Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

FEED YOUR KIDS YOU MONSTER!

by Askbackwards - Jam Entry

FEED YOUR KIDS YOU MONSTER!
You are a savage monster that haunts the unsuspecting city.
Or are you.....
No, you are a father of three trying to provide for your family
Composed of flesh eating babies
That's not so bad is it?

>>>Click the little ? in game for instructions on how to play!<<<

*AD: Move Left and Right
*Space: Jump
*E: Interact with doors and light switches
*To gather a human simply run into them!
*Avoid the light, it kills!
*To use a charged jump increase the multiplier using LCtrl then press the Space bar to jump.
(hint: you can go over buildings)


ChangeLog:
-Fixed a bug that allowed you to jump out of the map


Author's Note:
Hi! Thanks for trying out my game! It's my second game, and my first Ludum Dare. This whole experience was tons of fun, and I was able to learn so much about unity and the game making process. Thanks Again!

Audio, Concept, and some Graphics: Dawson G
Programming, Design, and rest of Graphics: Jerod D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#572Audio(Jam)2.61
#595Humor(Jam)2.67
#804Theme(Jam)3.05
#846Innovation(Jam)2.58
#903Fun(Jam)2.53
#963Mood(Jam)2.42
#965Graphics(Jam)2.25
#1015Overall(Jam)2.58
#1668Coolness39%

Comments

Saf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:12am

Please fix the controls, or give some information on how to play. Unable to get past the first screen. btw unless Dawson G and Jerod D are the same people, this is not a Compo entry in my experience.

Askbackwards says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Sorry, the version on the Ludumdare website seems to not work, but the web link does.

And it is a jam entry not a compo entry

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:24pm

I colud put an how to play in description screen, it would help ;)

Askbackwards says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Thank you for the feedback! Updated and ready to go!

humbleness says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:32pm

I felt this game fit the theme really well and it was fun to play

Simple but fun :D

increpare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:38pm

the fullscreen button doesn't work for me on safari/osx.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:41pm

The controls for the missions could have been more fluid to make the missions more fun to play. I liked the idea and it wasn't as simplistic as some of the games entered into the jam.

Kubees says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Well, for a few first starts it won´t switch the lamp off, bur after it did, it plays well! Gotta run, want to know, what happen, when my children start to starw!

Askbackwards says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Thank you all for playing! Sorry I wasn't able to test it on Linux/Mac computers so I'm not sure of the compatibility.

10UpCrew says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Liked the use of the theme, but the controls felt a little bit floaty and the game could use a tutorial level of some sorts. The first house is made more difficult by the lightswitch operating a light on the other side of the house - that the switch wasn't workig at first.

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:37am

game didn't work for me

Askbackwards says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Updated again, just went to kongregate, works fine there.

justinooncx says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:39am

A very interesting game! I'm not sure whether it was intended or not, but failing a mission really felt like I was a monster for not feeding my children. The controls are rather floaty, though, and more often than not I wouldn't stop in time. Also, I can jump as many times as I want, which means I don't use the Shift+Ctrl function to change the jump charge.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 2:39pm

It seems that the light switch doesn't work, so I can't pass the first light... Nice effort though.

Askbackwards says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:15pm

The first switch turns off the light on the other side of the building :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]