Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dread God

by Somfin - Compo Entry

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Apparently my upload killed my texture quality. I've fixed it, I hope.
----------------------------------------------------------------------

In Dread God, you play as an evil deity attempting to use surreptitious influence upon the populace of a small seaside town, in order to build a sufficiently large cult and destroy the world.

Unfortunately, your cultists are bloodthirsty idiots.

Click on people to influence them, converting them to your cult. Be warned, though- you cannot influence someone who is being watched by another. Direct your cult by clicking on the ground- use them to break lines of sight, or just outright murder witnesses. Know that your cultists need no excuse to start outright attacking citizens.

Drag the world map with a right-click to adjust your view.

PLEASE NOTE: There appears to be a bug where the click effect will end up off centre. Because of the way the game handles clicking, please make sure to either play in a window, or at your screen's native resolution.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#100Innovation3.69
#157Fun3.53
#167Overall3.58
#226Audio3.22
#291Theme3.67
#333Graphics3.33
#400Mood3.09
#549Humor2.52

Comments

Somfin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:48am

Please note- the web build on GameJolt currently has a technical issue with the HUD, in that it is displaying improperly. I don't know how to fix this, so for the moment, I'm taking that link off.

TimWright says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:44am

Windows version - works for me. I will be playing this some more. Very original idea!

VampyVampire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:49am

Awesome. Really interesting take, really interesting results.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:50am

That title looks amazing, but the rest of the art was lacking a little... Great game! Love it :)

Ekibyou says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

Overall great game! Cool mechanic that worked nicely, everything went exactly as I expected. The game did end quite suddenly though, not sure if I won?

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

I really enjoyed this! My only complaint is the villager re-spawn rate. It took me a moment to figure out what exactly I was doing and by that time there were so many villagers it was impossible to pick one out, though that is minor and after I figured it out I was pillaging and converting right and left!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

The red stuff that is supposed to line up with my mouse doesn't work. Maybe a scaling issue since the offset increases as the mouse moves to the right of the screen.

Mattress says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:54am

The clicking-thing is offcenter. The people and the HUD look awful, but the rest of the game was interesting. Fix those problems up, and this could be a very fun, maybe even sell-able game!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03am

I loved the simplistic Graphics :D

inurashii says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:48am

Fun toy! Bit of a feast-or-famine when it comes to difficulty -- I got quickly overwhelmed by the high spawn rate of the villagers, but when I figured out that I could 'claim' the NE docks, things got super easy. Not thrilled with the different pixel resolutions, but otherwise pretty good! :)

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:35am

I wont open on the mac. Let me know when it's fixed and i will come back

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:22am

Yea, OSX doesn't work, sorry. Let me know when there's an update.

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:25pm

oh, i love this little minions-cultists, it's so cute how they kill all people :D
i like it, i love to control the swarm of something!
nice entry!

t4u says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:22pm

love those little guys in robe. I guess if you fill cult bar to full you have won. Is that correct because my game just ended?

Somfin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:31pm

I've put up a new web version, and a new mac version- and yeah, the ending is a bit sudden.

quill18 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:35am

The concept and the art is gold. Love the transform-into-cultist animation.

Xanderzoo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:38am

Great game!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:39am

nice game nice graphics <3

Bsevers18 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:45am

Lots of potential! creting an army of cultists is real fun, mwahahaha!! Would love to see this expanded on with shrines and upgrades!

Rani_Sputnik says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57am

It was a bit hard to move the camera with the right-mouse (mines a bit wonky) and I didn't really understand if at the end of the game I was winning (I presume I was because the cult bar filled all the way up but the way the music unwound I thought I might have done something wrong.) Other than those two gripes, great game!

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:41am

Neat game! Took me a while to figure out how line of sight and such worked but once I figured it all out, the game became a lot more fun and interesting. Great entry!

FieroNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:44am

Really cool! Great job

mooncalf says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Nice concept, cute graphics. Had to restart once I got the point - the world was over-run with do-gooders quickly. Evil and fun! Nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]