Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

StoneWalker

by Jamie Guillemette - Compo Entry

StoneWalker

The nearby humans have stolen the birth stone. Invade their base and get it back!
But be warned. They intend to melt it. Take too long and it will be lost.

As a rock elemental speed is not exactly your strong suit. Pick your fights wisely as time is against you.

Controls:

WSAD to move the StoneWalker
Mouse to move camera
Mouse1 / Space to attack
Mouse2 / E to "boulder up"

The entire development process was recorded via Twitch.
http://www.twitch.tv/WindPoweredGames

NOTE: I am getting reports that the web version is laggy. In that case please try the native versions that are also provided.

For those that can't play it I have now included this youtube video:

https://youtu.be/lX6skkDi0h0


[UPDATE - FIX1]
i found a huge contributor to the slowness people were encountering. The issue was in the collision handeling and was driving up CPU usage. I have made a fix and new links are now up.

thx
j.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#472Graphics3.08
#546Theme3.28
#710Humor2.13
#753Innovation2.52
#753Mood2.48
#819Fun2.44
#820Overall2.66

Comments

FlashMonkey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45am

The Physics is very cool but it lags a bit in my browser.

psyduckfreak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45am

Rock man needs a run

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:56am

Pretty Cool

dustinaux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04am

Nice work on making a large world! It did lag a bit in my browser as well however.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:05am

FROM THE DEVELOPER: it does lag in a browser. Feel free to use the native clients in the links :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11am

StoneWalker is frustratingly slow, game looks pretty neat, though!

otato says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11am

Seemed interesting but I was unable to really play it due to the massive lag (even with the native client running on my gaming pc). Looked good from what I saw though.

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:13am

I liked the physics.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:35am

WOW. Crazy cool graphics especially the explosion when I died in the melee of battle with tiny sprear-throwing creatures and their canons turning my way. Too slow, but what a world for 48 hours. Amazing what can be done in 3D in the browser these days. Maybe that's why it's so damned slow as you mentioned

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:37am

Looks fun but the rock man is way to slow :D

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:39am

A bit slow going to start, but things really picked up once you got into combat. The physics were really fun. Good work!

andyman404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:54am

Wow! I appreciate all the different pieces that went into this game - from the guards AI, to the smash able buildings, and the funky looking trees, the cutscene. Well done for only 48 hours. I wasn't able to save the birthstone despite not taking many breaks or detours or fights. I just wish the Stonewaller could go just a bit faster, or at least have some music or something to do while waiting for the StoneWalker to get there. But nevertheless, congrats on this accomplishment.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:56am

Thanks :)
there is a path that the stonewalk can take and win.
for this reason alone i didnt speed him up. I want part of the fun being the experimentation to find that path.
As for music your right the game needs it.. i just ran out of time.

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:01am

He's literally a monster. <3

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:01am

Sadly, I can't play it, because the game lags on my computer =\

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:41am

The web version was a little laggy (it was probably the grass) but a really cool entry overall. 5/5 theme :)

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:58am

Very lagy even on native client. And player moves incredibly slow (Due to not multiplying movement speed by delta time?).

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:33am

Your screenshots alone gave you the points.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:14pm

It's interesting game but very slow. +1 for run option. Other than that it's a nice entry :)

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:44pm

I like it!

moon519 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Looks like a really nice game, but it's just impossible to play on my laptop.... ;/

Dukio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Can't play it properly on my computer. I downloaded the windows version and launch it at the lowest resolution but the lag keeps as hell D:

Birke says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Game looks good but you walk way to slow or the distances between objectives are too big.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:19pm

I also enjoyed smashing the buildings and people, but it takes quite a bit of time to get to them (and I can't spend much time doing it, so that I could still intercept the birth stone).

I think the stroll would be more interesting with sounds for the stomping, and perhaps some camera shake.

The golem model is pretty cool! His walk cycle also definitely makes him feel heavy! Very nice.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:42am

Cool physics ;) Cute little enemies. Almost felt bad crushing them into the ground =P
The growing effect of the trees looked amazing!

Crosstales says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:47am

Really like the theme and the animation

My Sniper Game is fixed now

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:29am

It is kinda hard to play but I loved the graphics and the amazing work you had here!

mklee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:48am

Very cute with the blocky guys and the buildings that resemble Lincoln Logs. Wish the destructable physics were a bit more "real", the current buildings don't fall apart as much as spawn new blocks that tumble. Very classic interpretation of the theme, good job!

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:32am

I like how the trees actually had leaves instead of billboards. Truly revolutionary. :)

Benier says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:51am

I love the destruction! Although the slow travel speed adds weight, it felt more like a barrier toward the next segment of fun. Despite that, awesome job!

Sicilica says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:06pm

An interesting game. I liked the physics with destroying the buildings. It would have been great if there was some way to like roll around or move around quickly, as the game does seem to drag on.

Niebule says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Nice work Jamie! You seem to have gotten many people to play so far! ^_^ I do agree with most people here that the movement is a tad bit slow, but over all it all works great for a 48hr game! hope to speek with you in the future too! and thanks for the talks before the dare!

Our game lack in narrative, but has a neat atmosphere and spooky feel. too bad we didn't have the time to add all the narrative things and the music. ^^

Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Very cool!
A sprint/charge ability would give the player a bit more control over the pace of the game.
I also suggest giving the flying debris/knocked up soldiers a spin force. They'll a lot more dynamic while flying!

guoboism says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Nice game. Hard work in models and animation. The environment looks really good.

mubox says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Needs a lot of polishment, but the initial graphics are very cool.

Maybe the mobility could be improved and some audio could help.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]