Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

It's Sunday

by bigbuggames - Jam Entry

We introduce you the only monster that doesn't require a presentation for it sleeps next to you. Now you have the chance to become your worst everyday fear as you slap your host until he wakes up.

Tweet an image with your score on #itssundaybbg.

Max. score: *22 Rounds 66 Seconds (@ziggy2764) Scored live on his stream http://www.twitch.tv/imtheziggy
*22 Rounds 83 Seconds (@MauiMc)

Can you beat it?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#51Humor(Jam)4.02
#205Audio(Jam)3.50
#275Innovation(Jam)3.34
#330Fun(Jam)3.33
#418Graphics(Jam)3.60
#518Overall(Jam)3.22
#529Theme(Jam)3.45
#599Mood(Jam)3.00

Comments

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:12am

nice audio and graphics good game!

Ferret says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:18am

Pretty funny and gets challenging fast. Very loosely tied to the theme.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:42am

Excellent idea, nice graphics and sound effects. well done.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:45am

I liked this! Difficulty ramps pretty quickly, which is good! makes it a quick, easy game to play and try to get better scores. I got to 10 rounds. I like the animations

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:48am

pretty funny

khahem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52am

Nice graphics and fun gameplay.
Minor point, I didn't notice at first that the rounds were different.

sararyCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:35am

The most spooky monster I know. Nice job with the art.

Benier says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:30am

haha it was definitely unexpected after the initial intro. Lovely visuals and sounds!

Meat Us says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:58am

Definitely not was expected. Great job for the scariest monster of them all.

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:24am

Fun little game. Possibly smooth the ramp in difficulty.

Greg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:18pm

funny idea, quick game :)

xiaoming says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:18pm

no bad

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:45pm

funny concept:), i must say that my fingers are sore now. but well done:)

sprawl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Nice visuals, animation and audio !
Very funny despite the simple gameplay.

echokain says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Good idea. I'm scared of this thing everyday :D Fun game ;)

Maramasa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:17pm

This is a quirky gem! Really found it funny :)

onilink_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Ahah, very funny :p

bwafflecone says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Hilarious concept! Really like the artwork and sound effects, and was really fun

superfreak says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:03am

Too real :P Loved the theme interpretation!

el-pepi says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:02am

Pretty funny and original game! I liked the audio. The intro was too long in my opinion.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:17am

10 rounds...well done!

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:59am

@MauiMc just got 22 rounds! Can you beat him?

Btw, thanks for the comments and votes!

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:36pm

This game is super funny. Great job.

lemer says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Very funny game. It makes me laugh a lot. Good work!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Haha, as someone who hates her alarm clock this was very amusing, good job!

jofra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:27pm

aha this is a hard one! X) cool simple game

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Well made simple game. I wish I could click faster =P Had a lot of fun though. Nicely done

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Crazy stuff :) Broke my computer while playing it. Good job.

Vladirien says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Nice little game. Pretty fun!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:55pm

I just can't click fast enough for this game! :)
Managed to make it to round 3, but then I just couldn't click fast enough to make the bar go up. With an autoclicker it's quite doable though. ^^
The visuals and audio are really nice and make the whole thing pretty hilarious. Good job overall!

Polith Games says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:11am

Good audio and fun game! Good job!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:27am

Thank you.... Thank you for expressing my pain. I can now sleep in peace...with a helmet. Excellant game here,I especially loved the audio which made laugh so hard. 5/5 :D

superpatch says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:30am

Cute game, nice graphics, couldn't see much of the theme though.

Wevel says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:08am

Nice audio, fun, but I think I need a new mouse now :)

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:20am

Oh buddy! We can't stopt laughting XD. Very original game. Congrats!

ColmiYveul says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:20am

Nice ! The gaphics are cool and the sounds are pretty funny :D Got up to round 6, but it gets really challenging pretty fast !

SKT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Your interpretation of the theme is hilarious, that's the biggest monster in life ^^ Audio and graphics are really cool. Good job !

Wumbo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:44pm

kind of funny

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:46pm

WOOA, it's the best match with theme and it's so funny.
Graphic and sound are not bad too.
CHEERS!!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:38pm

The interpretation of the theme is very cool! So much click but it's fun, it's a great little game.

kgabis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Small and fun, too bad it's vertical :(

Zampi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:41pm

OMG MLG KAPPA! I want to see it in mobile plarforms!
5\5

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Really good game! Frustratingly addictive, awesome job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Harder than it seemed at first! Nice work!

zuurr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:59pm

very fun, interesting take on the theme.

makes my tendonitis worse though, not that you can be blamed for that.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Good graphics, and sound effects. Great idea.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Nice combination of click-crazy and timed clicking. Good difficulty ramping. Fun theme. Nice work!

Afenda says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Awesome !! Clock Revenge !! good game. Nice graphics and nice audio.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Funny!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:44am

High Difficulty at lvl 3.

Denis347 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:00am

Very funny game, I just love those slaps. Perfect audio!

Fraust says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Made me laugh :)

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Great idea, though my index finger hurts :(

amras0000 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:59am

Very amusing concept and take on the theme. I just wish I could mash something other than my mouse button.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:55am

11/10. most realistic simulator 20xx.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:12am

That is a truly terrifying monster.

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Wow this game gets really hard the longer you go, good job!

ZYXer says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Wow, amazing interpretation of the theme! Congrats! :D Love the sound, love the simple but frustratingly difficult banging-the-keyboard mechanic! :D

valid4life says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:10am

Art was great and a good concept! Hard to keep up!

mantis says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Cool game :D

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Quite an innovative idea, the game was somewhat hard because I haven't got a mouse available but yet it was enjoyable!

bodsey says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:17pm

I love that it's self explanatory. I didn't want to break my mouse so I didn't want very far, but I think it's a pretty solid and complete overall.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Simple gameplay, funny concept. TOO RELATABLE :)

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:46pm

wtf? ;p great sound and funny concept.

Kizler says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:55am

I made it all the way up to round 7. :D

killersnoofie says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:11am

Pretty cool

Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:29am

Great slap and death animations! Was legitimately feeling rage at the main character too!

Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:21am

very funny and creative! but i don't get how tp wake up him, hahaha. but i really enjoy slap thepoor guy! congrats!!

Wertle says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 4:34pm

This was really funny, I loved the animations and the reaction of the alarm clock when the alarm goes off. The intro text faded too quickly for me to read, though! I like how you have a buffer of time before the skull starts moving to let people get their bearings, that feels pretty great. I mentioned this in the stream, but I think there are a couple of things you can do with the spacebar to make it feel more responsive - extra feedback on when you're supposed to press, but also maybe experiment with some grace period after the bar hits the target for registering a successful press. Right now it can feel like I should have gotten the target but I didn't because it was just on the edge of collision. Otherwise super cute and simple, great interpretation of the theme!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Cool.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:53am

Loved the graphics, the karate clock was funny. gets a little repetitive after a while, overall great job

jk5000 says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 7:30am

Great humor!

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:47am

Well-polished, well-presented game. The graphics and sounds were funny and awesome! I think the controls for the game was pretty bad, however. I was not a fan of being forced to rapidly click on the game, despite the location where I clicked having no effect over the game score. Personally, if it's a rapid-tapping game, I'd like all the buttons to be on the keyboard.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Pretty good in every category! :D

Ninja Garage says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:35am

Hard game but pretty funny!! :D

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:09pm

AHAH Laughing so hard!!!

Sep 12, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Brilliant idea! Though from my experience, shouldn't this be called 'It's Monday'? :D

Oct 8, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Quite the funny game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/0AIZTu6ja8E

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]