Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dead Girls In Space

by Fenreliania - Compo Entry

I'm tired, you're confused, and someone's probably offended.

Dead Girls In Space is an FPS made for the Ludum Dare Game Jam #33, with the theme "You are the Monster". I plan to expand upon it post-jam, but for now, it is a relatively simple FPS with some SHMUP elements, and a subtle story. Maybe you'll figure it out, maybe you won't bother, but it's their either way.

Instructions:

Don't die, you've already been there and it was boring, hence your ghostliness. So if dying again is off the table, what should you do? Well, I'll let you figure that one out, but getting off the ship might not be a bad idea. Shoot what shoots you, kill what hates you, and leave what holds you.

Controls:

WASD - Move
LMB - Shoot
E - Interact

Good luck, girl.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#223Mood3.36
#351Graphics3.31
#472Fun3.00
#519Overall3.06
#704Innovation2.62
#738Humor2.00
#866Theme2.45

Comments

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:12am

Good graphics. I enjoyed the gameplay too. And holy cow those stars are gorgeous. I think it would be awesome if the enemy bullets looked different from the ones the player fires. It's hard fighting them otherwise. Still good stuff.

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:13am

amazing atmosphere

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:22am

Really nailed the graphics in my opinion. I think your art direction really paid off!

cgriff says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:18am

It can get a bit confusing with all the bullets being the same colour...But I like the way they ricochet around. Nice graphics too.

Teekeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:19am

Graphics:+
Mood:+
Gameplay:+
What could go wrong?
(looked forward to play this since I heard alot in chat about it)

goet says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:28am

Something to indicate how much health i have left would be nice. The tight corridors and unity's amazing collision detection doesn't really work well with high movement speed. I digged the minimalist graphics a lot.

thx4nothing says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:52am

I enjoyed it and I like the design^^
But the game is a bit easy once you know the enemy's range. You can just stand there and shoot them and they won't shoot back.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:47pm

nice graphics but walls feel a bit sticky

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Nice art and atmosphere. As others have mentioned it would be good if the enemy bullets looked different.

pixzleone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Very good looking game with nice mood. Would love some music and sounds to this!
Good job!

Miltage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:24pm

If you stand far enough away, you can shoot the turrets without triggering them.

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:05am

Nice graphics. I like the beautiful lighting.

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:22am

Cool little game, sweet art.

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:57am

Looks like it could be really awesome game after you finish it, I already like it, well done! Health inndicator might be helpful.

PotatoGrader says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:56am

Sticking to the walls was really annoying. And I couldn't shoot stuff with this slow bullets.
But otherwise it was really great game.
I finally gave up in trying to shoot and started to run and dodge. Now I want to make a game where player dodges bullets and runs around.

OberynMartell says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Very nice exploration game. Really enjoyed playing until I got the "good" ending. Great atmosphere.
Good job!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:02pm

I have no idea about what I've just played. It looked really cool, couldn't get real far though(I died a lot and then got bored). I wish I could get some more advice on what to do. Graphics where nice, and I was really into it for the first 5 minutes.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Very hard Game, don't understand whats the Game about.

Gaga says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Great use of lighting and flares.

alyphen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:29pm

As others have said, the graphical style is really neat, but the game feels incredibly unfinished and buggy. It seems I can't stop moving right, the game crashes when I press escape, and I sort of fly sideways awkwardly through the corridors. I haven't played the post-jam version, but I feel it has a chance to be a lot more polished in terms of controls and general buggyness.
Stuff that's good:
- Graphical style
- Moody lighting
- Exploration
Stuff that needs improvement:
- Controls
- Audio (or lack thereof)
- Mechanic

freaknarf says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:48am

Weird atmosphere, yet sounds feel a bit missing to fully experiment it.
I did all endings, but sometimes i felt frustrated by strife not working when the player is colliding with a wall ; also a few knockback and hud elements could be added to understand what's happening, and coloring vilain's bullets with some other color too...
It has cool and original lights and visuals, and story seems interesting but could have been be explained a bit more :)
Good start for a compo entry !

nassi says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Getting stuck in the walls was pretty annoying and I actually managed to run straight through one of the escape pods. The firefights weren't very satisfying either.

Went for 2 different endings, one where I "resurrected" myself, destroyed the ship and left and one where I just escaped as a ghost. Maybe I should've also tried just blowing the ship up with me inside it...

Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:49am

Felt a bit like Metroid when I turned on the self destruct. ;) Liked how the bullets bounced around.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]