Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Ghosts

by Roboboy - Jam Entry

So after switching from hard coding my game, to trying out and using Game Maker, I've come up with this. It's called Ghosts. Basically you play as a variant of Blinky in an alternate universe where the struggle for power pellets is what has driven many of the Pacpeople to the brink.
First time using game Maker ever and first Ludum Dare. It definitely isn't the cleanest or most complete game ever, but I think that it's better than nothing.
Can't wait to rate what everyone else has created, and I hope to make something even better the next Ludum Dare!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#506Humor(Jam)2.82
#511Theme(Jam)3.47
#739Mood(Jam)2.82
#783Innovation(Jam)2.69
#903Fun(Jam)2.53
#935Overall(Jam)2.72
#1842Coolness33%

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:09am

I like the story you set up in the description, it's pretty cool. You gotta love that hairdo on Blinky too!
Music was fittingly dark too and fit well with the dark red colors.

Would be nice if you had like an arrow that pointed towards pellets or something like that as it was a bit hard to find them. I also think the collision mask on the walls should be a bit bigger as it can be pretty unsatisfying when the sprite goes through the wall a bit, and sometimes get stuck on edges.

Good first entry anyway!

HACKhalo2 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:28am

This was interesting. the hitboxes were wonkey, but it was an interesting take on the theme

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:53am

Its pretty good the collision is terrible music is great PacMan moves a bit quick all in all 4/5 good game.

andreiichim says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Nice spin on the Pac-Man game. It's nice to know it's just as frustrating on the other side as well :)
The collision is not that smooth, the movement is too slow... Like you said, the gameplay could use more work.

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:52pm

I like the "User-Interface-Speaking", but the gameplay is not great. You might have had the movement "tile by tile.", maybe.

To improve movement "pixel by pixel", would require at least that if you press two keys at once (for example, top and left), it would respond to the first key, if there is an obstacle... it should respond to the second. (more comfortable)

Thanks for the game! :D

Zeriver says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Mood is the strongest side of your game, music sets the right tone plus all the dead pac-man bodies laying around. It's kinda scary when suddenly you see pac-man charging at you in a small corridor.

LastLeaf says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:12am

Cute voice acting :)
Movement is pain for me. I would like to move faster.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:41am

It felt very slow, but still fun. I like the voice-overs!

Jacktheviper says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:02am

The idea for the game was exciting and had the right scope for the competition.

The big problem was that the gameplay ended up being somewhat ramdom as the player had no way of knowing where the pellets or pac man would be, also the ghosts being killed by pac man is potentially frustrating considering that the player is problably expecting to be able to damage him as a ghost.

The sound effect for catching the pellets made me giggle.

jcourt says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:08pm

I really liked the idea of it in the description, but the game isn't really interesting. Good job for learning to use game maker quick enough to enter something!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]