Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

SPACE JUNK

by pixelgriffin - Compo Entry

The best part about games is the big boss battle at the end. Why not play as that big boss?

SPACE JUNK is a shmup "bullet hell" where you play as the antagonist! Fight your way through waves of pissed off humans to justify your intergalactic actions!

Featuring a random generation tool that creates amazing bosses out of SPACE JUNK for you to play as! Review their stats, test them out, and then take them to war!

Fully audible, fully destructible, fully story-driven (kind of), space-bullet madness!

Don't let Earth make a fool of you, grab your SPACE JUNK and prepare for battle!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Be sure to extract the ZIP file or you will encounter a Java error!
Also be sure to have a recent version of Java installed on your machine!


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Written in Java using LibGDX!
Music composition using FL Studio!
Sound effects using SFXR and FL Studio!
Art using Graphics Gale!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*Contains some light swearing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#22Overall4.10
#28Fun4.02
#30Innovation4.05
#34Mood3.98
#36Humor3.96
#63Graphics4.14
#66Theme4.09
#96Audio3.57

Comments

EmanP says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:40am

This game is just so very satsifying... In gameplay, artstyle, the ultimate formation, everything.

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:10am

Why thank you!

DaleP says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:36am

Just the right level of challenging to be satisfying when you finally win. For some reason I really love the sound the beam weapon makes when it’s charging. Dialogue was wonderful both during the intro and throughout the game. 420 blaze it doritos no scope formation!

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:29am

OH MAN IT WAS AMAZING
i save your profile link to see you game, when i saw it's cool ship generation
as i expected, the game is amazing. Great, no words ;)

P.S. I love you too, haha

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Confusing at first, but cool after a while.

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Great and addictive. :)

Gil4 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:13pm

A Java exception has occured. :( Was looking forward looking at the comments, oh well.

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Gil, do you have a recent version of Java installed? Did you extract the ZIP file? It is necessary to extract it.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:24pm

This is incredible, very well executed idea, everything clicks! Excellent job!

Gil4 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Yeah, pixelgriffin, it was extracted, but I remembered I had to use java 1.6 for something else, so switching to 1.7 helped. Good job with the game, I love scroll shooters like this (well, this one isn't exactly "scroll"-ish, but you know what I mean). And it's also one of the most funny ones, I guess you intended it to place high in the humor category. :D

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Glad to hear it Gil! I'm so glad you liked it!

ReactorScram says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Good but like I said on IRC, the bullets move way too slow.

Also I didn't realize but is the blue orb the only vulnerable part? It's hard to tell whether I was taking damage.

I killed all the humans but I couldn't beat the boss cause my guns basically fire in random directions (and the humans had destroyed everything except one particle cannon, I started with two guns and two cannons)

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:00am

Your whole body is vulnerable for the most part, aside from the "bones" or pipes of the boss. You can generate and test out your character in the generation screen before you enter so you know what you're dealing with. Good feedback Reactor!

jackthedunn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:16am

Feels very well polished for the time restraint. Love the art direction, really reminds me of the ink blotches used in therapy. The random generation made each play through something special and the gun play felt pretty good too! All in all this game was hilarious and a fun shoot em up! 5 out of 5

Realize2D says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:37am

Really nice entry! Loved the idea.

trashmob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:00am

Love the art! :D Thank you for making it :D

Somfin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:01am

Worryingly solid. Like, how-did-you-do-this-in-just-48-hours solid. Good work.

djfariel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:16am

This game left me wanting more. Overall great. I have no complaints.

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:30am

This game is just too much awesome

daveh says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:32am

I love how it starts out super easy because you're so OP, but they keep coming and taking out your weapons one by one. Then you're left with one weapon at an awkward angle and you're huge so dodging is almost impossible, then it's suddenly super hard. Excellent!

Fantastic take on the theme, really funny intro, gorgeous art-style, good music, a true all rounder. Also loved how the managed to have the ship look cool even though it was generated.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:27am

This was awesome! The use of random generation was perfect.

yajiv says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:33am

My jaw literally dropped when i used the laser for the first time. This game is all sorts of amazing * u *

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:36am

Fucking fantastic. Nothing more to say.

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:37am

That was amazing.

ilikescifi says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:26pm

This is art!

alexrus07 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Really great, polished, amazingly fun game.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:09pm

I'm very impressed by the procedural generation of the boss ship. How did you do that in so little time? I really loved how you can try out you ship before you use it. Very innovative.

The game was really fun. Always appreciated a nice space shooter.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Man, the humans send out our whole armada over what amounts to basically a "your refrigerator is running" prank? We are dicks.

I REALLY enjoyed blasting the ships with the giant lasers, but the turret shots just seemed kinda pointless...they are small and really hard to hit anything with. Maybe if the shots were a bit bigger or they homed better or something, they would have felt more satisfying.

Also, I ran into a bug (on OS/X) where my controls got stuck moving down and went off the bottom of screen and I couldn't do anything or move back up/left/right. I tried pressing all the buttons and I ended up just having to restart.

Still, overall concept and gameplay is a solid 5/5. Not sure if you plan on expanding it in a post-compo version but I'm sure plenty of folks would be into it.

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:17pm

I definitely understand what you are saying wg_phancock. I've already got a fix in mind, but since it is not a bug I cannot update the game. Thank you for your kind words everyone!

andyman404 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:35pm

I loved this game. Those lasers kick earthling butt. Kudos on making the random boss generator - that adds a lot of replayability to the game. Well done!

conormn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Dear god yes! Thanks for making this :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Super cool. Loved the randomly generated ships - both in terms of the procedural appearances and weapon placement. Reminds me of Warning Forever, if you every played that early indie game! Great art, too, gives them a sort of ink-blot look.

I was able to beat Harcore - but only by exploiting the fact that you can fly off the top of the screen - where you can't fire the turrets, but it seems you can fire lasers? I generated a ship with a tonne of downward-facing lasers and did the whole thing that way.

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:54am

Shh Cake_Catastrophe!

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:09am

It's really satisfying playing as a big boss ship. The random generation is nice and helps replay value. I can't help but feel that it wouild be better with faster bullets.

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:43am

I agree Cory, this has been brought up a few times. However, since it is more of a design flaw than a bug I cannot fix it in this entry!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:40am

So, so satisfying.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:52am

Loved the ship generation aspect. I could spend all day generating ships :) I loved how satisfying it felt finally being the boss in those infuriating bullet hell games. And I loved how as time went on in the game, after losing so much of your weaponry it went back to being a real bullet hell game. Also hilarious dialogue. Awesome game!

walsh9 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:52pm

I really love the look of the random ships.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Really great. Very impressive. The delay on the 2nd attack seemed to be a bit much, and didn't really seem to be doing that much more damage, and some of the sounds were a bit grating, but overall a very good job.

Erkberg says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Very awesome game! Love the visual style, the music and sound effects and the humor. The gameplay is very interesting and works well, at the end I only had my lasers left, slowly losing more and more systems was great. Really the only complaint I have about this one: Using z and x together on a qwertz layout keyboard is just painful, please provide alternative inputs next time.

berkano says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Seriously impressive! Crunchy graphics, great mechanics and fun to play, nice job!

nassi says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:08pm

My 14 laser 2 turret warship of doom annihilated the hardcore mode. During my first game I tried to use the lasers as a special weapon of sorts and they were incredibly satisfying like that. In my second game I just kept spamming them which took a bit of the joy out of them.

Cool aesthetic and procedural generation all around. The gameplay portion was pretty simple, but it had a nice amount of variation in it so it didn't get stale.

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 11:52am

Awesome!!~~ This game!~

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]