Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Countdown

by ubgamerpro - Jam Entry

You play as a bomb and have 15 seconds to complete each level until you explode.

This is my first entry so I hope you enjoy
Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#196Fun(Jam)3.53
#350Theme(Jam)3.67
#500Overall(Jam)3.24
#632Innovation(Jam)2.87
#759Graphics(Jam)2.87
#806Mood(Jam)2.73
#1897Coolness32%

Comments

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:44am

Played through the 21 levels. Level 20 was the most frustrating (damn low ceilings).
Awesome game. Great job at collision detection too.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:07am

Nice nice..Good job

snake5 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:04am

Easily one of the most polished, complete and varied platformers I've played in this LD. Even though some levels required uninterrupted jumping and jumping while sitting on the very edge of a platform, the highly deterministic physics made it fair. The graphics would deserve an improvement and platforms not returning for a long time were some of the few minor issues I've had with the game.

P.S. I like how the reason to add a time limit for levels is also the core concept of the game.

kaype says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:34am

I love the physics. The art could use some work though. Audio would've helped.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:42am

Nice job on those levels! I think that some jumping sounds is all that is needed.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:04am

great job, there are a lot of level and that's cool. Good interpretation of the gamejam theme

HolyBlackCat says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 6:19am

Simple, but very nicely done!

Jumping and moving code is good, the only minor bug I found is that your vertical velocity is not set to 0 when you hit the top of the map.

Beta says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:19pm

It was a really nice game, I finished all 21 levels. Nice physic engine.

alhvi says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:47am

Very simple and very good. I kept pressing the space bar to jump. Maybe use another key next time :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]