Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Unseen

by Wedge McCloud - Jam Entry

** There is a slight performance issue in the first download link, "Windows (w/ Music)". The load from the music causes a small freeze when starting a new game. If this causes any issues for you, download "Windows (No Music) instead. **

An unknown form of plant life has crept around the towns but only you, a dreaded necromancer in hiding, have noticed its spread. The townsfolk who believe you to be a monster of some kind now have only you to defend them... and they can't even know it.

Save the townsfolk without raising their suspicion by sending zombies you raise to attack the overgrowth. Send zombies to graveyards to snatch more corpses for you to use, but beware. If they become too suspicious, they will find you and stop you, no questions asked!

Controls:
Click on zombies or rituals on the left side to choose a command. When commanding zombies, left-click on an appropriate location on the map to send them there. Some are sent to graveyards or towns while others attack growth.

Right-click cancels a command. Hold right-click to move the camera.

Don't forget:
Summoning zombies and performing rituals requires corpses! Use zombies or rituals to gather corpses.

Turns:
When you cannot or simply wish to not take any more actions that turn, click End Turn. At the end of every turn, growths on the map grow stronger. If a growth hits 100, it spreads.

If you gain 100 Suspicion during a turn, the townsfolk become alerted and all Suspicion gained is doubled for 2 turns.

Winning and Losing:
You win by eliminating all growths on the map. You lose if all towns are destroyed or if your suspicion reaches 500.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#135Innovation(Jam)3.61
#276Overall(Jam)3.52
#306Mood(Jam)3.41
#409Fun(Jam)3.22
#637Theme(Jam)3.30
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:06pm

A quite difficult to enter into the game basic mechanics, not so easy to understand.
Btw After a while the game is enjoyable and smooth, a little bit challenging.
Nice and clean graphic, well suited audio.
Well done!

Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:04pm

I won ! I admire the fact that the game is complex yet very understandable, challenging and apparently well balanced :) Good job sir !

MHaton says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Interesting concept! Trying to keep the balance between growth and suspicion is extremely challenging

Xanjos says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:13am

Takes a while to understand since there's no tutorial but I like the concept. Actually found the best strategy (in my opinion) is to let the growth spread and split into smaller growths and use the option to take out 20% of it without raising suspicion.

Nurbs says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:59am

nice little strategy game. I didn't find it too hard, my strategy was to amass the max amount of bodies then use the Darkness ritual to summon a bunch of Flesh Golems without causing alarm.

Beanalby says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 12:18am

Always happy to see a strategy game in LD, nice mechanics once I figured them out. Could use some ramp up / introduction to avoid the instant "here ya go, 20 choices to make!"

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:18am

Great concept! Loved the management and strategy! Mood is great too! Maybe some darker colors? The only thing that I don't understand is why would I care about the townsfolk. I could just not save them and have more research material xp... Oh I also don't understand when a town is destroyed ^^;
Anyway great job!

andreiichim says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:28am

Great game. Impressive.
Cool story. Nice mechanics. Great art.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]