Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster House

by Korso - Compo Entry

In Monster House, you guide the people entering in your own Terror House. People are scared of monster, so you can place them in the House to flee the visitors to the exit. Extra points to find the secret chest, and for scaring visitors even more using bats, coffins and ghosts.

- Tutorial available
- 5 Levels
- Difficult (I hope)
- Click F for fast ;)

The rules are pretty simple: the visitors move straight and turn clockwise when they encounter an obstacle. If they see a monster (up, down, left or right, and not blocked by any obstacle), they run away in the opposite direction, so you can "push" the visitors down putting a monster above then.

Now, there is two differents monsters: the green ones and the red ones. If the visitors run away from a green monster, they turn clockwise when they reach the next obstacle, BUT if they see a red monster, they will run counter-clockwise in next obstacles.

Using these rules, you will have to guide the visitors to the exit, but if you scare them forcing them to pass by the "traps" (ghosts, coffins...), you'll earn more and more points! So place carefully your monsters to get the highest score!


-- Technical Info --

This is my first Jam -and also my first finished game-. For the record, I've used:

+ GameMaker for programming. I wanted to use Löve2d, but I have more confidence with GM for now.
+ Piskel for creating sprites. Great program. I discovered it during the compo.
+ Paint.NET for image editing.
+ SFXR to generate some sound effects.
+ Audacity to record and edit the rest of the sound. No time for music in this jam :(

Update: I've submitted a post-morten (linked below)


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#218Innovation3.41
#261Graphics3.48
#268Overall3.39
#387Fun3.13
#544Audio2.52
#614Theme3.15
#623Humor2.34
#665Mood2.67

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:50am

Great lil game :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:00am

cool game, I liked the pixel art, I would of enjoyed a fast forward button though because I felt too much time was spent just watching for it to be very enjoyable, cool concept though!

FerraWare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:02am

Really cool, one of the best i've seen today

Pros:
-Adorable art style
-Really polished

Cons:
-Somewhat difficult at the beggining

VampyVampire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03am

challenging for sure!

Korso says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:14am

@rampantinsanity

There IS a fast mode, just click F in for activate it in the level! (as I wrote in the tutorial ;)

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:15am

The character never seemed to walk the way I thought he would. It made it a bit frustrating at times. I liked the pixel art and what sound there was.

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:15am

This game is really hard.

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:06am

Those graphics are just adorable.

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:11pm

The game is pretty complicated, but polished and well done. I liked the art and the pretty innovative gameplay.

kingpirux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:29pm

i like the graphics and the idea, it could be more interactivity during the play, also a "run" button to speedup could be really great :).

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Quite challenging, but the idea of placing monsters is cool!

pighead10 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Great concept, polished game. Not sure if it's my lack of sleep but I couldn't even complete the tutorial levels. Going to try again when I'm more awake.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Very cool idea, great concept!

daveh says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Great game and very complete. The art is excellent and the mechanics is robust.

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:29pm

I couldn't drag the monsters in Level 1: Red Code.

Korso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:34am

@AlariSilver

Maybe you played it and after that not restarted -clicking stop button-?

The game block any movement of the monster once you hit play and until you hit stop to prevent 'cheating'.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Nice game with cute little mechanics. :)

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:08am

Fun game, but I wish you could make the kids run faster.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Looks good but I can't find the web version.

randoman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Nice puzzle game! Took me a while to get used to it, but once I did it was very enjoyable.

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:15am

nice game! Overall there are some tough puzzles in there. I was able to freeze it by putting a red monster above the guy and a green monster below the guy in the same column so the guy didn't know where to go.

I do think since the game is built around trying a level over and over again, maybe if there was a things to speed things up or if the levels were built smaller so that things happen faster and are a bit easier to parse. Other than that good job!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Good puzzle game! I like the graphics and the concept!

Tselmek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Pretty solid puzzle mechanics that would need some tweaking here and there. After playing I still didn't quite get how the monsters affect the kids' paths. Great entry nonehteless.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]