Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Drama in Space

by Teekeks - Compo Entry

Drama in Space is a spaceshooter.

What do you do?
=====================
You are a evil spacefighter and you have alot of careless traders around you.
Attack them to get terror-points, which you can use to unlock new weapons!
Currenty, there are 10 unique upgrades, 8 of them are (sometimes veeery unique) weapons.
But be careful! Some traders have weapons too and will fight back!
As you proceed, the unarmed traders will call for help, so be careful.
Armed traders might also spot you and identify you as a threat...
Some weapons have an area of effect, others are ranged weapons, experiment with them!
Some traders drop health, use it to stay alive!

The goal:
=====================
The goal is to survive as long as you can and to slauther as much traders as you can.

Controls:
=====================
W -Acellerate
Scroll or 1-8 Change Weapon (when unlocked)
E - Switch Engine (if unlocked)
Mouse - Aim
Click - Shoot selected weapon
F12 - Take screenshot

POST YOUR SCORES! (and time and kills/minute)

Changelog:
=====================
1.0.1:
- Fixed random crash when displaying a explosion and/or blackhole
- Fixed broken gui when window resized

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#82Fun3.76
#249Audio3.18
#322Overall3.29
#485Mood2.98
#578Innovation2.82
#599Humor2.40
#636Graphics2.75
#898Theme2.24

Comments

OccamsRazor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:27am

Phenomenal! Couldn't stop playing this one! I particularly liked the Black Hole grenades :P I think this one was really well polished, especially in the mechanics.

TimWright says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:29am

I think some of the weapons are really cool. Not sure how this fits with the theme though.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:30am

The game crashed for me after a short time. The game was fun and interesting while it lasted, though!

psyduckfreak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:33am

Black Hole generator the best hope that is never a thing.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:47am

a bit simple, wished the difficulty rose along with you (if it did I didn't notice)

Teekeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:47am

TerraCottaFrog what system are you on? Do you have the latest java update installed?

Teekeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:48am

ramantinsanity: it does a bit, but not enouth I gues, no matter how far you are progressed, the allert-rage dramaticaly increases with time.

Korso says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

Love the omnidirectional weapon, but almost all of them are great!

cgmorton says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:50am

Did you have to set the terror requirements so high? It took me ~5 minutes to unlock the laser, at which point the game starts to get interesting.

I'd make the starting engine stronger as well, its acceleration is barely noticeable. And why not loop space? At one point I found myself at -15000, -9000 and it took me ages to figure out how to find the game again.

Fun game overall though. I eventually died to an ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException but still.

Teekeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:04am

I made the requirements so high since you can reach the 100 terror points for the first laser in ~10 seconds and since the points you get is scaled to the damage you does, it is quite easy to unlock them all. With a good blackhole grenade you can easily make ~1k terror points (which is intended since killing ships with blackholes is quite terrifeing)

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:55am

Black Hole grenades :]

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:28am

Great game! Seems to take too long to kill anyone with the basic laser though (which I had to play twice to unlock, since it crashed before I get there the first time). I actually had to restart in fun mode and use some of the more powerful weapons to make sure I could blow up the other ships. The weapons are cool though and except when it crashes it's fun.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Very very cool game, well polished and easy and fun to play. Mechanics are well done and very clear:D Weapons are intense. Great work

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Very cool and addictive! Play my space game it's not as good but yea.

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=38857

Teekeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:41pm

AdenMansonGames oh, I already did ^^

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:53pm

I started by playing this on the standard "hard" mode and quickly decided that the progress towards unlocks was happening a bit too slowly for my taste. Maybe it was just unclear how to score a lot of fear points, but I was progressing very slowly with the starting magnet.
I switched over to fun mode to check out all the weapons, instead, and they're pretty cool! I really liked the spinning blade - it was a little unclear at first, but I had a great time tearing into ships once I figured out it was a ramming weapon.

Somnium says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Loved the game! The drastically different ship weapons reminded me a bit of of Star Control. Excellent work!

Kaev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Sometimes the game is crashing, i'm on Windows. Newest version of Java
But i really liked the game and the weapons overall!

KingGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Amazing! This game was outstanding. It used the theme well, it had good graphics, and the sounds were outstanding!

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:31pm

I had loads of fun playing with the different weapons.

Frozen Ninja says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Well done. very clean and surprisingly polished game play. simple graphics and a nice ambient song. Good job! :)

kles4enko says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:52pm

I like this one! Play for 10 minutes, and got an error:
andrei_kleshchanka@ii8-laptop:~/Downloads/temp/LD33_entries> java -jar drama_in_space_1.0.jar
Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: 6
at de.teawork.ld33.particle.ParticleExplosion.render(ParticleExplosion.java:35)
at de.teawork.ld33.particle.ParticleProvider.render(ParticleProvider.java:40)
at de.teawork.ld33.screens.ScreenIngame.render(ScreenIngame.java:126)
at com.badlogic.gdx.Game.render(Game.java:46)
at de.teawork.ld33.SpaceGame.render(SpaceGame.java:80)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:215)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:120)


)))

Teekeks says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Thanks for the crashlog, I finaly can may fix the bug since I was not able to reproduce it. will look into it.

Teekeks says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Updated the post with a bugfixed Version. If you want the original one (for some reason) you can get it here:
Game:
http://data.teawork.de/LD33/drama_in_space_1.0.jar
Source:
http://data.teawork.de/LD33/LD33_Drama_in_space_1.0_src.zip

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:03am

Super fun... I was missing some WASD strafing though :) I like the idea of build a basic mechanic and adding all the weapons too. I would have liked to see some other types of ships w/ different properties. All in all one of the better compo entries...

MicroMacro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:06am

This game was really good. The physics were nice and the gameplay was good as well. Nice job!

jofra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:07am

i think its broken ( at least for me ) i couldn´t shoot or aim :s .
but the graphics looked very clean and nice.

Teekeks says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:11am

ponywolf: thanks! iw was planed to have other upgrades too (you have a engine upgrade already in the game and the system for upgrades is full modular) but I didnt had the time, will continue to work on this game tho. strafing was missed by purpose, if you only have a backwars thruster, how would you strafe in space? ^^
That is btw also the reason why there is no max speed, you could just accelerate forever (but that would be no fun since the victims are not everywhere)

Teekeks says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:12am

jofra you start with a non-shooting weapon, you start with a stun-magnet.
You can try all weapons in the Fun-Mode where you already have every upgrade unlocked tho.

mariti says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:46am

gg. I liked the guns!

el-pepi says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:02am

Pretty cool game. At first it took a little too long to get a new weapon, but once I got them, the game got better. Leaving a black hole in the middle of a bunch of ships felt great. And the music is really good.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:54am

I loved that you had so many weapons to play with! They were all unique and it was fun flying through space toying with each one. Great job!

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:34am

I think the unlocks progress too slowly. The basic laser is especially weak and it's not very fun to use and I gave up before unlocking anything else and it's really difficult early on. It's better to have a lot of enemies with low health than a few enemies with a lot of health. This game has a lot of enemies with a lot of health.

It's good that fun mode is there because at least I could try out the weapons, which were nice. I like how the lasers consist of small "particles". It makes them more interesting to use than if they were just straight lines.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Good job, love the grenade launcher! :)

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:23pm

A fun game this is. The graphics are pretty simple, but the music is really nice. The gameplay was very enjoyable, though it would've been cool to have some more enemy types. Controls work well, but I had somehow expected that the advanced engine would enable you to thrust backwards, which unfortunately it didn't. I stopped playing at around 12k points, because the way to the next unlock at 20k seemed to be taking pretty long. The unlock mechanics and the different weapons are a very nice progression. A very nice game overall, good job!

Manky says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:09am

Pretty good game! Item balance needs some tweaking and it's hard to tell where you are in relation to the enemies. Otherwise, lots of fun! Good job!

Shaw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:20am

Great variety of weapons, lots of fun, simple but effect graphics. Excellent work.

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:39am

Awesome! I really liked the omni-directional lazer.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Teekeks says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 1:06am

Thanks all for the great votings! I am currently working on massive improvements.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]