Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

A-maze-ing Monster!

by BlackQuiltro - Jam Entry

### Changelog
- Added Linux and Windows 32 bits ports
- Fixed a typo preventing the game-over dialog to show

The brave warriors have fallen into a trap!
Escape before the monster catches you.

- First game jam for me. Great experience
- Happy with the result. Unfortunately. Sprite animations were borrowed. Everything else was done in home by my wife and nephews
- Use headphones for better experience!

ALL FEEDBACK IS WELCOME!!!! Even if you hated my game.

Goals:

-As a monster: catch a warrior (you will swap places)
-As a warrior: find the exit

Move with WASD or arrow keys

Hit "c" for action:

- As a monster: GROAARRRR!!
- As a warrior:drop fire. Could be useful if you want to leave a mark in the maze as a reference when you look for the exit.


- Made with GODOT
- Could not test on 32 bits Windows systems
- OSX port was also not tested ( I don't have a MAC). Please tell me if it works (or doesn't)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#306Mood(Jam)3.41
#341Innovation(Jam)3.26
#350Theme(Jam)3.67
#386Audio(Jam)3.11
#608Fun(Jam)2.95
#675Humor(Jam)2.53
#716Overall(Jam)3.00

Comments

x1212 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Really interesting concept!

Bocodillo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:52pm

The first time I heard the recorded voice effect (for the monster?) "WHERE ARE YOU?" I almost wet myself. The lighting and concept of switching characters is really neat too.

sergicollado says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:53pm

I like to mutch!, I love the sound and the concept.
I really enjoy it

blurryroots says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Creepy atmosphere. Had to giggle when i first pressed c as a monster ;)

SeaMonster131 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:26pm

The amosphere is cool, I like this creepy sounds too.

snarf says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Cool game! concept is interesting though switching of characters seem a bit weird... how do you progress? you can be proud of this for sure! if you need to develop it further, I would advice you to rethink the concept... back to prototyping ;p

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Damn it i am dumber than cumputer AI!

Nice hide and seek game!

wesley werner says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:55pm

I love maze games! The character switch mechanic is good, and the GROOOAR really fun and creepy. The mood is really good too. Nice game!

Thanks for providing native Linux builds :)

BlackQuiltro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Thank you all for the feedback! :)

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:15am

Pretty fun game with an interesting idea. Only thing I didn't like was that the soundtrack eventually got pretty annoying. Great job!

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:21am

The the base idea is interesting and it's well implemented. I had fun playing it but since the map doesn't change there is no motivation to play it some more. With random (or multiple) maps you could easily double the fun :)

I didn't get the warrior skill. It leaves a fire behind but it's not casting any light, so what use is it?

The audio loop seemed very short (or just repetitive, not sure). But it was pleasant enough and didn't annoy me. I actually liked the stereo effects.

Also I think it's cool that you involved your family. Pretty good entry for the first time.

Btw thanks for your detailed feedback on my game :)

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Good concept around the maz game!

Sparrow says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Fun game, well made!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Cool game, I love the atmosphere in this game great job

Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Nice game all around. Sound effects were great. Mood was great. If you explore this further, it could be interesting with many different levels (I get why there's only one for the jam, though). The music got repetitive very quickly. It always slightly annoys me in maze-type games if I can get caught on the edge of a corner, which is possible here. But those are mostly minor quibbles (especially the last one) and this was a different idea for a game and I liked it. Having to use the fire to mark your spot in case the monster caught you and you lost your place (oh, another slight idea for improvement, maybe have the teleport take the "new" hero slightly farther away from the monster, so you're more likely to lose progress, as I found many times I could very quickly catch the hero again...but that might not be too frustrating. Still, I'd say it's probably worth trying if you do anything like this again/continue with this one)

alyphen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Neat switching mechanic and smart mazes. The lighting was pretty neat. Actions don't seem to do all that much. Pretty hard to escape from the maze. Atmosphere was pretty dark, quite enjoyable.

redzero says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Nice Game!

hexagore says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Enjoyed exploring the maze but I didn't quite pick up on the idea of the different objectives for the monster and the human without reading the instructions. PS the OSX version worked perfectly for me!

BlackQuiltro says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:04am

Thanks for all of your feedback!
I would like to expand the concept for a more developed game with different maze ideas and all!
It has been great to participate in he jam so far.

NoWandStudios says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:44pm

We love the atmosphere! The game remind us a boardgame

radmars says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Nice atmosphere and interesting concept.

TackoramaLtd says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:37pm

I like the mood and the changing back and forth from monster to human.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Cool concept. The mood is superb. Would have been nice with some randomised levels, for some re-playability, or maybe different levels to go through or something.

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:23am

Liked the foggy effects that required me to piece together what the entire maze was like. That said, I was confused when the monster suddenly turned into a warrior on the opposite side of the map after roaring a lot. Was that supposed to happen? Either way, switching between these two character via tag was really cool as a gameplay mechanic, but also left me confused with the intent.

General says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:46am

Playing a maze game without seeing the whole maze is great! Also it's a great feature that the player would swap the sides (just add a few seconds before swapping the sides to help the players reorganize their minds).

Please, check the video of me playing and commenting: https://youtu.be/CEXUUzwEAa8
Your game is at 33:55

Oct 20, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Cool game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/t2uXuiSquSk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]