Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Misunderstanding

by HACKhalo2 - Compo Entry

My First LD submission. I took the theme a different way then most. I might not do it that way next time, since it didn't turn out the way I wanted it to.

You walk into your local shopping mall and find a girl lost. Do you help her find her parents, or would you become a monster and take her?

Movement:
WASD -Move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#135Mood3.58
#149Theme3.89
#175Graphics3.75
#267Innovation3.32
#365Overall3.24
#527Humor2.57
#611Audio2.29
#771Fun2.54

Comments

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:44pm

I unknowingly kidnapped her... Thats not a sentence I ever want to use again.
I like the style. What would have sealed the deal would be a menu, for background music/ and size.

Yamzho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:49pm

That's... Dark !

HACKhalo2 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Try playing the game without walking off screen.

And yea, I was really unprepared for this. I planned a menu and music and sound, but I had so scrap it during the last hours to get this game in on time. The sources for some of it is still around on the github if you want to look.

I'm going to create an open sourced library for the next one (in December I believe) with things I learned doing this game (the Alphabit-map was fun to figure out)

teknic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Interesting (and successful) attempt to create emotional depth.

Skoggy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:31pm

This was kind of fun :P

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Too fun... very Nice work

whalebot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Stupid crazy parents... Good job!

KeyboardCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:20pm

That's interesting, good use of the theme.

Great work !

goodolvic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:01pm

I love this. Taking the theme and making something really unique and subtle.

It's obviously dark, but your implementation of such a messed up concept is great and makes the player truly consider what he/she is doing. The long walk is especially troubling and excellent.

mincrmatt12 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Nice game, but a little short

Either my computer derped, I had bad eyes, or when the girl said "That way!" it didn't say which way.

Anyways, great game!

HACKhalo2 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:26pm

The girl was suppost to point the direction, but, again, time constraints. I might actually fix up the game and create a post-LD version after the judging since this has gotten a lot of (what I assume are) decent reviews

Zammalad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Liked this very much. The graphics are nice and polished and the game itself plays well. Has a good 'feel' to the play.

Main downside is the audio.

Great entry though.

Wontonz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:10am

The story was great and I love the ambient people noises.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:23am

Dialogue takes a little too long and is positioned oddly. Some doesn't fit in the window. There are typos ('Samatha!")

The idea has potential but choice is not signalled well to the player. The mother is not depicted; neither is it obvious that walking off screen indicates you 'abduct' the child. This doesn't make the idea's execution come off well.

Overall I don't think this has as much emotional depth or effect as others are saying, but at the same time the concept and effort put into the mall setting make this a creepy experience; which is a success - given what you're going for.

HACKhalo2 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:33am

@Chikun Yea, I'm not happy with how the dialog was done, and every time I tried to change it, it broke other parts of the code (yay duct tape!) Same with the mother, she /is/ an entity in the game, but doesn't work 80% of the time due to some weird bug that broke other parts of the code when I tried to fix it.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:07am

Clever take on the theme if a bit hardcore, nice artwork. I totally saved her, but was bittersweet. Great job!

GagaPete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:40am

Nicely done interactive story.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Awesome, i love tangencial approaches to the theme.
Great work :)

granut100 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:57am

This was very interesting! Nice take on the theme. There is much emotional depth here.

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:47am

I love this concept~
it was pregnant with meaning;

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]