Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Scream Factory

by Jwgk - Jam Entry

Had way less time than I thought I would this weekend. Ended up missing the Compo deadline and not implementing a bunch of features. But hey, it was still tons of fun!

You play as THE monster, the big boss of your own scream factory. Hire employees of various breeds and send them on missions to level them up and earn yourself screams. Use screams to buy upgrades and increase types of monsters available on the free market.

Each monster has 3 stats, strength, agility and willpower. The higher their skill the higher the chance they have of succeeding on a mission of that type.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#318Innovation(Jam)3.29
#644Theme(Jam)3.29
#884Graphics(Jam)2.56
#968Overall(Jam)2.67
#1082Fun(Jam)2.00
#1796Coolness35%

Comments

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Really cool idea!

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Pretty nice, monster manager! Good job :D

anjack says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:18pm

I like this kind of minigame. The implementation was good, but the controls were unclear.

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:52am

Cool idea!

Multiplexor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Good game! It's interesting the idea of monster management! Also nicely implemented!

Some sounds of particle effects would be a great addition :)

boardtobits says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Interesting idea. I couldn't really work out how to activate missions, but it looks cool.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:54pm

I like the concept but everything was a bit overwhelming to learn.

superfluous says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:40pm

I liked the idea, but I had a hard time figuring out how to make the missions work. With some refinement, this could be a good "optimize to make numbers get bigger" game.

darklightteam says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:58am

Interesting concept, but activating missions was difficult to understand, or maybe buggy, or just unclear. That was frustrating man! :(

ALobker says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:17am

After clicking endlessly, I magically accepted a mission, but could not reproduce the result.

If you are going to develop this concept further, I would suggest color coding the stats.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]