Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

SchoolMonster

by jcwelgemoed - Jam Entry

You are a monster! (In some cultures also known as the math teacher).

Calm the class before you lose your sanity by swiping your weapons of math instruction at unruly children.

Controls:
Mouse: Click on weapon, swipe and release in direction you want to throw.

For a first Ludum Dare this was good fun. Will be doing this again!

UPDATE:
Scaled down difficulty a bit as people commented it was too challenging.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#296Humor(Jam)3.23
#578Theme(Jam)3.39
#625Innovation(Jam)2.88
#773Fun(Jam)2.71
#950Mood(Jam)2.46
#961Overall(Jam)2.68

Comments

peecestudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Grade 4 there was a glitch where one student pushed the rest off the screen

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:29am

@peecestudios Thanks for letting me know. I will look into this as soon as I have some spare time.

Jajo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:15pm

certainly enjoyable. I believe I may have lost my sanity :D

boardtobits says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Nice take on the theme. Feels like the class gets wild a little too quickly, at least for the first level. But all in all and solid game, and not a typical entry!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Lol this was fun. Graphics are nice too.
Nice Entry

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Funny idea ! It took me some time to understand how it worked, I think you should let more time to try the mechanisms in the first level. It was a bit hard too, I only went to grade 2. But it's well done and funny :)

Reyn says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Sorry I couldn't figure out how to select my weapon. Is it the calk on the table ?

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:49pm

This was very hard game. Sometimes the "weapon" wouldnt hit the child for some reason o.o
Good idea for the theme :)

tGiant says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:56pm

It was difficult

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Little bit buggy, and not every click is taken, maybe it will be better with circles around the math stuff. good game played till grade 8.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:05pm

@Reyn: yes, the chalk, then later more appear
@AzureAspect: each weapon only works on certain type of child. but will look into it :)

@All: thanks for playing and rating :)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:12am

Didn't seem to work for me? I started in the classroom, there's some kids there, some emote speech bubbles appear above their heads, a couple of seconds later (seriously, there's 0:27 left on the clock, for whatever that's worth), they rush me, I go bouncing around classroom, and I get a message saying I lost. Tried WASD, arrows and clicking on stuff. Nothing seems to do anything.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Eheh funny entry :-)

Took me 3 restart to understand that I had to swap on the tool in order to throw it in a direction (despite the fact that I read How to play).

The concept is fun (and super illegal!) and the gameplay is okay, even if my whole arm is tens like hell now x)

The sfx when I hit a child is a bit irritating after a while, but the cartoon style explosion is very well made.

SKT says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Funny idea, but it was really hard, I didn't even know what to do and they all rushed at me ^^' Once I've understood how to play, I went to grade 2 but I've lost.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Thanks everyone. I scaled difficulty down a bit.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:46pm

It would have been great to hear the sound of voices of children talking, but the end result is very good.

Roboboy says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:54pm

I really liked this game! I would suggest maybe recoloring the main menu, I definitely had a hard time seeing my options. All in all I thought it was really fun and I loved throwing things at unruly children.

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Why does grades after around 8 last so short a time? I mean, I liked it - the game was getting a bit boring at this point - but still?

Also, at higher grades, the strategy becomes very simple: just spam weapons in every direction, occasionally switching from one to another. Due to high target density, there is no need to aid any longer :) It would be more challenging, if you were penalised, say, for hitting an innocent pupil or if there were some other constraints. But that would lower the frantic pace of the game, so maybe there is no need for that.

My mouse hand DOES NOT thank you for this little game.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Very cute game, was a little confused at first, and thought the controls would be wonky but ended up working ok! Not bad for your first Ludam Dare!

JamesTanm says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:06am

I really didnt understand how to play this. Maybe a bit more of a how to section on the controls might help

Moist says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:13am

That's a very cool idea! I just wish the controls were easier to use. Swiping mouse all over the screen gets tiring pretty quickly. I think changing weapons with keyboard and holding the mouse key to charge the throw would be much more fun.
I really liked the game though, good job!

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 2:38pm

ı liked the idea that showing math teacher as a monster. Good job :D

Oct 19, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Great use of theme!!! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/HYvDqXC_RQg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]