Loved the visuals.

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:49am

I laughed so hard in this. XD Graphics are amazing. Good job!

Tango172 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:57am

Love the Audio and Graphics - Awesome first LD! :)

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:01am

Nice retro look! I liked the boss mechanic. :)

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:07am

Haha, love the visual style, and love 80's, great job, simple and funny.

cebollinos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:31am

Nice art! Remindme of Hotline Miami.

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:46am

I enjoyed the game much. It's always nice getting to the end of LD-games and it's a hard thing balancing a game when you are so stressed about just completing it. I solved the final boss, since I was too stressed about staying alive, but just waiting for the correct mask-matching to come up.
The music and graphics were really nice. I think the sound FX were a bit loud though. Especially since the game started without music and only the very harsh effects it felt a bit rough (and since the volume on my speakers was quite high I got a bit scared).
The play-instructions could maybe just show up around the character the first seconds of play rather than at a separate screen. It took me a little while to get going and remembering the controls.
To sum up: well made game!

Andrew says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Took me a bit to figure out the masks for the boss. Once done it was fairly straightforward. Loved the retro-beatup feel of it

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:41pm

I like the graphic, I feel young again :) It's hard to figure out what to do in a boss figt. I had fun!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:10pm

The yay:
- graphics
- different masks
- the boss
- soundtrack

The nay:
- masks don't change much aside from boss
- alright, I get that ghost can go through closed doors, but why my bullets do that, too? ^^"

The meh:
- main gameplay mechanic

Somewhat fun little game, even if not a stand-out.

Hemuuuli says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:01pm

I love the punch in the sound effects. It just simple feels good to press space.

mitkus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Cool game! Hehehe. Loved the music and graphics.

glimaleite says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Boss fight was so cool! I wish there were more levels to keep playing it. Great job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:06pm

I love the bossfight. I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/UXRiA5Goh28

SKT says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:22pm

The boss fight is super cool, switching the mask to beat the machine is a great idea. Nice music and graphics, the ghosts are pretty funny. Great job !

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:19am

Excelent job. Nice graphics and sounds. I really like this game. Congratulations!!

jackrugile says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:58am

The amount of effort you put into the art is insane, is looks SO good!

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:40am

Nice idea for the boss, although I'm not sure what it had to do with heroes hate for halloween :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:30am

Like the retro graphics and 80s vibe a lot. The enemies remind me of PAC-MAN (intentional?) :) Great job!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:28am

Fun game, loved the aesthetics

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Nice cutscene, simple but fun gameplay and a really fun boss fight!
I really like how the boss worked, and I also really enjoyed the graphics and the "TV"-filter on it all. It's feels a bit like a mix between Hotline Miami and Altered Beast.

lukepilgrim says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:53pm

great! graphics are perfekt, really liked the idea for the boss. very fun.

LeoM says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Fun to play ! :)
I liked the intro cinematic ^^

smotko says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Coll pixel art and an awesome boss fight... I was wondering what the masks were for and I felt great when I figured out how to use them in the boss fight. Well done.

maguera93 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Good game. I like the audio and the fx. Good job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:44pm

excellent!

HappyHour says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:55am

The mask swapping is a fun little touch. Digging the aesthetics.

Saf says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Great visuals! Love the old style rendering you have there! Awesome effort for the little time

t4u says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Mah is the best word describing this game. No bugs, gameplay works but I dont get fun from it, music and graphics are average so again... mah.

Electron says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:43am

nice gaym

randoman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:52am

That face in the end, hahaha. Enjoyed the boss fight. Didn't notice much difference in attacks with each mask, something unique for each of them would be cool. Congrats on the entry!

rudra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Pretty good! Liked the graphics and the gameplay, good job!

mubox says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Nice music and gameplay. ^^

Donutttt says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:47am

Nice! Great sound, and interesting graphics. The game itself was fun, great work!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:06pm

I loved what you did with the boss fight! I wanted a little more after that. Nice visuals also. :D

Teesquared says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:59am

Great sound and visuals. Simple game play but it kept me playing. The gamejolt link didn't work for me but playing the embedded version was fine. Funny collection of projectiles. Very complete entry. Good job.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Hahaha @ the pac-man ghost costume. Stars!

Art and music is a great combo for this game. If you like the 80's theme, come check out our entry!

Great entry!

-Loi LeMix

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:35am

Cool ending screen. Congrats on your first LD!

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Nice, fast paced arcade-y game with even a boss fight. Didn't really understand when new masks became available but used to good effect anyway. Good.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Nice game! Really liked the graphics and the humour.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:35pm

I find this very cool! :)
It played smoothly and it was well executed. Really nice game and very well done for it :)

Catmoo says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:37pm

I really liked your game, the vignette on the screen was great giving an old tv look. The game was violent yet also felt like it wasn't. Plus I really liked what you did with the boss fight. I just wish it was a little more than left or right and shoot as quickly as possible.

Otherwise well done on your first LD, you made a really good game :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]