Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Mangiato

by Acerio - Jam Entry

Mangiato is Italian for "eaten". And is pronounced "Manjato"

Mangiato is a very difficult game about reaction time. There are no patterns in the enemies like normal games, and there is no tutorial. You have to mess around, and be able to react fast! You take the role of a guy made out of sauce, and weird objects around the levels seemingly throw meatballs at you.

Mangiato is about you discovering yourself inside a dream, and to plant revenge on yourself for evil actions you have committed in real life. What have you done in real life?

All contents were made in under 48 hours, but we submitted to Jam because I had someone do the music, which by the way, is amazing! Yes, all of the content is from scratch and were made during the process.

This game is very hard and gives vibes of Meat Boy. A continued version of this game will release hopefully soon.

The design is weird, I know, but weird is cool, right?

Credits:
Acerio (Preston Cammarata) - Art + Programming (http://prestoncammarata.tk)
.:A-MAN:. - Music + Sounds (http://shadelessstudios.t15.org)

Questions:
Any questions, please ask on Twitter @aceriocam or email at aceriocam@yahoo.com or prestotron7@gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#287Audio(Jam)3.33
#317Fun(Jam)3.36
#431Overall(Jam)3.32
#494Mood(Jam)3.16
#534Graphics(Jam)3.38
#685Humor(Jam)2.51
#850Innovation(Jam)2.57
#959Theme(Jam)2.69

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18am

I found the first level to jump dramatically in difficulty. The vertical shaft just after the first checkpoint seems to be far too tall to traverse using the character's double jump. I was unable to progress any farther than that, I'm afraid.

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:49am

You can wall jump, and time your wall jumps too.

Arg410 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:17am

I feel like this would a be a game you would see all the Youtuber raging over!! Great fun

krasus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:20am

Quite intense, overall pretty fun.

Korso says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:24am

Reminds me to VVVVVV more than SMB, frequent checkpoints and aestetics. Good game, but can be much better with more polishing in control & camera. I've seen just before completion that it's only a prototype, so keep going!

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:00am

Thanks all! The goal was it to be VERY hard.

bodsey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:24am

Looks nice, but there isn't a Mac version :(

whalebot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:32am

Holy meatball maneuvers batman. That was some punishingly tricky platforming. Took me a bit to figure out I could wall jump. Instead I would try and clip my head in the wall to get another double jump :D

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:33am

I played all level and it was real fun! would play again

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:35am

Art style like a itch.io game... Forgot the name...
The controls, the wall jumps, the text over heads, the changing colors, there are great. Personally pick!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:05am

haha, yes it is weird, cool weird. I loved this! Everything was spot on. Only downside was that sometimes you would keep dying on a checkpoint or spawn without getting to do anything. Other than that this is a great game! Looking forward to the continued version!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:53am

Nice artstyle

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:38am

Can you upload a mac version, please?

NebulaOrbit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:44am

Very good game, but I got spawncamped alot. I don't think meatballs disapear when you get teleported back to spawn. Once you know the proper input the controls are really smooth.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Hard to do wall jumps! Fun graphics. Liked the music.

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:14pm

I'll try for a Mac build.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Game was fun. Difficult to read the text, I wanted to know what was being said but I was always in a rush and the difficulty not very balanced. However, the game was very enjoyable challenging, and never frustrating, you were just back to the beginning of the level which was nice. and the music and art were a nice touch. good job.

Komradus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Really difficult, but a lot of fun. Sadly I just couldn't seem to get past some of the earlier levels so I'm not sure what's going on with those meatballs...but one day I'll find out!

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:24pm

This would be hilarious on YouTube, seeing people rage on it. <3 Also, I need a Mac for a Mac build, so I can't do that. Someone comment if they have a Mac and a Professional copy of GM:Studio, and I'll send you the source to compile if you're interested.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:50pm

I find the graphics quite adorable and you successfully maintain an exciting and often intense atmosphere throughout the game.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:03pm

hey, I came back after you told me about wall-jumping and found the game to be quite fun past the first level! My advice to you is to always try to teach a player new mechanics when they are in a safe environment. Having to learn about wall-jumping is a reasonable goal, but having to learn it for the first time while also dodging meatballs for the first time feels overwhelming.
I think the other issue with how walljumping is introduced is that there is nothing in-game to suggest that the player has that capability. If the character squished up against a wall a little bit when the player presses against it, that would help to visually suggest that the character is getting ready to spring off of that wall.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11pm

This was adorable. I really felt for the monster being hunter especially after dying so many times.
My favourite detail was the platforms how they had the moving fur and changing colour. It was a nice touch.

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:20pm

I think it's not perfect (some collision problems) but it was fun to play, the music was good and it was challenging but not frustrating. (but it was hard to read the texts with all the things to dodge...) Anyway, well done!

Zupoman says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Wasn't as hard as description says. I like the graphics, also the music is nice. Was fun to play. The text was visible for too short time sometimes though and the same messages repeated, making not much sense to me, not sure if that is intentional.

Gigaraptor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:20pm

looks great, I think that thing that shoots brown balls fires them too quickly. then again, I am terrible at platformers

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:39pm

The graphics and audio are nice, but this must be one of the strangest games I played this Ludum Dare. Also, dude, you shouldn't develop games when you're THAT hungry.

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:52pm

This is a hard game, but if you pay close attention to how the meatballs are shot and where they can and cannot land, it's beatable. (but still really hard)

VDZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:59pm

A nice little platformer. It doesn't really do anything special, but it's fun for a while. The controls feel a little floaty, though, which IMO doesn't really fit platformers in which you're mostly dodging things. I consider the comparison to Super Meat Boy to be preposterous as this game is rather easy.

I liked the graphical style and the audio was simply excellent. I felt the link to the theme was extremely weak, present only in a tacked-on story and being hard to justify even there (they hate me -> therefore I am a monster? That's quite the leap of logic there).

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:03pm

VDZ- It's supposed to be a vague story, with just small references and hints to the theme. Read the description for a better understanding. And everyone seems to have a very hard time with the game. Hmm..

VDZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:07pm

@Acerio
I did read the description (I always read the description before playing to judge). My point was that the game wasn't based on the theme and even the way the story implements the theme feels awkward (he is a monster because...why exactly? What did he do to deserve being considered a 'monster', despite apparently feeling immensely guilty about whatever it was?).

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:05am

The controls were really tight which made the game very enjoyable. It was also a nice little art style. Good entry!

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:23am

Nice difficult platformer with a cool story.

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:11am

@VDZ
You also do realize it wasn't heavily influenced on actual monsters. I focused on Google's definition of monster. Which you should check out :)

I talked about in IRC and everyone agreed that it was a good way to go about the theme without straight up being a monster. It's not really the traditional monster that eats people and shit. Because that's not the definition of "monster" according to Google.

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:15am

@VDZ
And despite not really being "evil", I did hint it a bit in the extremely vague story. It's a very vague and weird story, and apparently a lot of people enjoyed that it was weird. But I tried very hard not to make it a game that was about your stereotypical "monster". A monster is not a villain, though can be referred as one in most cases

alexrus07 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:16am

Great game with an old-school challenge. Looks, sounds and controls quite well. Difficulty can become just a tad unbearable at times due to the random aspect of the game. Good job!

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:45am

Great game! Could use a little more mechanics and a more consistent difficulty progression. Good job though, keep developing it!

Vaida says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:27am

Very hard to get the first few levels right! I had trouble with timing the jumps and the wall jumps. However, the audio is awesome, and I enjoyed the narrative bits. I think you were able to nicely insert story and give depth to a game that is action-packed. Good job! :)

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:39am

Graphics are simple but efficient. The music is cool. The game is super harsh but i think theres is a bit a frustration in it. I mean respawning directly after being hit is a good thing but when you fall it takes too long. I found out that you could double jump after a long time. Maybe put the controls in the description ?
Also I find that the ennemies lacks a pattern, making it to progress when you do the level for the umpfteen time. Good job anyway ;D

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:54am

I posted a hint in the description that you can double jump and wall jump because some people did not get that. I also posted a walkthrough video that some random guy made, in case someone needs some help figuring out how to do it.

ironleonem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:00am

Over all, a very solid title. I had a lot of fun playing your game, and had only a couple of critiques.

Pros:
Fun game mechanics
Solid iteration between levels
Smooth difficulty curve

Cons:
1. Your levels should completely reset on death. Sometimes when I started a level, I got shot with two meatballs, sometimes one, sometimes not at all. With skill based gameplay, it's important to give the same challenge every time your player begins.

2. Your controls are a little... floaty, I think is a good word. Basically, the controls feel inconsistent.

Those being said, I would buy a full version of this game. Excellently done.

Wevel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:17am

Wow that's difficult, the projectiles shouldn't stay when you die to stop you from dying the instant you spawn.

VDZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:23am

@Acerio
I understand what you were trying to do. If the game was about Adolph Hitler having a nightmare about being in a concentration camp, a dictator being chased by his army, or a loan shark being attacked by his money and the poor people he got into debt, I would have liked the interpretation of the theme.

The big issue here is that we are only directly told it's supposed to fit the theme. ("He later realizes it's because of his actions in real life that made him seem like a "monster", and he was giving revenge on himself as punishment in a dream.") However, it has little relation to the game's actual events; he could just be having a random nightmare for no reason, or he could be punishing himself for overeating. How do you get self-punishment from avoiding meatballs in a dream world? Why assume he's a monster when there's nothing in the game remotely hinting you towards that (other than a direct statement 'oh yeah, he's a monster').

For higher theme scores, I also expect the gameplay to be related to the theme. Why did you go with a platformer focusing on avoiding projectiles to represent a monster punishing himself? For an obvious example of gameplay inspired by the theme, in Last Chance for Bernie (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=49432) the game mechanics were chosen specifically to reflect the options and objectives enemies in the Mario series have. Your mechanics, on the other hand, seem like they're chosen just because you wanted to make a platformer or because you're best at making platformers. As a result, you could almost always make it 'fit the theme' by just replacing a couple story lines; for LD32 you could argue the meatballs are unconventional weapons, for LD30 you could argue he entered a parallel dimension, for LD29 you could argue he found a magical area underground (or that it takes place in his subconscious), and so on. The game has so little to do with the theme that they can be cleanly separated.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:32am

Very fun game. Awesome

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:33am

@VDZ
I suppose you're right, but that argues against my point of it being vague.

My point of it being about Google's definition of monster still stands. Here, I'll copy and paste it for you.

an imaginary creature that is typically large, ugly, and frightening.

My character is a parody of Meat Boy, who's name is Sauce Boy. The meatballs are just a joke my friend came up with, because Spaghetti. You could just ignore that. But being a character who's weird looking (ugly) and mythical makes him a monster, by definition.

I totally get where you are coming from, and you are right, I could have done MUCH better in the theme section. Thank you for your input, and I will know this for next time. I just went by my own interpretation, the example you argued about was just a small section I did just because, even though that wasn't what I was going for.

Thanks though, I really appreciate it :o

nicso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:42am

cool little game overall.
A couple of basic tweaks tho :
- rocks are REALLY too dark since you have a dark background
- checkpoints in general should be safes spots
- the camera is maybe a bit too close

Lunar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:58am

Great game =]
Once you understand how walljumping works, it becomes fun.
Could use a quick tutorial or some kind of animation for clarity.
(also, pressing r shouldn't reset the level to the start, but to a checkpoint!)

Chrisp196 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Really enjoyed the game, quite fun. A few pieces of constructive criticism I would like to add include the following: 1) Spawn Killing. On some levels, you can be killed upon spawning, maybe you could add some sort of short delay after spawning to prevent this? 2) When you walk into a block left or right your jump function is being activated. Possibly a simple fix. Great game though ^_^ like it a lot.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Nice game, the atmosphere is greatly done and the levels are progressively hard, but sometimes a bit unfair :P

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Great graphics :D I like how instead of choosing "Hard red", the reddest red, you chose a much softer one, giving a new level of graphical detail. Nice game

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:29pm

The first version had solid red. :P

@Flygamer101

euske says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Nice suspense story.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:27pm

This game was a lot of fun! The controls feel tight, the platforming is intense and it's great that you added so many awesome levels!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Tough to control, but a cool look!

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:01pm

The meatball turret timing is a little strange, and doesn't reset when you respawn, which can get annoying. Good entry overall though :)

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:51pm

I know that turret thing. I plan on resetting turrets when a checkpoint starts for the full release. Or maybe just have a timeout for the player, so nothing can hurt you for a second.

Not sure which, but I definitely know of the issue.

rudra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:06pm

This was awesome. Though it was pretty hard for me, but it is definitely one of the best I played. Good Job.

Insality says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:23pm

The graphics and art style are awesome!
great job was done and a nice game as a result!

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:53am

Sucks people are not getting your take on the monster thing, personally I like it. My game was a little too vague for people as well. I guess its asking a lot for people to think outside the box a little.

Acerio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:38am

:) I'm glad you understand. I'll check out your game.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:16am

I like the soundtrack! The plot was a little bit hard to understand, though.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:10am

It's a very well planned game design. It's not that difficult if player keep running even after death. It think you must keep level not reset after death.

Shaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:36am

I really like the way the level changes colour, The gameplay and mechanics are solid and feel good, the graphics are nice. Excellent prototype like you said at the end, one suggestion and this isn't a criticism because I loved this, with the enemies shooting the meatballs, it's hard to judge timings and things when they are random and for a hardcore platformer (which I would consider this to be) perhaps don't make them randomized, instead have a few different ones with set rhythms. Randomization in a game like this causes difficulty inconsistencies, sometimes not allowing someone to complete it at all, while others would move through the area hardly getting shot at. Just a suggestion. Loved it none-the less. Excellent job.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:57am

Love the style of the game very much, also the music was great as well. The whole atmosphere of the game was top notch. Only thing I felt was a bit off was the respawning, sometimes I'd respawn and get hit by tons of "meatballs". Other than that little thing it was great! Awesome stuff.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:29am

I really liked this. It's hard, but the restarts are instant and no significant loss of progress. Could easily polish this up and extend it. Great effort. Iike the visual style. p.s. would replace the meatballs :)

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:20am

This is fun. The graphics are cool. I tend to get stuck while trying to wall jump...

Gil4 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:50am

Pretty easy for a player experienced with platformers, but was fun nevertheless. Oh, and that level with "which way" start - checkpoint is seen right from the beginning and I expected the end of level to be in the opposite direction. Was that a double prediction by you or just didn't want to use that twist? :D

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Great game!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Good job! For the next version, you should reorder levels to make the difficulty graduating (wall jump is really hard to begin with)

jsmars says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Really nicely done, great tempo :)

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:35pm

That was a lot of fun to play, loved the little dynamic narration and responsiveness. Best feature being the instant respawn because holy shit this was hard! :)
Still a lot of fun though, looking forward to a full version.

chuckeles says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:50pm

That instakill is frustrating...

Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Cool little game! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ypxK5QAWPFI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]