Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Days at Florbelle

by kalinova - Jam Entry

Using the text from the Marquis de Sade's notes on his lost masterpiece The Days at Florbelle (the actual manuscript was burned by the police following his death, but half of the notebooks survived), this piece is a reconstruction of the lost novel, created in RPG Maker for the Playstation 1, a game that itself created countless lost works due to memory card corruption errors.

The memory card image file is attached as the source. Load this file as a memory card in a Playstation emulator and run an ISO (or original disc) of RPG Maker. There is a playthrough video on YouTube in case you can't get it to work: https://youtu.be/DaIVQy8kIWg

Game contains harsh language and sexual themes -- after all, all the text is taken directly from Sade's notebooks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#267Innovation(Jam)3.35
#372Humor(Jam)3.06
#416Mood(Jam)3.28
#588Overall(Jam)3.14
#613Fun(Jam)2.94
#703Theme(Jam)3.21
#1578Coolness41%

Comments

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:35am

It's a little difficult to test this one, but I appriciate the idea! :D

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:54am

I watched the youtube video at 200% speed just to follow the narrative. I did like the narrative but failed to see the challenge in this game. It was hanging on the monitor on the left and when I did take a glance the narrative was fine but nothing was really going on. The perverted things in the books are worth it tho, high humor rating from me.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:32am

Oh wow, I can't believe someone made a jam game using RPG Maker for PSX! This is impressive!
The game felt more like a novel than a game though. I know that using RM for anything more complex would have been quite challenging, but I felt bored after a while. Some kind of puzzle element would've made the experience much better. Still, very cool job! It's always very refreshing to see unusual entries like this :)

wesley werner says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:29am

Nice idea to base the game of de Sade. Reality has the real monsters! Difficult to test, but the gameplay video shows a lot of detail in the rooms to match the eerie texts.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Ok – first, huge respect for the idea. Then, huge respect for how you chose your medium – deeply artistic.

Watching your playthrough, I find it incredible how Sade's text mixed with the simple pixel art and sound effects gives a terribly disturbing feeling to the whole. Literally as if the castle were a metaphor for Sade's head in which monstruous scenes appear in textual bits.

*Applause*

cjke.7777 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:50am

Very nice idea, but way too hard to play

Anvil0008 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:03am

I watched the playthrough instead of playing, but it was pretty awesome. The text is REALLY disturbing but its hard to stop reading. It was cool what happened as you read the books. Good job overall.

Artefale says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Use RPGM too. Greate job :)

fdslk says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:00pm

I like what was done in there! Extremely well done :D

AsixJin says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 12:45pm

I wasn't expecting to have to dust off an emulator to play a game. For that reason alone you get a 5 for innovation. I'll let you know what I think!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]