Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Twins

by Jukepoks1 - Compo Entry

Game where you play as two monster twins, other one defies laws of physics and hangs on the ceiling. Your job is to get them keys for the doors and to next level. Also you can collect some gems on the way if you want. but beware the sharp spikes! ;)
This is my first entry on the Ludum Dare and it's a puzzle platformer with own kinky twist. I might try making this better later on. :)
There's currently 7 actual levels to beat so don't worry it wont take too long if you have the brains to do it. So have fun!

Controls:

jump: [up arrow], .[W], [spacebar] or [enter].
left: [left arrow] or [A].
right: [right arrow] or [D].

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#82Fun3.76
#100Innovation3.69
#122Overall3.69
#241Graphics3.53
#327Mood3.19
#843Theme2.55

Comments

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 9:59pm

I'm afraid I can't rate this, but I will say that I really enjoyed it. The art is great, the gimmick fun to mess with and the levels clever (although I didn't get to finish all of them, nor did I get all of the gems!) there's a real nice balance between compelling gameplay and challenge. Good job!

To improve, there were a few bugs such as characters being teleported when only one portal was open, and some music would be nice.

crare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:26am

It's part of the challenge to get the keys first, before going through doors/portals. But I might change it if it isn't very clear or simple enough. thanks Pickens!

3CGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:05am

Excellent work for 2 days! The mechanics work well and I love the gravity boxes.

Cynapse says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:08am

A couple of the puzzles really had me thinking for a while. I liked it. Cute graphics, smart level design, and overall fun.

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:57am

Nice graphics and feel. But.. not really any game with monster fits the theme... Very hard work there..

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:02am

Super polished! I love how you kept on introducing new mechanics to the puzzles. This feels like a very complete game for something that was only done in 48 hours. Awesome job!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:39am

Simple game and quite challenging. Music would have completed it but great work for first Ludum Dare as well!

A little tip with dropbox, change the "www." to "dl." and it will download instantly instead of taking you to the dropbox page. :)

crare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:42am

Thanks RobotHoboDanceParty! I didn't really have time for music so it's kinda what I'm missing. Then again I put that time in visuals..

bwafflecone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:33am

Very cool concept! The puzzles are well made and definitely challenging!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:02am

Liked the game concept and had fun while playing. That's what matters and I think you have a good game here :)

Theme integration could have been better ;)

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:41am

Great job, this is the game I play the most longer

DarkCart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:42am

Cool

JustASHadow says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:48am

Great mechanic, graphics and level design. Easily the best LD33 game I've played so far. Great job! Only complaint I have is that it doesn't stick to the theme.

crare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:16pm

JustASHadow yeah, I didn't think about the theme so much, but wanted to make the game anyway :) Maybe next time more thought on that part!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Very innovative little game :D Great art for the blocks too.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:43pm

I loved the gameplay and the graphics! Really good

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:11pm

I really enjoyed this, super interesting gameplay

azakhary says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:21pm

It's awesome!!! really enjoyed playing it, well thought levels, good looking graphics, good controls, kind of Super Meat-boy-ish look, could have animation potential.

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Hey, that's a very nice little game! It is solid as in "has a fun gameplay, nice art and _very_ good level design IMHO". I enjoyed all of the levels - had some hard time on the last one, but due to the platforming reasons, not the puzzle ones.

bradur says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:11pm

This game was terrific! I loved the idea and the execution!

Leopoldine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Nice pixel art but some bugs need to be fix.
Keep working on it !

01101101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:08am

Nice and polished platformer.
The "twin" mechanics is not the most original but the levels are well designed and challenging so it's really enjoyable.
Nice work!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Oh man that is so fun and clever! Very polished and great controls, too! All I'd add is some music

radcorps says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:01am

Wow, really cool and unique platform/puzzle mechanic. Very challenging and thought provoking level design. Really nice pixel art style too. I got stuck on this level https://gyazo.com/2d5c5bb4ca73159ca36373a1e36b46a0 I didnt finish unfortunately. But excellent game :)

Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Cool puzzler! I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/bouSnGLQUcs

Interface says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 5:23am

For sure one of my favorite entries. Love this game. Great mechanic, really fun and nice graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]