Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Frankenbunny

by Zoglu - Compo Entry

Instructions : Use the Arrow keys to move. Collect all carrots, avoid the villagers, and find the exit !

Play as Frankenbunny, an anthropomorphic half-rabbit half-human, in this outstanding (maybe) stealth game !
Frankenbunny was one created by a mad scientist and escaped to a peaceful village in a forest. But villagers didn't like him and tried to kill the poor Frankenbunny, so he decided to eat all of their carrots as a revenge !
Will you be able to discover the Golder Carrot Mystery?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#83Audio3.61
#122Overall3.69
#126Fun3.62
#135Mood3.58
#155Humor3.45
#241Graphics3.53
#254Theme3.71
#394Innovation3.12

Comments

Insality says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Awesome man!
i rly enjoyed this nice-sweet story about Frankenbunny (-mwa-ha). Great!
I will rate u later, after jam is ended :D
oh 10 golden carrots from 10

Zoglu says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Thanks man, loved your review :)

bogdanmaier49 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:01am

Really nice. One thing tho, the background music kind of annoys me (maybe just me). But great job anyways.

tuben999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:04am

Really neat game! :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:04am

Oh man, this game is adorable. I love it. The music is upbeat and not annoying, the gameplay is fun and engaging (I actually swore and paniced when I got spotted), and the story is swell.

Awesome game, good job!


At first I thought the FOV might be a bit to small, and make the game usually difficult, but I made it to the end. Having the enemies FOV be shorter than frankenbunny's was clutch!

uthamon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:08am

Cute and engaging, I like the field of view mechanic, reminds me of Teleglitch.

lanza says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:18am

Awesome story, the ending was amazing.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:20am

Cool game. Like how you have to lure the pitchfork guys away to get to where you want to go.

Indiestry says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:14am

Really nice. Few, but perfectly executet mechanics.

tweedle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:16am

Impressive stuff! Amazing that this was pulled off in 48 hours by one person.
Nicely done!

FieroNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:16am

Cool game, I like the pressure after you lure the townsfolk, but are you Frankenbunny or Frankenbunny's monster... dun dunnnn

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:26am

Love the music, graphics, and idea, also it's really competitive, this farmer has caught me few times :)

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:36am

Cool entry. Instead of most games, I felt empathy for the monster.
Nice graphics, music a bit repetitive though.
Good job!

ps Hahahaha the ending was very very very unexpected

NAL says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:49am

This is adorable! Loved the Metal Gear Solid motif going on, the game was simple to grasp but fun to play... lovely stuff!

DarthThomas says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Nice game.

Grouflon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:56am

HAHA this stroy !

JoseArias says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Wonderful game!!! I enjoyed the game a lot!!!! Nice audio.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:48am

Nice plot :)

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:51pm

A Good quality game. I liked it very much. And the music is nice, though a little repetitive. What did you use to make this music?

Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Great game! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ypxK5QAWPFI

Zoglu says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:26pm

I would like to thank everyone for this positive feedback on my entry :)
voidstar33 : I made the music with FL Studio, using the 8bit Magical plugin. Next time I'll try using Bosca Ceoil.

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Good simple game. Everything in it is decent and I can't think of anything that could be improved short of just generic 'more content'.

bigbuggames says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Great Compo! one of the most complete ones that I've played. Great implementation of fog of war alongside hide and seek.

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:10am

This game is quite awesome. It feels surprisingly finished and polished. I love the stealth mechanics, and how the simple fog of war handles all the darkness in a way it also becomes part of the challenge. My entry is also a stealth game with a different take to yours, so I know just how hard it is to implement stealth in such a time frame. So amazing work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]