Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Sweet Mom

by Grhyll - Compo Entry

When you have not enough money to buy food and too many children, some drastic choices have to be made...

Arrow keys: Move
Shift: Run
Space/E/Enter: Action (speak, grab, release)

Escape: Pause menu / Current mission / Tips

The .rar file added to this project contains the entire source code of the project and all of its assets.

/!\ Web Player version: It won't work with Chrome or Edge, please use another browser. (Firefox, for example. Or Internet Explorer. Your choice.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#38Theme4.21
#94Humor3.65
#249Audio3.18
#277Fun3.30
#299Overall3.33
#327Mood3.19
#347Innovation3.19
#766Graphics2.47

Comments

mat1er says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:47am

Good one, but having a town where you can't go is somehow frustrating

Grhyll says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:50am

Funny, you are the second person to speak about the town! I never intended to give this hypothetical town any importance, it was just an excuse in the dialog to limit the player in my scene ^^'

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:10am

That's dark...

filiph says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:13am

This is a beautiful masterpiece. I actually LOL'd the first time a wolf ate one of my children. (Made me feel like a monster, too - Theme 5/5.)

The start is an interesting touch - first get to know the children, then talk to husband, realize what needs to be done, the do it. Beatiful.

Thanks.

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:14pm

This is amazing. Love it :)

cgriff says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Dark and funny!

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:25pm

haha
Ideal, but cruel, theme interpolation
good job ;)

Grhyll says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Thank you all, that's heartwarming :D
Question though: did you manage to finish the game? If yes, how much time did you need?

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Lovely. Have not seen a lot of games with actual story and interacting here at LD. Music is nice, controls are good. Deserves your attention, guys!

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:46pm

At first I was like: "Dafuq is this? Like, a crappy Game Maker game someone made in 10 minutes with collision detection worse than the climate on Uranus?". But then...I figured out it was actually quite funny and pretty interesting. Not to mention actually well made from a technical standpoint. And the graphics have a charm to them, too. "A game where you murder your children 10/10"-IGN

Darkhaul says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:58am

Dark, funny, nice puzzle-ish aspects to finding how to kill the children and suits the theme perfectly, and I love that it has full audio, love it.

Mantlair says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:08pm

This game is awesome. I loved how they were using slangs like lol like they were doing something good. Also nice ending talk. At first i did give that butterfly to the monster in cavae though. So i left there with only childs and no way to win the game B/. Anyways good one. (Music was also too sweet childs dude. This jam made everbody release their dark humour lol)

Grhyll says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Thanks guys :D
The graphics turned out nicer than what I expected from my drawing skill, so that's a lesson I have learned: don't try to overdo it if you're bad at it ^^
And it's funny, I didn't even think about giving the butterfly to the monster, I couldn't have told if it was possible !

mariti says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Sry.I not killed my children in a game. lol

PoussinJoyeux says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:43am

Good game! I've finally finished it.
You are indeed a Monster :)

Crosstales says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:29am

So nice:)
I love it

justinooncx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:42am

This game made me feel like a monster more than any game I've played so far.

You are a cruel, cruel man to have made this game, and I'm a monster for playing and enjoying it.

Romaing says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:49am

HAha, this game is really dark, bit i had fun playing it. The contrast happy/dark is well done !

Grhyll says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:58pm

I'm so glad you enjoyed it ^^

Well done PoussinJoyeux for finishing it :P
jutsinooncx, you made me laugh :P
Thanks again!

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:13pm

I particularly liked the butterfly puzzle. And of course the banner that appeared every time I dealt with one of my burdensome offspring.

Ivan Volkov says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Well, that was.. Terrible, hah. But I liked it and completed it. The jokes were funny, also the voices was interesting.
Thank you, I liked it!
Also did you ever consider fisting?....

peterkirk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:07pm

I love the music and the voice acting. The absolute contrast between the bright happy atmosphere and dark content made this really fun.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:05am

The cheerful lightness in the audio and imagery makes the dark so much darker and funny. Good job!

wicht says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:13am

What a mean game! I liked it, the sweet mother from hell. Good job!

jk5000 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:34am

A great game that made me feel like a monster. Well done.

Grhyll says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Thanks guys :D

scriptorum > The game wasn't the same before this banner!

Ivan > LEL I forgot I put that...

iossif says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:00am

ouch, as a person with a newborn this was hard. but i like it when games feel uncomfortable sometimes. nice entry! push the boundaries!

Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Black as night!
That was really funny! Enjoyed it so much.

Really well made. Especially the sounds made it a lot crueler!

That you could use the river multiple times made the game kinda easy but I am not entirely sure if I was supposed to use it twice or not.

Keep up the great work!

Apostrophe says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Delightfully twisted take on being a true monster. I found the dialog entertaining, though the butterfly puzzle seemed to take me a while to figure out and I kept wanting to know when I could venture into the town.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]