Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Entries

by MechaTofuPirate - Jam Entry

Dark Entries is Twine game about a woman who has just recently been turned into a vampire and is just trying to figure out how to survive during one night in 1986. This is both my first Ludum Dare game and my first Twine game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#381Mood(Jam)3.32
#418Theme(Jam)3.59
#755Humor(Jam)2.32
#812Overall(Jam)2.89
#850Fun(Jam)2.62

Comments

Mathstr0 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

Great game!

ziege says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Well written. I enjoyed it quite a bit.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:56pm

I liked the "toy with him" part, fits very well with the theme!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:42am

Great Game. I enjoyed seeing what was going to come next.

I did get into a stint where I didn't have any choices, other than that, great game.

van noctar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:18am

Why not, the logic good working.

You could put images with the text. :)

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:24am

Didn't get it, sorry

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:32am

Very good for the ratings, I've played through the whole thing even though it looks much more suited for the female public. The part where you mentioned the club was "bitchin'" got a kick out of me :)

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:33am

Very disturbing! It was a well written story. Good job.

defacid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:55am

This excellently captured the theme, and the story was solid, but I wish that there was more GAME to it. Each of the decisions were essentially one of two extremes to choose from and I would have liked to feel like I had more options and more control.

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:03am

Loved it, got my attention from the beginning to the end :)

BaseCase says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:55pm

I liked it! I don't play a lot of Twine games so I'm not sure what the field overall is like, but this had some nice moments. Good humor and the chase scene was exciting too :)

lkpridgeon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:43am

A nice game/interactive novel with great writing.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:59am

Well written.

Ershany says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:51am

This game gave off a really good mood :) Writing is good!

echokain says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Really well written, good job!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:34am

Very well written! Extremely immersive & quite dark! Would be nice to see some branched endings or further story - this is really great for your first Twine game!

mubox says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:12am

Very nice text. ^^

BlackQuiltro says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Very well writen and captures the theme well. For me it needed more options and branching to make it more fun. It was too linear.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]