Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Bumble's Quest

by jcourt - Jam Entry

Bumble's Snail has been stolen, and he has to get it back. NOTE: You have to play to the end of the game to understand how this fits the theme.

CHANGES:
I made another version that fixed a bug preventing the game from being winnable in some cases where villagers got stuck in houses and could not be shot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#609Humor(Jam)2.65
#961Overall(Jam)2.68
#966Mood(Jam)2.40
#969Graphics(Jam)2.24
#969Theme(Jam)2.66
#998Innovation(Jam)2.24
#1001Fun(Jam)2.33

Comments

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:21am

I completed the game! The controls were difficult (I kept overshooting where I wanted to point). You may want to consider giving the shots a shorter lifespan. I was able to sit back and snipe off a lot of the villagers without putting myself in any danger. Well done!

cudabear says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37am

Unfortunately this game isn't very engaging, because the combat is pretty dull. I have no reason not to hold down Z and X the whole time and just run around in circles. Did you mean to deploy with the character having 500 health? It seems like healing/getting hit only takes 5-10 health whereas 500 makes me feel invincible.

Your interpretation of the theme works well. The graphics are simple but in a stylized way, so they fit as well. Audio works well for the game even if you didn't make it.

TsN_RaMPaGE says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:14am

Enjoyed the little story to it :) Good work!

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:01am

I really am the monster. I started the game, yelled obscenities at my computer directed at grumble, only to be acurately defined at the end, nice work!

The game itself was a little weighted, I never felt fear of losing, and the last stage was the easiest since I had time to target the enemies since the level was vast. This game's strength was it's story, sweet!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Good job! I like the story. Turning with keyboard made aiming frustrating.

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:50pm

I liked the characters. A face on the sphere would have made it more artistic. The game is not very interesting though.

collaboration says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Looks nice, but sure it needs a lot of work, and better do not use 10 sec. loop - it really become annoying very fast.

zenmumbler says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:16pm

The direct camera control made aiming a bit hard but since Bumble has a wizard Tommy-gun it was still rather easy. I agree with the other comment that the player should probably have more like 50 HP. Though story-wise it shows you to be a true monster who is just killing hapless cylinder-sphere people, as a game having some tension is better. AI in LD games is hard to do, but even a simple but more aggressive run-towards-player-while-shooting tactic would have made it scarier. Still, a full setup from beginning to end. Well done.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:53pm

I finished the game and i liked the twisted ending :)
well of course it was a bit disengaging to go that far but it was nice, i liked it in the way it was meant to be played.
Anyway keep up the good work :)

General says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:27am

Yes, I am a monster :) Good story, the one downside which I encounter in many 3d-games is that it's difficult to aim prperly due to the camera location.

Please, check the video of me playing: https://youtu.be/BtVCl5-xRYo

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]